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Sec. 2-25.  Election returns; vacancies. 
(a) In all elections for chairpersons or commissioners held pursuant to this 
article, the returns shall be canvassed and the results of same certified as 
provided by law for elections for members of the general assembly, and the 
persons so certified shall be declared and deemed to be elected to such offices. 
(b) In the event of a vacancy in the office of chairperson or a commissioner, 
due to the fact that the chairperson or commissioner qualifies for another elected 
position, the term of office for which begins more than 30 days prior to the 
expiration of such person's current term, the remaining members of the board of 
commissioners shall appoint a qualified person to fill such vacancy until the 
vacancy is filled for the unexpired term of office at a special election. Such 
special election shall be held on the same date as the general election which is 
first held following the date of the vacancy and shall be conducted in accordance 
with the provisions of chapter 2 of title 21 (O.C.G.A. § 21-2-1 et seq.), the 
"Georgia Election Code." Reserved. 
(c) In the event of a vacancy in the office of commissioner or chairperson for 
a reason other than qualifying for any reason, including for the reason of 
automatic vacancy due to the fact that the commissioner or chairperson qualifies 
for another elected position, the term for which begins more than 30 days prior 
to the expiration of such person's current term, the vacancy shall be filled as 
provided in this subsection.  
 
(1)If the unexpired term of office exceeds 180 days, the vacancy shall be filled 
by a special election called and conducted in accordance with chapter 2 of title 
21 (O.C.G.A. § 21-2-1 et seq.), the "Georgia Election Code." The vice- chair shall 
preside during any vacancy in the position of chairperson until the special 
election results are certified.  
 
(2) If the unexpired term of office of a commissioner or chairperson does not 
exceed 180 days,-:  
 
(i) for a commissioner, the remaining members of the board of commissioners 
shall appoint a qualified person to serve for the remainder of the unexpired term. 
 
(ii) for the chairperson, the vacancy shall be filled at the next general election, 
and the vice-chair shall preside during the vacancy in the position of chairperson. 
In that event, the presiding vice-chair shall appoint a second-vice-chair to 
preside during any subsequent absence of the vice chair or vacancy in the 
position of vice-chair. 
(1964 Ga. Laws (Ex. Sess.) (Act No. 22), page 2075, § 5; 1993 Ga. Laws (Act 
No. 213), page 4616, § 2) 
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Part II-State Enabling Legislation. 
 
Sec. 2-48.  Clerk of commission; minute books of commission and county 
manager. 
The comptroller shall be ex officio clerk of the commission and chairman; and, if 
the commission and chairman shall so elect, they may appoint a clerk, who shall 
keep a proper and accurate book of minutes. The book of minutes of the 
commission shall contain all the acts, orders and proceedings of the commission 
in chronological order. A similar book of minutes shall be kept which shall 
contain, in chronological order, all acts, orders and proceedings of the county 
manager. The minute books of the county manager and commission shall be 
open to the public inspection at all times during regular office hours; and 
certified copies of any entries in the minute books shall be furnished by the clerk 
to any person requesting same upon payment of a reasonable fee, to be paid 
into the county treasury as other funds, to be assessed by the commission in an 
amount sufficient to defray the cost of preparing same. 
(1964 Ga. Laws (Ex. Sess.) (Act No. 22), page 2075, § 18; 1967 Ga. Laws (Act 
No. 523), page 3182, § 3; 1983 Ga. Laws (Act No. 383), page 4283, § 
8)………….. 
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Sec. 2-102.  Tax levy to support office authorized. 
The board of commissioners of Cobb County is hereby authorized and 
empowered to levy and collect tax on all taxable property in Cobb County 
sufficient to pay the salary of said tax commissioner, his chief clerk, his clerical 
force and the other expenses of his office as herein provided. 
(1949 Ga. Laws (Act No. 179), page 790, § 12) 
Sec. 2-103.  Fees for collection of school district taxes. 
The tax commissioner of Cobb County shall remit all educational funds collected 
by said officer to the board of education of Cobb County, except that for the 
years 2001 through 2011 2021 the amount of 1.6 percent of the school taxes 
collected shall be retained by the tax commissioner and remitted to the 
governing authority of Cobb County to reimburse the county for the cost of 
collecting school taxes. 
(1992 Ga. Laws (Act No. 834), page 5684, §§ 1, 2; 2001 Ga. Laws (Act No. 240), 
page 4488, § 1) 
Secs. 2-104--2-140.  Reserved. 
ARTICLE IV.  BOARDS, COMMISSIONS AND AUTHORITIES* 
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Sec. 6-1. – Definitions 
 
Private residence means a house or dwelling wherein not less than one or more 
than two families customarily reside and shall not include a mobile home, an 
apartment house having facilities for housing more than two families, a 
boardinghouse or roominghouse where there are five or more boarders or 
roomers, any residence which has been unoccupied for a period of six 
consecutive months immediately prior to the filing of any application for license, 
or any residence that shall be a nonconforming use in a commercial zone. 
 
Promoter – any person or business entity that is compensated by the licensed 
business, either directly or indirectly, to advertise or operate functions to 
promote patronage. 
 
Purchase price means the consideration received for the sale of spirituous liquors 
by the drink valued in money, whether received in cash or otherwise, including 
all receipts, cash, credits and property, or services of any kind or nature, and 
also the amount for which credit is allowed by the licensee or his agent to the 
purchases, without any deduction therefrom whatsoever………… 
 

Sec. 6-206. - Employment of persons with prior convictions. 

No licensee shall employ, for compensation or otherwise, in any 
premises for the sale of alcoholic beverages or the operation of a bottle 
house under this chapter any person in a capacity requiring a work permit 
under section 6-207 who is not a citizen of the United States or an alien 
admitted for permanent residence or a person who has otherwise been 
granted employment authorization by the United States Citizenship and 
Immigration Services and Naturalization Service or who has been 
convicted within three years immediately prior to the application for 
employment of soliciting for prostitution, pandering, letting premises for 
prostitution, keeping a disorderly place, one or more Under 21 DUI’s or 
any charge relating to the sale or furnishing  of alcoholic beverages, or 
who has been convicted within five years immediately prior to the 
application for employment of any felony drug conviction, felony sex 
offense, or any other crime involving moral turpitude, of two or more 
convictions of driving under the influence, of two or more convictions of 
possession, consumption, or attempt to purchase alcohol by an underage 
person, of any charge relating to the unlawful possession, use or 
manufacturing of a authentic or fraudulent driver’s license or ID or for 
whom there exists any outstanding warrant charging such person with 
any crime described in this section, provided that this section shall not 
apply to private clubs as defined in this chapter. If at the time of 
application the applicant is charged with any of the offenses prescribed in 
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this subsection, consideration of the application shall be suspended until 
entry of a verdict or dismissal. The omission or falsification of any material 
information in an application for an alcoholic beverage permit shall be a 
violation of this chapter and grounds for the denial, suspension or 
revocation of any such permit; however, any employees excluded from 
employment under the terms of this section shall have the right to appeal 
such exclusion to the license review board. 

 
Sec. 6-207. - Work permits. 

(a) 
For whom required. It is the responsibility of the licensee and 
designee as stated in section 6-92(g) to ensure that the employees 
required under this code section obtain and possess the required 
work permit prior to working. Failure of an employee to possess a 
work permit while selling or serving alcoholic beverages shall be 
unlawful and will subject the employee and licensee to prosecution 
as provided in this chapter and is grounds for suspension or 
revocation of the license. A permit to work in any of the following 
establishments shall be required of the following:  
(1) 

All employees of package stores. 
(2) 

All employees of businesses with a pouring license, except 
busboys, cooks, dishwashers, hostesses, maintenance and 
administrative staff. Notwithstanding the exception by title in 
this subsection, any employee serving or selling food or 
alcohol in an establishment with a pouring license is required 
to obtain a work permit.  

(3) 
All managers, including an independent contractor, all 
employees serving in a managerial capacity and any 
employees providing security  All managers, employees 
serving in a managerial capacity and any person providing 
security, including independent contractors,  to any 
establishment with a package or pouring license, whether or 
not any such person sells or serves alcohol, shall be required 
to have a work permit.  

 (4) 
All employees of convenience stores. The licensee to whom 
an alcoholic beverage license has been issued under this 
chapter shall not be required to obtain a work permit. 
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Employee for the purposes of this section shall include 
independent contractors.  

(b) 
Application and issuance. Except as otherwise provided, no person 
requiring a work permit may be employed by an establishment 
holding a license under this chapter until such person has been 
issued a work permit from the county police department indicating 
the person is eligible for employment. The work permit is valid for 
employment at one business only. The permit may be transferred 
to another business location, without approval, provided that the 
ownership of the business is the same as the previous location. If 
the ownership of the business is different, the person with the work 
permit must apply and be approved by the Cobb County Police 
Department in order for the work permit to be valid. All applications 
required by this section shall be investigated by the police 
department to include, among other things, an investigation of the 
criminal record, if any, of the applicant. No work permit shall be 
issued by the police department if the applicant has violated any of 
the provisions of section 6-206 hereof. Any applicant who is not 
issued a work permit shall have the right to appeal such decision to 
the license review board. Appeals to the Cobb County License 
Review Board regarding the denial of an alcoholic beverage work 
permit must be filed with the Cobb County Business License 
Division within 30 days of the denial. Denied applicants that fail to 
file a timely appeal shall not be authorized to reapply for an 
alcoholic beverage work permit for 12 months from the date of 
denial.  

(c) 
Time limit. All persons subject to the provisions of this section shall, 
prior to the date of their first work in an establishment holding a 
license to sell alcoholic beverages, make application for a work 
permit to the county police department. Work permit requirements 
do not apply to temporary, nonprofit fundraising events.  

(d) 
Permit term; prescribing fee. Any permit for employment issued 
under this section shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance 
unless earlier suspended or revoked as provided in this section. The 
police department may prescribe regulations for certifying the 
eligibility for continued employment without the necessity of the 
employee's being fingerprinted and may prescribe reasonable fees 
for certifying the eligibility for employment.  

(e) 
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Possession of permits by employees. Employees holding permits 
issued pursuant to this section shall at all times during their 
working hours have the permits available for inspection at the 
premises.  

(f) 
Exclusion. This section shall not apply to private clubs.  

(g) 
Work permit requirement. At all times that the business is open the 
licensee shall have at least one person on the premises who has a 
valid work permit.  

(h) 
Grounds for suspension, revocation, probation. No permit which 
has been issued or which may hereafter be issued under this 
section shall be suspended, revoked or placed on probation except 
for due cause as defined in this subsection, and after a hearing and 
upon written notice to the holder of such permit of the time, place 
and purpose of such hearing and a statement of the charge or 
charges upon which such hearing shall be held. A minimum of 
three days' notice shall be provided to the applicant or permit 
holder. "Due cause" for the suspension or revocation of the permit 
shall consist of the violating of any laws or ordinances regulating 
the sale of alcoholic beverages or for the violation of any state, 
federal or local ordinances set out in section 6-206; or for the 
omission or falsification of any material in any application; or for 
any reason which would authorize the refusal of the issuance of a 
permit; or any violation of this chapter. All hearings shall be before 
the license review board and shall be conducted in the manner 
provided in section 6-147(b). After the hearing if the license review 
board determines due cause exists, the license review board may 
suspend, revoke or place on probation for a maximum of 12 
months, with or without conditions, the permit. In addition, after 
the hearing, the license review board may grant a work permit to 
an employee whose application was denied upon any conditions 
deemed appropriate by the board. The board of commissioners 
shall at its next meeting review a summary of the hearing before 
the license review board wherein the work permit was considered 
for issuance, suspension or revocation (the summary shall be 
prepared by the business license division manager) and the board 
of commissioners after such review may place the matter down for 
a hearing. Should the board of commissioners place the matter 
down for hearing the board of commissioners, after such hearing, 
may issue the work permit, suspend or revoke the work permit or 
place the employee on probation. The employee whose work 
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permit was not issued or whose work permit was probated, 
suspended or revoked may appeal to the board of commissioners 
pursuant to section 6-147 hereof.  

