Cobb County Government
alert2 This is an archived version of the Cobb County Government website as of November 8, 2018 and may contain outdated information.

We invite you to visit our new site at

Welcome to Cobb County, one of the premier counties in the nation!

We’re glad you chose to make your home here along with approximately 670,000 other residents who enjoy our high quality of life. Once you settle in, you’ll find top-notch schools, acres of park land, excellent recreational facilities, first-rate shopping and dining, and unparalleled government services.

But right now, you probably have many questions. Here you’ll find information on auto tags and titles, driver’s licenses, school districts, utilities, public safety, recreation and recycling, as well as links to other sources of information.

If your residence is located inside the city limits of one of Cobb's municipalities, visit their sites for more information:



Need More Information?

Did we miss information useful to you?

Send us an email to or call 770-528-1000 and let us know!


Cobb County School District

To enroll your child in a Cobb County school, you need:

  • Proof of residency,
  • Certified birth certificate from your state department of vital statistics,
  • Immunization records on Georgia state forms,
  • Vision, hearing and dental screening records from a family physician or local health clinic.

Contact the Cobb County Board of Education

Cobb County Board of Education
514 Glover Street
Marietta, GA

For immunization information, contact the Cobb Public Health at (770) 514-2300 or visit their website at Cobb & Douglas Public

Property Taxes & Motor Vehicles

Cobb County Tax Commissioner's Office

Property Taxes

In Cobb County, real estate and commercial property taxes are due October 15 each year. Bills are mailed August 15.

Homestead exemption applications are due April 1, and apply to the owner of the property as of January 1 of the year you submit your application.

Contact the Property Tax Division at:

Cobb County Tax Commissioner's Office
Property Tax Division
736 Whitlock Ave Ste 100
Marietta, GA 30064

Driver's License

Department of Driver Services

New residents must obtain a Georgia's driver's license within 30 days of establishing residency. Existing Georgia residents moving to Cobb County must update their address to their new residence.

If you are new to Georgia, visit the Department of Driver Services for more information. If you have moved to Cobb County from another county in Georgia, you can change your address online.

For locations, hours, and information visit the Department of Driver Services or by phone at 678-413-8400.

Voter's Registration

Cobb County Elections and Voter Registration

You must be a U.S. citizen and at least 18 years old to vote in any city, county, state or federal elections. You must be registered 30 days prior to an election to vote in that election. There are several opportunities and locations where you can register to vote:

  • Online with the Georgia Secretary of State.
  • Online or in-person when you update, replace, or apply for a Georgia Driver's License.
  • At any Cobb County Library when you apply for a library card. Blank applications are also available.
  • At the Board of Elections Main Office in-person or over the phone:

    Cobb Board of Elections Main Office
    736 Whitlock Ave., Suite 400
    Marietta GA 30064


Cobb County Public Library System

Our libraries offer a variety of materials, digital resources, programs and community meeting spaces.

Library cards are free for county residents. Cards are valid for two years, and sign-up only takes a few minutes at any of the 16 library locations.

Proof of residency is required to apply.

For more information about Cobb County libraries, visit or call 770-528-2320.


Cobb County does not provide power service to residents, that service is provided by one of the following companies:

Cobb EMC


Georgia Power


Greystone Power


Marietta Power


Acworth Power



AT&T U-Verse








Landline Phone



Garbage Collection

Unincorporated Cobb County

Cobb County does not provide countywide garbage or sanitation service. A host of private companies provide these services. Please contact your local Homeowner’s Association, your neighbors, or search the internet for companies that are available to serve your area.


Municipal Collection

Acworth Sanitation


Austell Residential Garbage


Kennesaw Sanitation


Marietta Environmental Services


Powder Springs Sanitation


Smyrna Sanitation



Cobb County Recycling

Cobb County residents are encouraged to recycle. Many of the municipalities also offer curbside pick up of recyclable for city residents. Residents of unincorporated Cobb County need to contract with their garbage haulers for curbside recycling.

For more information on recycling visit our Recycling Facilities, or call:

Keep Cobb Beautiful

Keep Marietta Beautiful

Keep Smyrna Beautiful