Cobb County Government
alert2 This is an archived version of the Cobb County Government website as of November 8, 2018 and may contain outdated information.

We invite you to visit our new site at

One Percent Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax Citizens’ Oversight Committee

Authorization: Created by resolution of the Board of Commissioners on October 11, 2005. Name changed on November 8, 2011 (formerly known as 2005 One Percent Sales Tax Citizens’ Oversight Committee).

Description: This committee represents the interest of the residents of Cobb County by assuring that the Cobb County Transportation Improvements Program portion of the overall 2005 SPLOST Program and all components of the overall 2011 SPLOST Program are implemented in an expedient, organized and accountable manner, including working with the Board of Commissioners to establish criteria that will enable the Cobb DOT to evaluate and prioritize sidewalk projects.

A citizens group of fifteen (15) members from the community shall be appointed, who shall serve without pay. Each member of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners shall be entitled to appoint three (3) members to the Oversight Committee.

Each member shall serve a term that runs concurrently with the term of the appointing Commissioner and at that Commissioner's pleasure. If an appointing Commissioner is no longer in office due to a general election or special called election, any member appointed by that Commissioner shall be subject to removal without cause by the newly elected Commissioner.

No person who holds elective public office shall be eligible to serve as a member of the Oversight Committee during the term of such elective office, and the position of any member shall be deemed vacant upon such member qualifying as a candidate for elective public office.

A member may be removed from the Oversight Committee by the appointing Commissioner at a Board of Commissioners regularly called meeting.

Vacancies occurring for any reason shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment.

Member Appointed by
Alice Summerour Birrell
Frank Wigington Birrell
Susan Tucker Birrell
Lindsay Edward Cupid
Kenneth Jones Cupid
Roger Sandbothe Cupid
Sally Riddle Boyce
Ray Higginbotham Boyce
Joe Profit Boyce
Dee Gay Ott
Bill Carver Ott
James Brock Ott
Jay Cunningham Weatherford
Johnny Brown Weatherford
Marline Elkins Weatherford


Contact Information: Cobb County D.O.T. Director - (770) 528-1600