(i) 
Notwithstanding any of the provisions in this section, any permits 
issued through administrative error or an error in the completion of 
a background investigation may be terminated by the director of 
public safety or his/her designee.  

 
Sec. 6-221. - Generally. 

(a) 
Sale by the package for off-premises consumption.  
(1) 

Spirituous liquors. Spirituous liquors by the package shall not 
be sold or dispensed except between the hours of 8:00 a.m. 
and 11:45 p.m. each day on Monday through Saturday.  

(2) 
Malt beverages and vinous beverages. Malt beverages and 
vinous beverages by the package shall not be sold or 
dispensed except between the hours of 6:00 a.m. of one day 
and 2:00 a.m. the following day on Monday through Friday, 
and between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and midnight on 
Saturday. However a farm winery may sell wine by the 
package on Sunday in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 3-6-21.2.  

(b) 
Sale by the drink for on-premises consumption and operation of a 
bottle house. Alcoholic beverages by the drink for on-premises 
consumption shall not be sold or dispensed and no bottle house 
shall be operated except between the hours of 8:00 a.m. of one 
day and 2:00 a.m. of the next day, on Monday through Friday, and 
between the hours of 8:00 a.m. on Saturday until 2:55 a.m. the 
following Sunday.  All alcohol shall be removed from the patrons 
within thirty minutes following the service hours.  This section shall 
also apply to private clubs. A business which possesses a valid 
county pouring license for alcoholic beverages and a valid Sunday 
sales permit when New Year's Eve is on Sunday shall be authorized 
to sell, offer for sale, serve and/or permit the consumption of 
alcoholic beverages upon the license business premises between 
the hours of 12:00 a.m. (midnight) and 2:30 a.m. on New Year's 
Day.  

(c) 
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Wholesalers. The business hours of any wholesaler licensed under 
this chapter shall only be from sunup to sundown each day, 
Monday through Saturday.  

(d) 
Sundays, Christmas Day. Except as otherwise provided in this 
division, no alcoholic beverages of any kind shall be sold or 
dispensed, and no licensee for the sale of alcoholic beverages of 
any kind, or his agents or employees, shall permit his place of 
business to be open for the sale of alcoholic beverages or to sell 
alcoholic beverages on Sundays or Christmas Day.  

 
Sec. 6-236. - Pricing of alcoholic drinks. 

(a) 
This section shall be construed to cover, include and apply to every 
type of alcoholic beverages licensed to be sold in the county, 
including beer, wine, malt beverages and spirituous liquors.  

(b) 
Each licensee under this chapter shall maintain a daily schedule of 
the prices to be charged for all alcoholic beverages to be served 
and consumed on the licensed premises or in any room or part 
thereof. The licensee shall not vary the prices from hour to hour 
within a single day. The schedule of prices shall be maintained in a 
manner so as to be available to the paying public and law 
enforcement officers or agents of governmental authority. Such 
schedule shall be effective for not less than a 24-hour period 
beginning at 12:01 a.m. and ending at midnight, and shall show 
thereon the date for which the schedule is effective.  

(c) 
No licensee or holder of any license to sell alcoholic beverages for 
consumption on the premises or in any part thereof, or employee 
or agent of a licensee including promoters, shall:  
(1) 

Offer or deliver any free alcoholic beverage to the general 
public. This subsection shall not apply to tasting rooms of 
farm wineries where wine is offered in a quantity to only 
taste the product or for persons in compliance with section 
6-131 of this chapter.  

(2) 
Deliver more than two alcoholic beverages to one person at 
one time, or allow any patron to possess more than two 
alcoholic beverages at one time.  
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(3) 
Sell, offer to sell, or deliver to any person or group of 
persons any alcoholic beverage at a price less than the price 
regularly charged for such alcoholic beverage during the 
same 24-hour period for which the price schedule required 
by this section is in effect, except at private functions not 
open to the public.  

(4) 
Sell, offer to sell, or deliver to any person or group of 
persons two or more or an unlimited number of alcoholic 
beverages during any set period of time at a fixed price, 
except at private functions not open to the public.  

(5) 
Sell, offer to sell, or deliver alcoholic beverages to any 
person or group of persons on any one day at prices less 
than those charged the general public on that day, except at 
private functions not open to the public.  

(6) 
Sell, offer to sell, or deliver alcoholic beverages, by the 
pitcher or carafe, except to two or more persons at any one 
time. 

(7) 
Increase the volume of alcohol contained in a drink without 
increasing proportionately the price regularly charged for 
such alcoholic beverage during the same 24-hour period for 
which the price schedule required by this section is in effect.  

(8) 
Encourage or permit on the licensed premises any game or 
contest or promotion which involves the drinking of alcoholic 
beverages or the awarding of alcoholic beverages as a prize.  

(9) 
Sell two or more alcoholic beverages for a price substantially 
the same as is charged for one such alcoholic beverage. 

(10) 
Require or encourage the purchase of a second or 
subsequent alcoholic beverage at the same time another 
alcoholic beverage is purchased.  

(11) 
Knowingly allow an alcoholic beverage purchased on the 
premises to be removed from the premises, except as 
provided in O.C.G.A. § 3-6-4, without having been 
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consumed. "Premises," for the purpose of this subsection, 
shall be construed to mean the entire area under the 
supervision, management or control of the licensee, 
excluding areas for parking of motor vehicles; a patio shall 
be part of the premises only when the patio is in compliance 
with the zoning ordinance and zoning of the location. The 
patio must be in compliance with the building and fire and 
life safety code. The patio shall be completely enclosed and 
attached to the establishment by a rail or wall with a 
minimum height of 42 inches and maximum openings of four 
inches except for the emergency exit(s). The only 
entrance(s) to the patio shall be from the establishment. In 
the case of licensees whose licensed location is located on a 
portion of the premises of club, organization, establishment 
or entity offering outdoor recreation (for instance, golf or 
tennis), the word "premises" shall extend to cover all areas 
operated as a part of the club or entity excluding areas for 
parking of motor vehicles.  

(d) 
There shall be no advertisement or promotion in any way, whether 
within or without the licensed premises, of any of the practices 
prohibited under this section.  

(e) 
No provision of this section shall be construed to prohibit licensees 
from offering free food or entertainment at any time, or to prohibit 
licensees from including an alcoholic beverage as a part of a meal 
package, or to prohibit the sale or delivery of wine by bottle or 
carafe when sold with meals or to more than one person, or to 
prohibit any hotel or motel from offering room services to 
registered guests, or to prohibit the sale of more than two drinks at 
one time which are to be consumed by the purchaser out-of-doors 
on the premises on the licensee, as described in this section, in 
connection with the purchaser's participation as a player in the 
games of golf or tennis; otherwise, no food and alcoholic beverage 
package may be offered by any licensee; however, nothing 
contained in this section shall be construed to allow a licensee to 
circumvent the intent of this section by offering meals which 
include an alcoholic beverage as a device or scheme to promote 
drink sales at a price per beverage less than the daily listed price.  
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Sec. 18-146 – Adopted 

 
 

The edition of the National Electrical Code promulgated pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 8-
2-25, as amended from time to time, is hereby adopted as the electrical code of 
the county, subject to all exceptions, amendments and modifications contained 
in this article, which in the event of conflict shall supersede and take priority over 
any amended or unamended section. Amendments shall be construed as 
superseding only that part of the section with which there is a conflict. The 
county further adopts sections 101 through 111 and 113 through 115 of chapter 
1 of the International Building Code for administration of the electrical code. 

 
 

Sec. 18-186 – Adopted 
 
 

The 2003 edition of the International Property Maintenance Code, promulgated  
pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 8-2-25, as amended from time to time, is adopted by  
reference, subject to all exceptions, amendments and modifications contained in  
this article, which in the event of conflict shall supersede and take priority over  
the adopted housing code or any published amendments thereto. Amendments  
contained in this article shall be construed as superseding only that part of the  
section with which there is a conflict. 

 
Sec. 18-231 - Adopted 

 
The edition of the International Residential Code promulgated pursuant to 
O.C.G.A. § 8-2-25, as amended from time to time, is hereby adopted as the one 
and two family dwelling code of the county, subject to all exceptions, 
amendments and modifications contained in this article, which in the event of 
conflict shall supersede and take priority over any amended or unamended 
section. Amendments shall be construed as superseding only that part of the 
section with which there is a conflict. Chapter 1 of the most recent edition of the 
International Residential Code as adopted by the department of community 
affairs is specifically adopted by the county for the administration of such one 
and two family dwelling code.  The county further adopts sections 101 through 
111 and 113 through 114 of chapter 1 of such International Residential Code for 
administration of such code, and “Appendix G, Swimming Pools, Spas and Hot 
Tubs in its entirety.  
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Sec. 18-232 – Amendments 
 

The one and two family dwelling code adopted in section 18-231 is amended, 
modified, deleted and excepted as follows: 

(1) Chapter 11 and Chapters 25 through and including chapter 42: Delete each 
chapter and related appendixes in their entirety.  

(2) Add the following definitions: 
 

Basement (for the purposes of determining residential building height) means a 
portion of a building with its exterior walls at least 50% underground (below 
finished grade),  

 
Residential Building height (height of structure or building) means the vertical 
distance from the lowest first floor elevation (above grade) to the mean level of 
the highest roof structure. When measuring residential building height, 
measurement will be taken from the front of the structure provided that exposed 
crawl space walls do not exceed 5 feet (at any location) or exposed basement 
walls do not exceed 10 feet (at any location).  Any amount of crawl space or wall 
height exceeding these maximums will be subtracted from maximum allowable 
building height. For properties within platted subdivisions that have publicly 
maintained, internal roadways, the front entrance of the building must be 
oriented to the required setback adjacent to a public roadway. 

 
 
Sec. 18-272 - Purpose and intent. 
 
It is the purpose of this division to require the use of ultra low-flow plumbing 
fixtures in all new construction, or when replacing plumbing fixtures during 
renovation or remodeling of existing buildings, and to require the labeling of 
plumbing fixtures with information regarding flow rates for the purpose of 
conserving water to maintain the integrity of drinking water supplies and 
reduce wastewater flows. In the event that other Federal, State or local 
requirements conflict with any of the standards in this division, the most 
stringent standard will be required. 

 

No plumbing fixture shall be installed which does not meet the standards listed 
in subsection (1) of this section. This includes all plumbing fixtures installed in 
newly constructed buildings or when replacing plumbing fixtures during 
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remodeling, renovation or addition to any existing building, except as noted in 
section 18-275. The requirements of subsection (1) of this section shall apply 
to any residential construction initiated after April 1, 1992, and to any 
commercial construction initiated after July 1, 1992.  

