Cobb County Government
alert2 This is an archived version of the Cobb County Government website as of November 8, 2018 and may contain outdated information.

We invite you to visit our new site at

Contact Number: 770-528-1246

The cases processed by the Criminal Division are categorized into three different types of cases: Traffic Violations Bureau (T.V.B.) cases (traffic citations allowing payment of bond/fine in lieu of court appearance), Traffic cases (traffic citations that require a court appearance or involve an accident), and Misdemeanor cases.

In 2017, the Criminal Division filed 5,503 misdemeanor cases and 41,149 traffic cases.




Copy Charge: $.25 per page
Certified Copy: $3 (stamp and seal) + $.25 per page
Exemplified Copy: $5 (certificate and seal) + $.25 per page
Failure to Appear Rescheduling Fee: $65.00


All misdemeanor and traffic dispositions that are required to be reported in compliance with Georgia Law are reported to the Department of Driver Services (DDS) and Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC).

Leave of Absence

When filing a Motion for Leave of Absence an original must be filed for each case. Or, if filing one leave, a list of cases must be provided along with a copy for each case file. Per a standing order of this court, the Court does not require an order to be filed with each case.

Change of Address

It is the defendant’s responsibility to notify the court in writing of any change of address. Sureties and attorneys are also responsible for notifying the court in writing of any change of address. The change of address must be submitted on each case in which the defendant, surety, and/or attorney is associated. Failure to do so could result in not receiving notification of a court date change, which could result in a bench warrant being issued for failure to appear.

Record Searches

We do not perform record searches. The records of the Clerk of State Court are public records and are available for inspection during our normal business hours.

Traffic Violations Bureau

Traffic Violations Bureau (T.V.B.) cases are minor driving offenses that occur in unincorporated Cobb County in which the violator has the option of posting a bond (paying a fine) in lieu of a court appearance.


Traffic cases are more serious offenses that involve an accident or require a court appearance. These cases are maintained as part of the Court's official misdemeanor docket. In some instances when certain criteria are met, minor traffic offenses in which an accident occurred are payable in lieu of a court appearance. If required by state law, dispositions of traffic cases are submitted to the Department of Driver Services (DDS) and Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC).


Misdemeanor cases are those misdemeanor offenses that primarily do not involve traffic offenses. The majority of cases involve charges such as shoplifting, simple battery, bad checks, etc. All defendants are required to appear in court when charged with a misdemeanor offense.