Cobb County Government
alert2 This is an archived version of the Cobb County Government website as of November 8, 2018 and may contain outdated information.

We invite you to visit our new site at

About Your Commissioner

Cobb County District Three Commissioner JoAnn Birrell took her oath of office for her second term with the assistance of her husband, Dave, and Senior Judge Conley Ingram and Superior Court Lark Ingram, on Jan. 6, 2015.

Birrell, a 23 year resident of the county, has previously served in numerous community organizations including as past chair of Keep Cobb Beautiful and the Neighborhood Safety Commission. During her first term, Birrell initiated the Keep it in Cobb Program and established the Canton Road Redevelopment Committee. She also worked with staff to amend the purchasing ordinance to include a local vendor presence clause and launch the How to do Business with Cobb seminars where business owners can learn how to become a vendor with the County and meet County representatives that make purchasing decisions.

During her second term she continued to work on revitalization and economic development opportunities. Out of the 17 redevelopment sites in District 3, only three sites remain on the list. She co-chaired the US Army Field Band and Soldiers Chorus concert at Lassiter Concert Hall on Veterans Day. She also launched Superior Pets for Patriotic Vets to pair homeless Cobb County Animal Shelter pets with military veterans and was on the steering committee in 2018 to honor Vietnam Veterans on the 50th Anniversary in Cobb.

JoAnn and her husband Dave are members of the Catholic Church of St. Ann in Marietta where they serve as Extraordinary Ministers of the Eucharist and volunteers for Meals on Wheels. JoAnn also served as a board member of the McCleskey/East Cobb YMCA from 2012-2015. She currently serves on the board of the Lance Corporal Skip Wells Foundation.

Birrell received the Elected Official of the year award from Keep Georgia Beautiful in 2017, the American Business Women Association’s Outstanding Community Service Award in 2016, the ACCG Revenue & Finance Policy Committee Chair award in 2015 and Vice Chair award in 2014, the Northeast Cobb Business Association (NCBA) Person of the Year award in 2014, the Trumpet Award from Cobb County Republican Women's Club in 2014, the Cobb Public Safety Directors Award of Excellence in 2003, was a Women of Achievement Honoree in 2007 by the YWCA of Northwest Georgia (now liveSafe Resources) and received the 2008 Keep Cobb Beautiful Environmental Leadership Award.

JoAnn K. Birrell
District 3 Commissioner
(404) 394-9601