(1) 
All plumbing fixtures installed as referred to in this section should not exceed the 
following maximum water use rates: 
a. 
Toilets, gallons per flush 1.6  
b. 
Urinals, gallons per flush 1.0  
c. 
Showerheads, gallons per minute 2.5  
d. 
Kitchen faucets, gallons per minute 2.5 2 
e. 
Bathroom and lavatory faucets, gallons per minute 2.0  
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DIVISION 2.  ULTRA LOW-FLOW FIXTURES* 
__________ 
*State law references: Water efficiency requirements, O.C.G.A. § 8-2-1 et seq. 
__________ 
 
Secs. 18-278 79--18-300.  Reserved. 
 
DIVISION 3. COMMERCIAL CAR WASHES 
 
Sec. 18-278.  Purpose and intent. 
It is the purpose of this division to require commercial carwashes permitted after 
January 1, 2011 to install operational recycled water systems in accordance with 
section 122-131 of this code. 
 
ARTICLE X.  SWIMMING POOLS AND WASTEWATER DISCHARGES………….. 
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Sec. 18-326 – Adopted. 
Sec. 18-327 – Amendments. 
Secs. 18-328 – 18-350. Reserved 

 
 

Sec. 18-326 – Adopted. 
 
The edition of the International Energy Code promulgated pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 
8-2-25, as amended from time to time, is hereby adopted as the energy code of 
the county. 

 
 
Sec. 18-327 – Amendments. 
 
The energy code adopted in section 18-326 is amended as follows: 
 
 *Revise the International Energy Code, 2009 Edition and 2009 Georgia 

 State Amendments as follows:  
 
 Adopt Appendix C, Third Party Verification in its entirety 
 
 Adopt Appendix D, Sample Compliance Certificate in its entire 
   
Secs. 18-327 8 – 18-350. – Reserved.  
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Sec. 54-30.  Assistant chief. 
In the fire department, a person may be nominated by the chairman and 
approved by the board of commissioners and shall be designated as assistant 
chief. The assistant chief shall report to the fire chief and shall follow the policies 
of the board of commissioners. 
(Res. of 7-22-69, § 5; Code 1977, § 3-13-24) 
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Sec. 54-54.1. Tanks; fuel.  
 
(a)  Scope 

(1) Section 54-54.1 shall apply to all storage and fuel tanks.   
(2) Section 54-54.1 shall not apply to propane containers used 

exclusively for heating or cooking purposes for detached 1 and 2 
family dwellings, provided the tank capacity does not exceed 1000 
water gallons.   

(3) Section 54-54.1 shall not apply to containers of Class I liquids with 
capacity of less than 25 gallons.  

(4) Section 54-54.1 shall not apply to containers of Class II or III 
liquids with a capacity of less than 60 gallons.   

(5) Liquid classes are defined by NFPA 30 as adopted by Section 54-
54, Cobb County Code.     

 
(b)  Zoning and protection. 

(1) Storage and fuel tanks shall meet the requirements of NFPA 30, NFPA 
30A, NFPA 52, NFPA 58 and any other applicable codes adopted under 
Section 54-54 of this code.   

(2) No aboveground tanks shall be installed in residentially zoned areas, 
except as to any Cobb County Fire Stations that may be located in any 
such residentially zoned area; 

(3) Tanks will be limited to 1,000 gallons of diesel fuel and 660 gallons of 
gasoline in nonresidential areas zoned other than heavy industrial (see 
state requirements for heavy industrial); 

(4) All aboveground tanks storing gasoline will be a vaulted type tank that 
is projectile resistant and vehicle impact resistant as certified by 
Underwriters Laboratories or other recognized testing labs; 

(5) The size of the tank may be increased by the Cobb County Fire 
Marshal after review of tank site plans and tank construction plans; 
and 

(6) All aboveground tanks must be approved for aboveground use by 
Underwriters laboratories or other recognized testing labs.  

 
(c)  Permit.  

(1) All tanks will be permitted through the Cobb County Fire Marshal’s 
Office; 

(2) Plan review fee will be $300.00 for each permit, regardless of number 
of tanks on the permit; 

(3) Fines assessed for failure to obtain a permit will be $1,000.00; and 
(4) Fines assessed for failure to call for an inspection will be $500.00. 

(Ord. of 12-18-97) 
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Sec. 78-275. - Hours and place of operation. 
 
(a) 

No massage shall be performed by any massage practitioner or any 
of his employees, apprentices or trainees as a part of conduct of 
business, in the home of any client or in any place except for the 
place of business of a licensee under this division, unless a written 
memorandum is first made in a log or record book kept at the place 
of business for the purpose of recording consecutively the date, 
time of treatment, place of treatment, name and address of person 
to receive treatment, type of treatment to be received, name of 
person to render treatment, and time practitioner leaves to render 
treatment. The practitioner shall record the time each treatment 
was completed immediately upon return to the place of business.  

(b) 
No business of a massage practitioner shall be engaged in and no 
place of business shall be open for business except within and 
between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. This subsection 
shall not pertain to health spas.  
The owner of the Health spa shall provide in writing to the Cobb 
County Business License Division the hours of operation of the 
health spa. 

 

 

Sec. 78-276. - Prohibited contact. 

No massage practitioner, independent contractor or any 
employees, apprentices or trainees of the health spa or massage business, 
shall manipulate, fondle or handle the sexual organs or anus of any 
person.  

 

Sec. 78-291. - Application. 

No person shall engage in the business, trade, or profession or 
practice the business, trade or profession of a health spa unless such 
person shall, before engaging in such business, trade or profession, file an 
application for a license with the county as set forth in division 3 of this 
article. Such application shall set forth or show compliance with the 
following:  
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(1) 
Name and address of the applicant. 

(2) 
Name and address of any person having previously 
employed the applicant for a period of two years or longer in 
a massage or physical culture studio, health spa or business.  

(3) 
Qualifications, plainly stated, with all documentary exhibits 
annexed. 
 
 

Sec. 78-294. - Grounds for denial, suspension or revocation. 

In addition to the causes for denial, suspension or revocation of a 
license specified in section 78-45(c), due cause for denial, suspension or 
revocation of a license for a massage practitioner or health spa shall 
include the following:  

(1) 
The applicant or licensee is or has been guilty of fraud in the 
practice of massage, or fraud or deceit on his being licensed 
to the practice of massage.  

(2) 
The applicant or licensee is or has been engaged in the 
practice of massage business under a false or assumed 
name, or is impersonating another practitioner person of a 
like or different name.  

(3) 
The applicant or licensee is addicted to the habitual use of 
intoxicating liquors, narcotics or stimulants to such an extent 
as to incapacitate such person to the extent that he is 
unable to perform his professional duties.  

(4) 
The applicant or licensee has violated or is guilty of criminal 
attempt or conspiracy to violate any laws relating to 
racketeer-influenced and corrupt organizations as defined in 
the Georgia RICO (Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt 
Organizations) Act (O.C.G.A. § 16-14-1 et seq.), crimes 
against the person as defined in O.C.G.A. tit. 16, ch. 5 
(O.C.G.A. § 16-5-1 et seq.), sexual offenses as defined in 
O.C.G.A. tit. 16, ch. 6 (O.C.G.A. § 16-6-1 et seq.), gambling 
offenses as defined in O.C.G.A. tit. 16, ch. 12, art. 2 
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(O.C.G.A. § 16-12-20 et seq.), obscenity and related 
offenses as defined in O.C.G.A. tit. 16, ch. 12, art. 3 
(O.C.G.A. § 16-12-80 et seq.), or contributing to the 
delinquency of a minor, all as defined by state law as it 
presently exists or may be hereafter amended, or has been 
convicted of any felony or misdemeanor involving moral 
turpitude under the laws of this state or any other state or 
of the federal government.  

(5) 
Failure of the applicant or licensee to have or maintain initial 
qualifications for obtaining the license. 

(6) 
The applicant or licensee is guilty of employing any person 
who is not a licensed massage practitioner and allowing or 
permitting such person to administer massage in the 
establishment except as may be allowed under this division 
by State law.  

(7) 
The premises in which the business is located are in violation 
of any of the federal, state, county or municipal laws 
designed for the health, protection and safety of the 
occupants.  

(8) 
Failure of the applicant or licensee to actively supervise and 
monitor the conduct of the employees, customers and others 
on the premises in order to protect the health, safety and 
well-being of the general public and the customers.  
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ARTICLE II.  WEED CONTROL 
Sec. 83-9.  Weed control………… 
 
Sec. 83-12.  Prohibited. 
It shall be unlawful for the owner of any property to permit weeds to obtain a 
height exceeding 12 inches on at least ten percent of the size of the property 
tract or 35 percent of the pervious surface, whichever is greater, unless 
exempted as described in this section. It shall be unlawful for the owner of any 
property, that contains a lake, pond or other water impoundment, to permit 
weeds to obtain a height exceeding 12 inches on any portion of the property, 
unless exempted as described in this section. 
(Ord. of 2-27-07; Ord. of 7-24-07; Ord. of 7-27-10) 
 
Sec. 83-13.  Notice to remove and hearing………….. 
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ARTICLE III.  PROHIBITING UNAUTHORIZED DUMPING ON ABANDONED 
PROPERTIES 
Sec. 83-17.  Prohibiting unauthorized dumping on abandoned properties. 
It is found and declared that unauthorized dumping on properties within 
unincorporated Cobb County is unhealthy and undesirable in that it provides 
harborage for rodents and insects, lowers property values, and constitutes a 
public nuisance. 
(Ord. of 2-26-08) 
Sec. 83-18.  Definitions. 
As used throughout this article, the term: 
Abandoned property means any lot, tract, or parcel of improved real estate, 
including parking lots and private access drives/easements that is are unoccupied 
or provide access to an abandoned property as defined herein. It shall include 
any dwelling, building, structure, or part thereof used and occupied for human 
habitation or commercial, industrial, or business uses, or intended to be so used, 
and includes any outhouse, improvement, parking lot, private access 
drive/easement, and appurtenance belonging thereto or usually enjoyed 
therewith and also includes any building or structure of any design. For the 
purposes of this section unoccupied shall be evidenced by notice of termination 
of service by a local utility provider, as well as visual observation by county 
personnel to include on site visits, or written communication attempts. A 
property shall be considered abandoned if unoccupied for 60 days, with no utility 
service being provided to the property and there is an apparent lack of 
maintenance/upkeep to the property and/or structures. As used in this chapter, 
the term shall not mean any dwelling, building, unit or structure that has been 
classified as a nuisance in accordance with Article I of this chapter or include any 
farm, any building or structure located on a farm, or any agricultural facility or 
other building or structure used for the production, growing, raising, harvesting, 
storage, or processing of crops, livestock, poultry, or other farm products. 
Owner means the current owner of record as shown by the records of the tax 
commissioner and the deed records of the clerk of superior court for the current 
calendar year. 
(Ord. of 2-26-08) 
Sec. 83-19.  Exemptions. 
This section shall not apply to county, state or federal property. 
(Ord. of 2-26-08) 
Sec. 83-20.  Prohibited. 
It shall be unlawful for the owner of any property as defined in this section to 
permit dumping on any abandoned property. 
(Ord. of 2-26-08) 
Sec. 83-21.  Access barrier required. 
Any property that has been observed by county personnel as being abandoned 
for longer than 60 days via notice of violation as required in section 2-102(2) of 
this Code, must erect a fence or other suitable barrier approved by Cobb County 
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to prevent continued dumping violations within 30 days of receipt of notice of 
violation. The county is authorized to erect a suitable barrier if any owner has 
failed to erect such after proper notification of violation as required in  section 2-
102(2) of this Code. 
(Ord. of 2-26-08) 
Sec. 83-22.  Notice of violation. 
Code enforcement personnel shall provide notice of any violation to this article in 
accordance with section 2-102(2) of this Code. 
(Ord. of 2-26-08) 
Chapters 84, 85  RESERVED 
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Sec. 114-61. - Exemptions. 

No tax shall be imposed under this article:  

(1)   Upon a permanent resident. 
(2)   Upon a corporation or association organized and operated 
exclusively for religious, charitable or educational purposes, or for 
one or more such purposes, no part of the net earnings of which 
inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual.  
(3)    Lodging or accommodations furnished for more than ten 
thirty consecutive days. 
(4)    Lodging or accommodations furnished for a period of one or 
more days for use by state or local government officials or 
employees traveling on official business.  
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Sec. 118-271.  Required; exceptions. 

No person shall engage in, participate in, aid, form or start any parade 
consisting of 25 or more persons or five or more vehicles, unless a parade 
permit shall have been obtained from the director of public safety or his 
designee. However, this article shall not apply to:  

(1) 
Funeral processions; 

(2) 
Students going to and from school classes or participating in 
educational activities, provided such conduct is under the 
immediate direction and supervision of the proper school 
personnel;  

(3) 
A governmental agency acting within the scope of its 
functions. 

(Ord. of 6-29-76, § 3; Code 1977, § 3-24-72)  

Sec. 118-272. - Application. 

(a) 
Filing. A person seeking issuance of a parade permit shall file an 
application with the director of public safety on forms provided by 
such officer.  

(b) 
Indemnification agreement. No parade permit shall be issued 
unless the applicant agrees to release, indemnify and hold harmless 
the county for and from any liability for personal injuries or 
property damage sustained by any person in connection with any 
activities for which a permit under this article would issue.  

(c) 
Filing period. An application for a parade permit shall be filed with 
the director of public safety not less than five days before the date 
on which it is proposed to conduct the parade.  

(d) 
Contents. The application for a parade permit shall set forth the 
following information:  
(1) 

The name, address and telephone number of the person 
seeking to conduct such parade. 

(2) 
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If the parade is proposed to be conducted for, on behalf of, 
or by an organization, the name, address and telephone 
number of the headquarters of the organization, and of the 
authorized and responsible heads of such organization.  

(3) 
The name, address and telephone number of the person 
who will be the parade chairman and who will be responsible 
for its conduct. 

(4) 
The date when the parade is to be conducted. 

(5) 
The route to be traveled, the starting point and the 
termination point. 

(6) 
The approximate number of persons who, and animals and 
vehicles which, will constitute such parade; the type of 
animals, and description of the vehicles.  

(7) 
The hours when such parade will start and terminate. 

(8) 
A statement as to whether the parade will occupy all or only 
a portion of the width of the streets proposed to be 
traversed. 

(9) 
The location by streets of any assembly areas for such 
parade. 

(10) 
The time at which units of the parade will begin to assemble 
at any such assembly areas. 

(11) 
The interval of space to be maintained between units of 
such parade. 

(12) 
If the parade is designed to be held by, and on behalf of or 
for, any person other than the applicant, the applicant for 
such permit shall file with the director of public safety or his 
designee a communication in writing from the person 
proposing to hold the parade, authorizing the applicant to 
apply for the permit on his behalf.  

(13) 
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Any additional information which the director of public safety 
or his designee shall find reasonably necessary to a fair 
determination as to whether a parade permit should issue.  

(Ord. of 6-29-76, § 4; Code 1977, § 3-24-73)  

Sec. 118-273. - Standards for issuance. 

(a) 
The director of public safety or his designee shall issue a permit as 
provided for under this division when, from a consideration of the 
application and from such other information as may otherwise be 
obtained, he finds that:  
(1) 

The conduct of the parade will not substantially interrupt the 
safe and orderly movement of other traffic contiguous to its 
route;  

(2) 
The conduct of the parade will not require the diversion of 
so great a number of police officers of the county to properly 
police the line of movement and the areas contiguous 
thereto as to prevent normal police protection to the county;  

(3) 
The conduct of such parade will not require the diversion of 
so great a number of ambulances as to prevent normal 
ambulance service to portions of the county other than that 
to be occupied by the proposed line of march and areas 
contiguous thereto;  

(4) 
The concentration of persons, animals and vehicles at 
assembly points of the parade will not unduly interfere with 
proper fire and police protection of, or ambulance service to, 
areas contiguous to such assembly areas;  

(5) 
The conduct of such parade will not interfere with the 
movement of firefighting equipment en route to a fire; 

(6) 
The conduct of the parade is not reasonably likely to cause 
injury to persons or property, provoke disorderly conduct or 
create a disturbance;  

(7) 
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The parade is scheduled to move from its point of origin to 
its point of termination expeditiously and without 
unreasonable delays en route; and  

(8) 
The applicants for such permit have not violated the terms 
of any previous parade permit granted to them and have not 
caused undue traffic congestion and police problems under 
any previous parade permit.  

(b) 
All signs, traffic studies and detour routes shall meet with the 
approval of the director of public safety or his designee and/or the 
county department of transportation director.  

(Ord. of 6-29-76, § 5; Code 1977, § 3-24-74)  

Sec. 118-274. - Rejection of application—Notice. 

The director of public safety or his designee shall act upon the 
application for a parade permit within three days after the filing thereof. If 
the director of public safety disapproves the application, he shall mail to 
the applicant, within three days after the date upon which the application 
was filed, a notice of his action, stating the reasons for his denial of the 
permit.  

(Ord. of 6-29-76, § 6; Code 1977, § 3-24-75)  

Sec. 118-275. - Same—Appeal. 

Any person aggrieved shall have the right to appeal the denial of a 
parade permit to the board of commissioners. The appeal shall be filed 
within five days after notice of denial.  

(Ord. of 6-29-76, § 7; Code 1977, § 3-24-76)  

Sec. 118-276. - Same—Alternate permit. 

The director of public safety or his designee, in denying an 
application for a parade permit, shall be empowered to authorize the 
conduct of the parade on a date, at a time, or over a route different from 
that named by the applicant. An applicant desiring to accept an alternate 
permit shall, within five days after notice of the action of the director of 
public safety or his designee, file a written notice of acceptance with the 
director of public safety. An alternate parade permit shall conform to the 
requirements of and shall have the effect of a parade permit under this 
article.  
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Fees 

(a) The fees with respect to all services performed in 
connection with enforcement of this chapter shall be 
set by the board of commissioners from time to time.  
A copy of such fee schedule shall be posted at the 
headquarters of the CCPD and may be changed at 
any time as determined by the board of 
commissioners. 

(b) The fees established and collected under this chapter 
are imposed for the purpose of defraying expenses 
borne by the county for law enforcement services 
under this chapter and are subject to change at any 
time. 
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Chapter 122 – UTILITIES 
 
ARTICLE II. – WATER AND WASTEWATER SYSTEMS 
 
DIVISION 1. GENERALLY 
 

Sec. 122-26. - Definitions 
The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this article, shall 

have the meanings ascribed to them in this section, except where the context 
clearly indicates a different meaning:  
… 

Holding tank waste means any domestic wastewater from holding tanks 
such as vessels, chemical toilets, campers, trailers, septic tanks and vacuum-
pump tank trucks.  
… 

Sewer development fee means a fee assessed to new users of the county 
wastewater system to provide the funds necessary to renew, extend and/or 
improve the system where such renewals, extensions and/or improvements 
are necessitated by the reduced available wastewater system capacity caused 
by the new users' demands.  

… 

Sec. 122-30. Cobb County-Marietta wWater aAuthority. 
 
The creation of and organizational structure of the Cobb County-Marietta 
wWater aAuthority is found in 1951 Ga. Laws (Act No. 319), page 497. 
 

DIVISION 3. FEES AND CHARGES 
 
Sec. 122-82. - Wastewater system fees. 
(a)  System development fee.  

(1) At the time of connection.     There is hereby levied and assessed a 
system development fee for making connections to the county 
wastewater system the conveyance and treatment capacity 
required to accommodate the estimated sewage flow, as calculated 
by the water system, from a property connecting to the county 
wastewater system. All amounts charged for wastewater 
connections shall be assessed to the owners of the property being 
connected to the property owner or user at the time of connection 
shall be calculated based on the estimated sewage flow from the 
proposed use of a property approved at the time of connection, 
and such connection shall not be lawfully made prior to payment of 
such charges.   
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(2)   Due to change in use or usage. There shall be levied and assessed 
a system development fee for the conveyance and treatment 
capacity required to accommodate any increase in the estimated 
sewage flow, as calculated by the water system, from a property 
due to a change in use or usage of a property from the proposed 
use at the time of connection to the county wastewater system.  
The property owner or customer shall be responsible for paying the 
system development fee prior to the change in use or usage, and 
the change shall not be lawfully made prior to payment of such 
charges.  A tenant or user on a property who is not the owner or a 
customer (e.g. master metered account with multiple users) may 
pay the charges associated with said tenant or user on behalf of 
the owner or customer. In the event that a tenant or user fails to 
pay such amounts as required by this section, the owner or 
customer shall be liable for the payment of such system 
development fees.   The water system shall have the power and 
authority to enter upon the property of any owner or customer who 
fails to pay any additional fees or charges assessed in order to 
terminate the water and/or wastewater service in any manner 
deemed necessary and appropriate by the water system. 
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Sec. 122-130.  Dry sewers and septic tanks………. 
 
Sec. 122-131 Commercial Car Wash Requirements 
The purpose of this ordinance is to reduce water consumption from commercial 
car wash facilities by requiring all new conveyor car washes to install operational 
recycled water systems.  
 

(a). Definitions  
 The following words and phrases, whenever used in this division, have 
the meaning defined in this section: 
 
 In-bay automatic car wash means a commercial car wash where the 
driver pulls into the bay and parks the car. The vehicle remains stationary 
while a machine moves back and forth over the vehicle to clean it, instead of 
the vehicle moving through the tunnel.  
 
 Conveyor car wash means a commercial car wash where the car moves 
on a conveyor belt during the wash. The driver of the vehicle can remain in 
the vehicle or wait outside of the vehicle.  
 
 Recycled water system means a water system that captures and reuses 
water previously used in wash or rinse cycles.  
 
 Self-service car wash means a commercial car wash where the 
customers wash their cars themselves with spray wands and brushes.  

 
(b) Applicability  
(1)  This ordinance applies to all new conveyor car washes permitted and 

constructed after January 1, 2011, regardless of the water source.  
(2) The provisions of this ordinance do not apply to commercial conveyor 

car washes that were permitted or constructed before January 1, 2011.  
(3)  The provisions of this ordinance do not apply to self-service car washes 

or in-bay car washes.  
 
(c) Commercial Car Wash Water Recycling Requirement  
 All new commercial conveyor car washes permitted and constructed 
after January 1, 2011, must install operational recycled water systems. A 
minimum of 50% of water utilized shall be recycled.  

 
 
Secs. 122-131 32--122-150.  Reserved. 
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DIVISION 5. GENERAL USE OF PUBLIC WATER AND WASTEWATER FACILITIES 
  

Sec. 122-153. - Wastewater System  
(a) … 
(b) Connection to county wastewater system.  

(1)  All sinks, dishwashing machines, toilets, urinals, basins, shower 
baths, bathtubs, laundry tubs, washing machines and similar 
plumbing fixtures or appliances shall be connected to the county 
wastewater system when there is sewer availability, defined as 
follows:  
a. …  
b. …. 

 c. Exceptions. 
1. … 

 2. … 
3. Approved gray water systems. Sec. 18-157.Sec. 18-257.  

(c) … 
(d) … 
(e)  Discharge of grease trap contents into county wastewater system 

prohibited. The discharge of the materials collected from grease traps 
into the county wastewater system is prohibited. See also subsection 
122-188(e). 

 
Sec. 122-154. – Phosphorus control 
 
(a) Declaration of policy. O.C.G.A. § 12-5-27.1 provides that whenever a 

local governmental entity is required by the environmental protection 
division to reduce phosphorus in its wastewater, being discharged into 
the waters of the state, such local governmental entity shall pass an 
ordinance mandating the sale of low-phosphorus household laundry 
detergent as part of its phosphorus reduction process. It is hereby 
declared to be the public policy of the county to encourage the use of 
clean, phosphate-free household laundry detergents and to prohibit the 
sale of household laundry detergents which contain more than 0.5 
percent phosphorus by weight. The county finds that such use and sale 
will be a cost effective way to reduce the amount of phosphorus in 
wastewater discharge so as to protect the state's rivers and lakes 
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downstream; promote health, safety and welfare; and prevent injury to 
human health, plant and animal life and property. It is vital to the 
health, well-being and welfare of present and future inhabitants of the 
county that these sources be protected against contamination and 
pollution.  

(b) Definitions. The following definitions shall apply to the interpretation and 
enforcement of this section:  
(1) Household laundry detergent means a laundering cleaning 

compound in liquid, bar, spray, tablet, flake, powder or other form 
which may be used for domestic clothes-cleaning purposes. The 
term household laundry detergent shall not mean:  
a. A dishwashing compound, household cleaner, metal cleaner, 

degreasing compound, commercial cleaner, industrial cleaner or 
other substance that is intended to be used for nonlaundry 
cleaning purposes;  

b. A detergent used in dairy, beverage or food processing cleaning 
equipment; 

c. A phosphorus acid product, including a sanitizer, brightener, 
acid cleaner or metal conditioner; 

d. A detergent used in hospitals, veterinary hospitals or clinics or 
health care facilities or in agricultural production; 

e. A detergent used by industry for metal cleaning or conditioning; 
f. A detergent manufactured, stored or distributed for use or sale 

outside the state; 
g. A detergent used in any laboratory, including a biological 

laboratory, research facility, chemical laboratory and 
engineering laboratory; or  

h. A detergent used for the laundry services for hospital, health 
care facility or veterinary hospital. 

(2) Phosphorus means elemental phosphorus.  
(c) Limitation on amount of phosphorus. It shall be unlawful for any person 

to sell a household laundry detergent which contains greater than 0.5 
percent phosphorus by weight.  

(a)  The General Assembly, through the enactment of O.C.G.A. § 12-5-27.1 
has set standards limiting the amount of nutrients in various cleaning 
agents. The nutrients contained in many of these products serve a 
valuable purpose in increasing their overall effectiveness, but they 
overstimulate the growth of aquatic life and may eventually lead to an 
acceleration of the natural eutrophication process of our state's water 
resources which can result in a lower quality of life and thereby create 
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an undesirable environment in which the citizens of the state would not 
want to live and do business.  

(b)  Definitions. The following definitions shall apply to the interpretation and 
enforcement of this section:  
(1) Cleaning agent means a laundry detergent, dishwashing 
compound, household cleaner, metal cleaner or polish, industrial 
cleaner, or other substance that is used or intended for use for cleaning 
purposes. 
(2) Nutrient means a substance or combination of substances which, if 
added to waters in sufficient quantities, provides nourishment that 
promotes growth of aquatic vegetation in densities which: 
 a. Interfere with use of the waters by humans or by any animal, 

fish, or plant useful to humans; or 
b.  Contribute to degradation or alteration of the quality of the 

waters to an extent detrimental to their use by humans or by 
any animal, fish, or plant that is useful to humans. 

(c) On or after January 1, 1991, it shall be unlawful to sell at retail or use 
any cleaning agent containing phosphorus, except as otherwise provided 
in this section. 

(d) This section shall not apply to cleaning agents which are used: 
(1)  In agricultural or dairy production; 
(2)  To clean commercial food or beverage processing equipment or 

containers; 
(3)  As industrial sanitizers, metal brighteners, or acid cleaners, 

including those containing phosphoric acid or trisodium phosphate; 
(4) In industrial processes for metal, fabric, or fiber cleaning and 

conditioning; 
(5) In hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, other health care facilities, or 

veterinary hospitals or clinics; 
(6)  By a commercial laundry or textile rental service company or any 

other commercial entity: 
a. To provide laundry service to hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, 

other health care facilities, or veterinary hospitals or clinics; 
b. To clean textile products supplied to industrial or commercial 

users of the products on a rental basis; or 
c. To clean professional, industrial, or commercial work uniforms; 

(7)  In the manufacture of health care or veterinary supplies; 
(8)  In any medical, biological, chemical, engineering, or other such 

laboratory, including those associated with any academic or 
research facility; 
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(9) As water softeners, antiscale agents, or corrosion inhibitors, where 
such use is in a closed system such as a boiler, air conditioner, 
cooling tower, or hot water heating system; or 

(10) To clean hard surfaces including windows, sinks, counters, floors, 
ovens, food preparation surfaces, and plumbing fixtures. 

(e) This section shall not apply to cleaning agents which: 
(1) Are manufactured, stored, sold, or distributed for uses other than 

household laundry detergents or household or commercial 
dishwashing agents; 

(2) Contain phosphorus in an amount not exceeding 0.5 percent by 
weight which is incidental to manufacturing; or 

(3)  Contain phosphorus in an amount not exceeding 8.7 percent by 
weight and which are intended for use in a commercial or 
household dishwashing machine. 

(f) This section shall not apply to any natural or commercial fertilizers. 
(d)(g) Penalties for violation. Any person who violates any provision of 

this section shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $500.00. Each sales 
transaction shall constitute a separate offense.  

(e)(h) Court proceedings. In addition to the penalty provided in 
subsection (d) of this section, the county may maintain an action or 
proceeding in any court of competent jurisdiction to compel compliance 
with or restrain any violation of this section, effective January 1, 1990.  

 
 

Sec. 122-185. - Sampling and testing procedures. 
 (a) … 

(b)  Testing procedures. 
(1) 
(2) 
(3)  All analysis for permit reporting shall be performed by certified 

wastewater laboratory analysts as required by the rules of the state 
board of examiners for certification of water and wastewater 
treatment plant operators and laboratory analysts, or performed in 
a commercial environmental laboratory approved by the Georgia 
EPD.  

 
Sec. 122-188. - Sand and oil/grease interceptors. 
(a)  Requirements.  
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(1)  All users involved in the preparation of food for commercial 
purposes shall provide oil/grease interceptors or traps, unless 
exempted by the water system. Additionally, any user who 
generates a wastewater which contains greater than the quantity of 
oil and grease regulated under section 122-181, and provided that 
the excess oil and grease is floatable and can be effectively 
removed in an oil/grease interceptor or trap, then such user will be 
required to install a grease/oil interceptor.  

… 
(b) For facilities other than eating establishments. 
 (1) …  
 (2)  Compliance with plumbing code. All sand and oil/grease 

interceptors shall be sized, located and constructed in accordance 
with the provisions of the duly adopted the county plumbing code 
where such parameters have not been otherwise set forth in this 
article.  

(c) Maintenance. To the extent section 122-188.1 applies only to food 
service or food preparation establishments' grease recovery systems, all 
other users shall maintain all grease, oil and sand interceptors in 
continuously efficient operation at all times. In the maintaining of these 
interceptors, the user shall be responsible for the proper recovery, 
removal and disposal by appropriate means of the captured material, 
and shall maintain records of the dates and means of disposal which are 
subject to review by the department director. The frequency of removal 
shall be such as to ensure that no overflows of oil, grease or sand into 
the wastewater system ever results.  All users shall maintain their sand 
and oil/grease interceptors in a proper and effective manner at all times. 
In maintaining these interceptors, users shall be responsible for the 
proper recovery, removal, and disposal by appropriate means of the 
captured material, and shall maintain records of the dates and means of 
disposal which are subject to review by the department director. The 
frequency of removal shall be specified in the permit issued by the water 
system.  

(d) Proper disposal of collected materials. Any removal and hauling of the 
collected materials from a grease trap, grit trap, oil-water separator, or 
sand trap, which is not an AIRD, not performed by the owner's 
employees must be performed by waste disposal firms holding a current 
county health department waste hauler permits for restaurant grease or 
hazardous waste transport permits for petroleum products registration 
and permit number as a commercial waste hauler under EPD rules. 
Under no circumstances shall tThe collected materials ever shall not be 
returned to the wastewater system.  
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(e) Registration requirement. Each user required to install an oil/grease or 
sand recovery system as set forth in paragraphs (a) or (b) of this section 
shall register its recovery system with the water system for the purpose 
of obtaining a discharge permit. Such application shall include the name, 
address, telephone number and factors indicating the potential for 
grease or grit laden waste to be introduced into the wastewater 
collection system. The water system shall provide the user with a 
discharge permit number, its expiration date, and the capacity and 
design requirements of a compliant grease removal system. The water 
system shall keep a continuous public log of all permitted users, 
including their registration number, address and contact name of the 
user. The water system may review discharge permits annually. The 
discharge permits of those found to be in compliance with existing 
federal, state, and local laws and regulations will be renewed by the 
water system. 

 
 
 Sec. 122-188.1. - Food service and food preparation recovery systems. 

(a) Definitions and abbreviations. The following definitions and 
abbreviations shall apply only to this section 122-188.1:  

 … 
User. Food service or food preparation establishments, their owners or 

operators, or their agents, that receive county wastewater system service 
and/or reclamation facility service (see section 122-117). The term excludes 
industrial food preparation facilities. 

 (b)  General. Users that generate or use grease, fats or oil, or any 
combination thereof, and discharge water to a county wastewater 
reclamation facility shall be required to install, operate, clean and 
maintain a grease recovery system of appropriate size and design to 
achieve compliance with requirements set forth under this section. Users 
with grease recovery devices which were in existence prior to January 1, 
2001, may continue to operate with such devices until such time as 
there is a change of owner or operator, expansion of the establishment, 
change from a fast food to full service establishment, or they receive 
official notice from CCWS.  The CCWS may exempt food service 
establishments that are known to not be a source of grease, fats, and 
oils from the grease recovery system installation requirement. 

(c)  Administration.  
(1)  Registration requirement. Each user required to install a grease, 

fats and oils recovery system as set forth in paragraphs (2) of this 
section shall register its recovery system with the Cobb County 
Water System (CCWS) for the purpose of obtaining a discharge 
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permit. Such permit application shall include the name, address, 
telephone number and factors indicating the potential for grease-
laden waste to be introduced into the wastewater collection 
system. CCWS shall provide the user with a discharge permit 
number, its expiration date, and the capacity and design 
requirements of a compliant grease removal system. CCWS shall 
keep a continuous public log of all permitted users, including their 
registration number, address and contact name of the user. CCWS 
will may review discharge permits annually. The discharge permits 
of Tthose found to be in compliance with existing federal, state, 
and local laws and regulations will be renewed by CCWS.  

 (2)  Inspection fees. No fee will be charged for an annual inspection by 
CCWS of the grease recovery system for the discharge permit. 
However, if the grease recovery system is not in compliance with 
this section, a $50.00 reinspection fee will be charged for each 
inspection thereafter until the grease recovery system is in 
compliance and approved by CCWS. Failure to pay the reinspection 
fee shall result in the forfeiture of the discharge permit.  

(3)  Records. All users with a grease recovery system must keep a 
record of any cleaning or maintenance of their grease recovery 
system.  The following records must be kept on-site at the food 
service establishment for a period minimum of three years:  
a.  Manifest. All removal of grease traps contents must be tracked 

by a manifest that confirms pumping, hauling and disposal of 
wastes whether it is collected by interior or exterior grease 
traps.  The removal of grease trap contents (PEDs or PIDs) 
must be tracked by a state approved manifest that confirms the 
pumping, transport, and disposal of the contents. 

 … 
b.  Maintenance log. For all interior grease traps, whether active or 

passive, a continuous log indicating each cleaning or 
maintenance for the previous 12 months shall be maintained by 
each user of a grease recovery system. This log shall be kept in 
a conspicuous location where it can be inspected by the Health 
Department and CCWS personnel upon request.  For all AIRDs, 
a continuous log indicating each cleaning and/or maintenance 
for the previous 12 months, including the disposal of the 
recovered grease and oil, shall be maintained. This log shall be 
kept in a conspicuous place where it can be inspected by the 
health department and/or CCWS personnel upon request. 

 (d) Grease recovery systems.  
(1) … 
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(2) … 
(3) ... 
(4)  Dumpsters/dumpster pads. Dumpsters/dump- ster dumpster pads 

may be allowed to connect to the wastewater collection system 
under the following conditions:  
a.  … 
b.  The drain is connected to an exterior grease trap which will be 

maintained by the user in the method prescribed by this section 
for other exterior grease traps. The trap shall be at least 750 
gallons where restaurants or food preparation establishments 
are the users or are in the vicinity and the trap shall comply 
with the grease trap detail approved and amended from time to 
time by CCWS. The trap shall be at least 300 gallons for offices, 
retail and other non-food preparation users and shall comply 
with the dumpster trap detail approved and amended from time 
to time by CCWS.  

c.  Each user who installs a dumpster trap shall register its 
recovery system with the CCWS for the purpose of obtaining a 
discharge permit. Such application shall include the name, 
address, telephone number and factors indicating the potential 
for grease-laden waste to be introduced into the wastewater 
collection system. CCWS shall provide the user with a discharge 
permit number, its expiration date, and the capacity and design 
requirements of a compliant grease removal system. CCWS shall 
keep a continuous public log of all permitted users, including 
their registration number, address and contact name of the 
user. CCWS may review discharge permits annually. The 
discharge permits of those found to be in compliance with 
existing federal, state, and local laws and regulations will be 
renewed by CCWS.  

(4) … 
(5)  Passive exterior device (PED) requirements.  

a. … 
…  

b.  Passive interior devices (PIDs). There shall be no PIDs installed 
in any user's premises upon the effective date of this article.  

c.b. Sizing. All passive exterior devices grease traps shall have a 
capacity and design in compliance with the following equations:  

 … 
 (6)  Passive interior devices (PIDs). There shall be no PIDs installed in 

any user's premises upon the effective date of this article.  
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 (6)(7) Active interior recovery device requirements.  
... 

 (e) Alternative methods.  
… 
(3) Monitoring. The user may be required to install a manhole on the 

discharge sewer to allow observation, sampling and measurement 
of grease recovery system discharges. This manhole shall be 
installed so as to be safe and accessible at all times.  

 (f)  User responsibility.  
(1)  

a. … 
b. … 
c.  Any removal and hauling of grease, fats and oils shall be 

performed by a licensed waste disposal or rendering firm 
registered commercial waste transporter. If the grease recovery 
system fails to prevent discharge over the daily maximum, 
CCWS will require the user to repair, replace or upgrade their 
grease removal system, which may include one or more of the 
user's devices, at the user's expense.  

d.  … 
e.  … 

(2)  Grease trap maintenance.  
a.  All grease traps shall be maintained by the user at the user's 

expense. For passive internal devices and passive external 
devices, Mmaintenance shall include the complete recovery of 
all contents, including floating materials, wastewater and 
bottom sludges and solids. All grease recovery systems, 
including passive interior devices, passive exterior devices, and 
any grease recovery devices, shall be properly and adequately 
maintained by the user so as to achieve the intended purpose of 
the device.  

b. In the maintaining of these grease recovery systems, the user 
shall be responsible for proper recovery, removal and disposal 
by appropriate, approved means of the captured material by a 
licensed waste disposal or rendering firm.  

c.  Pumping/cleaning frequency. All PEDs shall be completely 
pumped out at a minimum of once every three months, or more 
frequently as required by CCWS to comply with this section or 
the manufacturer's recommendation to protect the wastewater 
system. The CCWS may establish a less frequent schedule to 
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address unusual situations such as schools closed during the 
summer or establishments with known low usage of grease, 
fats, and oils. The frequency of removal shall be such as to 
ensure that no overflows of oils or grease into the wastewater 
collection system ever results. Decanting or discharging of 
removed waste back into the trap from which the waste was 
removed or to any other grease trap or sanitary sewer 
connection for the purpose of reducing the volume to be hauled 
is prohibited.  

d.  All PIDs shall be completely pumped out at a frequency 
established by CCWS to ensure the protection of the 
wastewater system. 

e. All PIDs shall be maintained in accordance with the 
manufactures recommendations and a copy of same shall be 
maintained at the site for review and inspection by CCWS. A 
continuous log indicating each cleaning and/or maintenance for 
the previous 12 months, including the disposal of the recovered 
grease and oil, shall be maintained. This log shall be kept in a 
conspicuous place where it can be inspected by the health 
department and/or CCWS personnel upon request. 

(g)  Enforcement. Inspection and entry. 
(1) Monitoring. The user shall install a manhole on the discharge sewer 

to allow observation, sampling and measurement of grease 
recovery system discharges. This manhole shall be installed so as 
to be safe and accessible at all times.  

(2) Inspection and entry. Any authorized representative of CCWS 
bearing proper credentials and identification shall be permitted to 
enter and inspect all properties. without prior notification. for 
compliance with code. This right of inspection shall include the right 
to measure, observe, monitor, sample, test, record, review and 
make copies of all pertinent documents in accordance with this 
section.  

(h)  Violations and penaltiesEnforcement.  
(1)  Violations. It shall be unlawful for any user or customer to 

discharge water to CCWS in a manner in violation of this section, or 
of any conditions set forth in this article. Any person who violates 
any provision of this section shall, in addition to the penalties 
specified herein, be subject to the provisions contained in sections 
122-41 through 122-56 to the extent such violations, notice and 
penalties are not addressed in this section.   

(2) Notice of nNoncompliance. If through inspection, it is determined 
that the user has failed to comply with the provisions of this 
section, a written warning of the notice of violation shall be given 
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to the user, the contractor named in the permit, or the user's 
authorized agent. If the user is not a customer (e.g. if the user is a 
tenant in a master-metered development), then the customer for 
the property on which the user is located shall receive a copy of the 
notice of violation. The notice shall set forth the violation and the 
measure needed to achieve compliance. The user shall have seven 
days from receipt of this notice to comply. Where an emergency 
exists, a written warning shall be given to the user, and user will 
have 24 hours to comply.  

(3) Failure to comply. Any user who fails to comply with a written 
notice of violation may be fined in an amount not to exceed 
$1,000.00 per violation. Each day on which noncompliance shall 
occur or continue shall be deemed a separate and distinct violation. 
Such fines may be added to the next scheduled sewer charge of 
the user or the customer for the property on which the user is 
located.  CCWS shall have the power and authority to enter upon 
the property of any user who, after having received a written 
warning, has failed to comply with the provisions of this article, 
who fails to comply with a notice of violation to terminate the 
user's water and/or wastewater service in any manner deemed 
necessary and appropriate by CCWS.  If a user who fails to comply 
with a notice of violation is not a customer, then CCWS shall have 
the power and authority to terminate the water and/or wastewater 
service of the customer for the property on which the user is 
located in any manner deemed necessary and appropriate by 
CCWS. Additionally, CCWS may request that the county board of 
commissioners suspend or revoke the user's business license after 
a show cause hearing, pursuant to sections 122-44 and 78-45.  

(4) Overflow penalty charge. Any sewer or manhole overflow traced to 
an inadequately operating grease recovery system or lack of a 
grease recovery system will result in a service charge to the user or 
the customer for the property on which the user is located. The 
service charge shall include the cost of cleaning up the overflow 
and for cleaning grease out of the immediately adjacent 
contaminated CCWS wastewater collection system. A fine in an 
amount not to exceed $1,000.00 may be added to the service 
charge for each successive overflow. This penalty will be doubled 
with each successive overflow. This penalty These charges and 
fines shall not impede other enforcement actions as delineated in 
sections 122-41 through sections 122-61. Additionally, the user or 
customer for the property on which the user is located, shall be 
responsible for payment of any fine levied by the Georgia 
Environmental Protection Division against the county as a result of 
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overflows in the county wastewater collection system caused by 
grease traced to any inadequate or absent grease recovery system. 

 
Sec. 122-193. - Hauled wastes. 
(a)  … 
(b)  Permit required. The department director is hereby authorized to grant 

permits to discharge the contents of holding tanks and septic tanks at 
locations specified by him and under his supervision. Such permits may 
be revoked at any time if, in the opinion of the department director, 
continued dumping of such matter into the county wastewater system 
will be injurious to the system or treatment processes. Such permit shall 
stipulate the locations and times for which the permittee will be allowed 
to discharge holding tank and septic tank wastes and to whom each load 
must be reported and what information, e.g., the source of the load, 
must be provided by the permittee when reporting.  
 … 

(e)  Discharge of grease trap contents into county wastewater system 
prohibited. The discharge of the materials collected from grease traps 
into the county wastewater system is prohibited. See also subsection 
122-188 (e) (d).  

… 
 
DIVISION 8. PRIVATE WASTEWATER DISPOSAL FACILITIES 
 

Sec. 122-242.  Conditions for acceptable construction and use of septic tanks. 
… 
(e)  Specifications for septic tank systems. The specifications for all septic 

tank systems constructed in the county shall conform to the Rules and 
Regulations of the Division of Public Health for On-Site Sewage 
Management Systems, chapters 290-5-26-.05 through 290-5-26-.07 with 
the exception that the water system generally requires installation of 
dual absorption fields for new septic tanks. 

(f)   [Lot size requirement.] Lot size must be at least 21,780 square feet if 
served by public water supply and at least 43,560 square feet if served 
by private water supply. Lot size refers to the area of soils suitable for 
on-site sewage disposal. 

… 
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DIVISION 9. OUTDOOR WATER USE RESTRICTIONS 
 
Sec. 122-262.  Outdoor water use schedule during non-drought periods 
Outdoor water use at times when there are no declared drought conditions 
other than exempted activities shall occur only as follows:  
(a)  Odd-numbered addresses: Outdoor water use is allowed on Tuesdays, 

Thursdays and Sundays.  
(b) Even-numbered addresses: Outdoor water use is allowed on Mondays, 

Wednesdays and Saturdays.  
 
Sec. 122-263. Outdoor water use schedule during declared drought response 
levels. 
(a) During drought conditions pursuant to the declaration of the Director of 

the EPD, outdoor water use other than exempted activities shall occur 
only during scheduled hours on the scheduled days. 

(b) Declared drought response level one--Outdoor water use may occur on 
scheduled days within the hours of 12:00 midnight to 10:00 a.m. and 
4:00 p.m. to 12:00 midnight. 
(1) Scheduled days for odd-numbered addresses are Tuesdays, 

Thursdays and Sundays. 
(2) Scheduled days for even-numbered addresses are Mondays, 

Wednesdays and Saturdays. 
(3) Use of hydrants for any purpose other than firefighting, public 

health, safety or flushing is prohibited. 
(c) Declared drought response level two--Outdoor water use may occur on 

scheduled days within the hours of 12:00 midnight to 10:00 a.m. 
(1) Scheduled days for odd-numbered addresses are Tuesdays, 

Thursdays and Sundays. 
(2)  Scheduled days for even-numbered addresses and golf course 

fairways are Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays. 
(3) The following uses are prohibited: 

a. Using hydrants for any purpose other than firefighting, public 
health, safety or flushing. 

b. Washing hard surfaces, such as streets, gutters, sidewalks and 
driveways except when necessary for public health and safety. 

(d) Declared drought response level three--Outdoor water use may occur on 
the scheduled day within the hours of 12:00 midnight to 10:00 a.m. 
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(1) The scheduled day for odd-numbered addresses is Sunday. 
(2) The scheduled day for even-numbered addresses and golf course 

fairways is Saturday. 
(3)  The following uses are prohibited: 

a. Using hydrants for any purpose other than firefighting, public 
health, safety or flushing. 

b. Washing hard surfaces, such as streets, gutters, sidewalks, 
driveways, except when necessary for public health and safety. 

c. Filling installed swimming pools except when necessary for health 
care or structural integrity. 

d.  Washing vehicles, such as cars, boats, trailers, motorbikes, 
airplanes, golf carts. 

e. Washing buildings or structures except for immediate fire 
protection. 

f.  Non-commercial fund-raisers, such as car washes. 
g. Using water for ornamental purposes, such as fountains, 

reflecting pools, and waterfalls except when necessary to support 
aquatic life. 

(e) Declared DROUGHT RESPONSE LEVEL FOUR--No outdoor water use is 
allowed, other than for exempted activities, or as the director of the EPD 
may order. 

 
Sec. 122-264. Exemptions. 
(a) Outdoor water use restrictions shall not apply to the following outdoor 

water uses: 
(1)   Capture and re-use of cooling system condensate or storm water in 

compliance with applicable local ordinances 
(2)   Re-use of gray water in compliance with applicable local 

ordinances. 
(b) The following established landscape water uses are exempt from the 

outdoor water use schedules. 
(1) Use of reclaimed wastewater by a designated user from a system 

permitted by EPD to provide reclaimed wastewater. 
(2)   Irrigation of personal food gardens. 

(c) Newly (in place less than 30 days) installed landscapes are subject to 
the following: 
(1) Irrigation of newly installed landscapes is allowed any day of the 

week, but only during allowed hours for the drought response level 
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in effect, for a period of 30 days following installation. No watering is 
allowed during drought response level four. 

(2) For new landscapes installed by certified or licensed professionals, 
commercial exemptions apply. 

(d) The following golf course outdoor water uses are exempt from the 
outdoor water use schedules. 
(1) Use of reclaimed wastewater by a designated user from a system 

permitted by EPD to provide reclaimed wastewater. 
(2)  Irrigation of fairways during times of non-drought and declared 

drought response level one. 
(3) Irrigation of tees during times of non-drought and declared drought 

response levels one, two and three. 
(4) Irrigation of greens. 

(e) The following commercial outdoor water uses are exempt from the 
outdoor water use schedules. 
(1) Professionally certified or licensed landscapers, golf course 

contractors, and sports turf landscapers: during installation and 30 
days following installation only. Professional landscapers must be 
certified or licensed for commercial exemptions to apply. 

(2) Irrigation contractors: during installation and as needed for proper 
maintenance and adjustments only. 

(3) Sod producers. 
(4) Ornamental growers. 
(5) Fruit and vegetable growers. 
(6) Retail garden centers. 
(7) Hydro-seeding. 
(8) Power-washing. 
(9) Construction sites. 
(10) Producers of food and fiber. 
(11) Car washes. 
(12) Other activities essential to daily business. 
(13) Watering-in of pesticides and herbicides on turf. 

 
 
Sec. 122-262.  Restrictions on outdoor watering of landscape during non-drought 
periods 

Outdoor watering for purposes of planting, growing, managing, or 
maintaining ground cover, trees, shrubs, or other plants may occur only 
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between the hours of 4:00 p.m. and 10:00 a.m.; provided, however, that this 
limitation shall not create any limitation upon the following outdoor water 
uses during non-drought periods: 
(a) Commercial raising, harvesting, or storing of crops; feeding, breeding, or 

managing livestock or poultry; the commercial production  or storing of 
feed for use in the production of livestock, including, but not limited to, 
cattle, calves, swine, hogs, goats, sheep, and rabbits, or for use in the 
production of poultry, including, but not limited to, chickens, hens, 
ratites, and turkeys; producing plants, trees, fowl, or animals; or the 
commercial production of aquacultural, horticultural, dairy, livestock, 
poultry, eggs, and apiarian products or as otherwise defined in O.C.G.A. 
§ 1-3-3; 

(b) Capture and reuse of cooling system condensate or stormwater in 
compliance with Section 18-257 and state guidelines; 

(c) Reuse of gray water in compliance with Section 18-257, O.C.G.A. § 31-
3-5.2, and applicable local board of health regulations; 

(d) Use of reclaimed wastewater by a designated user from a system 
permitted by the Environmental Protection Division of the Georgia 
Department of Natural Resources to provide reclaimed wastewater; 

(e) Watering personal food gardens; 
(f) Watering new and replanted plant, seed, or turf in landscapes, golf 

courses, or sports turf fields during installation and for a period of 30 
days immediately following the date of installation; 

(g) Drip irrigation or irrigation using soaker hoses; 
(h) Hand watering with a hose with automatic cutoff or handheld container; 
(i) Use of water withdrawn from private water wells or surface water by an 

owner or operator of property if such well or surface water is on said 
property; 

(j) Watering horticultural crops held for sale, resale, or installation; 
(k) Watering athletic fields, golf courses, or public turf grass recreational 

areas; 
(l) Installation, maintenance, or calibration of irrigation systems; or 
(m) Hydroseeding. 

 
Sec. 122-263. Other outdoor water uses during non-drought periods. 
For outdoor uses not associated with landscape watering, such as car 
washing, pressure washing, outdoor cleaning, pool filling, etc., the following 
rules apply during non-drought periods: 
(a) Odd-numbered addresses: Outdoor water use is allowed on Tuesdays, 

Thursdays and Sundays. 
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(b) Even-numbered addresses: Outdoor water use is allowed on Mondays, 
Wednesdays and Saturdays. 

 
Sec. 122-264. Outdoor water use schedule during declared drought response 
levels. 
Outdoor water use and exemptions during state declared drought levels are 
in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 12-5-7 and Georgia Department of Natural 
Resources Rules 391-3-30-.04 and 391-3-30-.05. 

 
Sec. 122-265. Right to curtail water usage during emergency conditions. 
(a) Authority. The county may, upon application to and approval by the 

director of the Environmental Protection Division of the Georgia 
Department of Natural Resources for good cause shown, impose more 
stringent restrictions on outdoor water use during non-drought periods 
or  impose more stringent restrictions than those applicable restrictions, 
if any, imposed by the state during state declared periods of drought. 
For purposes of this section, 'good cause' means evidence sufficient to 
support a reasonable conclusion, considering available relevant 
information, that such additional restrictions are necessary and 
appropriate to avoid or relieve a local water shortage. A variance 
granted pursuant to this section shall be valid for such period as 
determined by the director of the Environmental Protection Division.   
Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, the county manager, with 
the authorization of the board of commissioners, is empowered to 
implement special water conservation measures during emergency 
conditions. The type, nature, degree, penalty, commencement and 
duration of any restrictions or prohibitions are to be determined by the 
county manager and approved by the board of commissioners.   

(b) Emergency conditions.  For the purposes of this section only, emergency 
conditions shall include, but not be limited to times of drought, low 
stream flows, interruptions in the raw water supply due to breaks or 
contamination, inability of the filter plants to meet demand, excessive 
losses or demands in the distribution system due to breaks, fires or 
other causes, contamination in the finished water, or any other purpose 
for which the curtailed use of water might be reasonably required in the 
best interest of public health, safety and welfare as determined by the 
county manager.   

(c) Restrictions.  The water conservation measures may include restrictions 
or prohibitions on nonessential uses such as swimming pool filling, 
watering of lawns and gardens, washing of recreational or other 
vehicles, equipment, sidewalks, driveways, parking areas, tennis courts, 
patios and other paved areas, recreational uses, and other uses which 
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the county manager may deem to be nonessential and that have been 
approved by the director of the Environmental Protection Division.   

(d) Notice.  A notice of the restrictions or prohibitions imposed under this 
section and approved by the director of the Environmental Protection 
Division shall be published in the county organ in a non-legal section. 
The notice shall set forth the specific nature of the restrictions or 
prohibitions, the reasons for the imposition of the restrictions or 
prohibitions, the date upon which the restrictions or prohibitions become 
effective, and their duration. The restrictions and prohibitions shall 
become effective no sooner than the first day following the publication 
date of the first notice. The notice shall be published once a month while 
the restrictions and prohibitions are in effect.   
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Sec. 126-26. - Definitions. 

The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this article, 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in this section, except where 
the context clearly indicates a different meaning:  

Basic tow job means and includes the furnishing of a wrecker and 
all work necessary to properly hook up a damaged or undamaged vehicle 
and tow it to a storage area.  

Damaged vehicle means any vehicle suffering such mechanical or 
structural damage to the extent that it cannot properly or safely be 
operated.  

Director of public safely means the director of the county 
department of public safety.  

Heavy equipment means vehicles weighing more than 14500 1½ 
tons or 15,000 pounds of GVW.  

Passenger cars, light trucks and similar vehicles means any vehicle 
weight up to 14500 15,000 pounds of GVW.  

Police department means the county police department, its officers, 
agents or employees.  

Property owner means the owner of property, or his authorized 
representative, upon which a vehicle to be removed is located.  

Public calls means calls received by wrecker services from public 
officers in the exercise of their public duties, including but not limited to 
police, fire and emergency medical matters.  

Response time means that the zone wrecker service will respond 
toward the scene of the traffic infringement as soon as possible after a 
call from the county police department.  

Selection committee means a committee composed of the head, 
chief, manager or director of the following departments, divisions or 
agencies of the county: public safety, finance, purchasing, business 
license and internal audit or the designee of such head, chief, manager or 
director.  

Undamaged vehicle means any vehicle which has no or only minor 
structural or mechanical damage and is capable of being safely and 
properly operated.  
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Vehicle owner means the owner of a vehicle or his authorized 
representative.  

Wrecker means an automotive vehicle with hoisting apparatus and 
equipment for towing wrecked, disabled or abandoned automobiles or 
other vehicles. The term "wrecker" also includes any vehicle otherwise 
equipped and used for the purpose of towing wrecked, disabled or 
abandoned automobiles or other vehicles.  

Wrecker service means any corporation, partnership or individual 
person, either as principal, agent or employee, in the business of 
removing, towing and/or storing wrecked, disabled or abandoned 
automobiles or other vehicles by the use of a wrecker or other towing 
device.  

Zone means a geographical area to be contiguous with the 
boundaries of the police precincts of the police department as now or 
hereafter created by the county police department and approved by the 
county board of commissioners.  

Zone holder means any wrecker service which submits a successful 
application under section 126-53 and is permitted a zone and which 
otherwise complies with the provisions of this article to qualify for the 
privilege of engagement by the police department for the removal or 
storage of vehicles.  

Sec. 126-34. - Vehicle inventory; procedure. 

(a) 
Whenever any vehicle is removed by a wrecker service at the 
direction of a police officer, the police officer shall make a thorough 
inventory of all equipment, accessories, personal articles and other 
items either attached to or located within the vehicle. The inventory 
shall be completed on a form supplied or approved by the police 
department and signed by the officer in charge of the removal. 
Upon acceptance of the vehicle and prior to its removal, the agent 
or employee of the wrecker service performing the removal shall 
sign the inventory form. The police department shall provide the 
wrecker service with a copy.  

(b) 
Whenever any vehicle is removed at the request of the vehicle 
owner and without participation by a police officer, the agent or 
employee of the wrecker service performing the removal shall 
complete and sign the inventory form supplied or approved by the 
police department. The vehicle owner shall be given a reasonable 
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opportunity to verify and sign such inventory form and shall sign 
same. The owner or lawful custodian of the vehicle shall keep the 
original of the inventory form. The wrecker service shall keep a 
copy thereof and shall forward an additional copy to the police 
department at the time it supplies the information required by 
section 126-33.  

(b) 
When the vehicle owner picks up his vehicle, the wrecker service 
shall provide him with a copy of such inventory form. 
 

Sec. 126-54. - Due cause for denial of application. 

(a) 
The director of public safety shall have due cause to find an 
applicant not qualified due to any of the following circumstances: 
(1) 

The applicant has failed to obtain any paper or document 
necessary in pursuance of its business as may be required 
by any officer, agency or department of the county, state or 
United States under authority of any law, ordinance or 
resolution of the county, state or United States.  

(2) 
The applicant has supplied false information to the director 
of the business license bureau or to the director of public 
safety or to the police department or has failed to provide 
information required by subsection 126-53(e).  

(3) 
The applicant violates any law, ordinance or resolution 
regulating such business or violates any regulation made 
pursuant to authority granted for the purpose of regulating 
such business.  

(4) 
The applicant, during the 12-month period next preceding 
the filing of its application, has suffered revocation of its 
wrecker service zone privileges, has engaged in any 
fraudulent business transaction punishable by the laws of 
this state or has engaged in any act or practice with respect 
to its business designated as unlawful in O.C.G.A. § 10-1-
393, the Fair Business Practices Act of 1975.  

(5) 
The applicant does not have adequate personnel or 
equipment to service the zone requested. 
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(6) 
The applicant does not have an impound facility meeting the 
requirements of section 126-59. 

(7) 
Each applicant, and all employees and principals associated 
with the applicant, shall be required to submit to a police 
background check, and the existence of any of the following 
items shall result in a denial of the application. Owners and 
principals shall be examined for a ten-year period, and 
employees shall be examined for a five-year period. A 
conviction, plea of guilty or entry of a nolo contendere plea 
of any of the following shall result in a denial of the 
application:  
a. 

Any felony crime. 
b. 

More than one misdemeanor crime. 
c. 

Any suspension or revocation of driving privileges, 
other than administrative suspensions. 

d. 
Any serious traffic offense as follows: 
1. 

Reckless driving as defined in O.C.G.A. § 40-6-
390. 

2. 
More than one driving under the influence as 
defined in O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391. 

3. 
Homicide by vehicle as defined in O.C.G.A. § 
40-6-393. 

4. 
Serious injury by vehicle as defined in O.C.G.A. 
§ 40-6-394. 

5. 
Fleeing, eluding or impersonating a law 
enforcement officer as defined in O.C.G.A. § 
40-6-395. 

(8) 
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The applicant would be unable to service the zone in a 
reasonable response time. Such response time shall be no 
more than 15 minutes during normal traffic and normal 
weather and no more than 45 minutes during rush-hour 
traffic or inclement weather or other abnormal conditions, all 
while obeying all traffic laws.  

(b) 
All zone holders shall notify the police department Permits Unit in 
writing of any material change of the applicant or any employee 
thereof or any business change in status within 72 hours of such 
change, which change shall affect any requirement contained in 
this article.  

 
Sec. 126-59. - Requirements for impound facilities; inventory. 

(a) 
Each impound facility of the zone holder must be located within the 
county on properly zoned real property owned or leased by the 
zone holder and must comply with the following:  
(1) 

Have the capacity to hold all vehicles towed pursuant to 
public calls by such zone holder for a period of 90 days. 

(2) 
Have the entire area adequately illuminated during the hours 
of darkness to discourage and detect attempts at theft or 
vandalism. 

(3) 
Be enclosed by a chainlink fence with barbed wire running at 
the top, with gate that can be securely locked, such fence to 
meet all zoning and ordinance requirements of the 
jurisdiction in which it is located.  

(4) 
Have an attendant on the property, able to respond to a 
request for releasing of vehicles and providing ingress and 
egress immediately upon request.  

(5) 
The gate to the impound lot shall be and remain locked 
during the hours of darkness except to provide reasonable 
ingress and egress in connection with wrecker service 
operations.  

(b) 
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Each zone holder shall submit an inventory every two weeks of all 
vehicles remaining in its possession whose owner has not been 
identified and notified. The inventory shall be completed on a form 
supplied or approved by the police department and submitted in 
writing to the Cobb County Police Department Permits Unit.  

 
 (c) The zone holder shall provide the Cobb County Police Department 
with five (5) storage areas in each impound lot at no charge for police 
confiscated vehicles with investigative holds.  Each area to be minimum size of 
one passenger car.  The five (5) no charge storage areas shall be within each 
impound lot in a specific area easily accessible and mutually agreed upon by 
Cobb County Police Department and the wrecker service. 
 
 (d) Each zone holder shall notify the Cobb County Police Department 
Permits Unit of any damage or theft to a vehicle that was impounded by the 
Cobb County Police Department which occurs while the vehicle is in the 
possession of the zone holder.  Additionally, the zone holder will provide the 
police report/ case number from any jurisdiction where the incident was 
reported. 
 

Sec. 126-62. - Fee schedule—Adoption; notice; public hearing. 

(a) 
When any recommendation with respect to the fee schedule is 
submitted to the board of commissioners by the department of 
public safety, the board of commissioners shall take action with 
respect thereto by way of a public hearing, giving at least three 
days' notice to the public and to all zone holders affected thereby 
of such hearing. After such hearing, the board of commissioners 
may take such action as it deems appropriate.  

(b) 
Upon adoption by the board of commissioners of such fee schedule 
or amendments thereto, no zone holder shall charge fees or prices 
for public calls in excess thereof for any services performed under 
this article. Such fee schedule shall remain in full force and effect 
until changed pursuant to the provisions of this article.  

(c) 
A copy of any approved fee schedule or amendment shall be on file 
with the county clerk and with the county police department, and 
may be amended from time to time as determined by the board of 
commissioners. A copy of any approved fee schedule or 
amendment shall be furnished to each zone holder.  

(d) 
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Each zone holder shall post in a conspicuous place on its premises 
a sign stating the following: 
Note: The maximum fees which may be charged by wrecker 
services for removal and/or storage for public/ police calls have 
been established by bid and/or a county ordinance. You are entitled 
to a copy of the fee schedule upon request. Inquiries and 
complaints concerning any fees charged should be made to the 
Cobb County Police Department Permits Unit.  

(e) 
Each zone holder shall furnish to any person so requesting a 
current copy of the fee schedule. 

(f) 
Other applicable requirements: 
(1) 

The investigating officer of the county police department will 
make a record of the time that a wrecker service spends at 
an incident location. The officer will note the time of arrival 
and the time of leaving either from his personal observation 
of such events or from evidence given him by the wrecker 
operator or other parties. These times shall be noted on the 
impound sheet.  

(2) 
The basic fees adopted on the fee schedule will cover all 
charges of the wrecker service from its place of business to 
the incident location, at the incident location and back to its 
place of business or any other location within the zone 
holder's zone requested by the vehicle owner. Should the 
owner of the vehicle request the vehicle to be towed to a 
location outside of the operator's zone, the fee will not be 
governed by the fee schedule. The fee schedule shall further 
provide for storage fees and administrative fees which may 
be charged in connection with a public call.  

(3) 
If a zone holder is requested to respond to a location for a 
police-related matter, and upon his arrival the wrecker 
service is refused by the owner of the vehicle, no charge can 
be made by the wrecker service for his response or his 
return to his place of business.  

(4) 
Should a mistake be made by the police department 
dispatcher in dispatching the wrong wrecker service, no 
charge can be made by the zone wrecker service who 
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responds, nor will any charge be made for his return to his 
place of business.  

 
Sec. 126-116. - Definitions. 

The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this article, 
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in this section, except where 
the context clearly indicates a different meaning:  

Business license means the license required of all persons engaged 
in business in the unincorporated areas of the county as set forth in 
chapter 78, concerning licenses, permits and businesses, as amended.  

Chauffeur means, for purposes of this article, any person with a 
Georgia state driver's license who meets the qualifications as prescribed in 
O.C.G.A. § 46-7-85.10 and who is authorized by the public service 
commission to drive a sedan, limousine, extended limousine, van or 
minibus.  

Director means the director of the Cobb County Public Safety 
Agency.  

Dispatcher means a person assigned to a base of operations, in 
contact with taxicabs of the licensee's company having access to a 
landline telephone to talk with passengers or place phone calls in the 
event of an emergency.  

Domicile means the place where the corporate establishment is 
maintained; its principal place of business.  

Licensee means a person licensed by the county business license 
office to engage in the vehicle for hire business.  

Limousine means any motor vehicle that meets the manufacturer's 
specifications for luxury limousine with a designed seating capacity for no 
more than ten passengers with a minimum of five seats located behind 
the operator of the vehicle, and which does not have a door at the rear of 
the vehicle designed to allow passenger entry or exit; further, no vehicle 
shall be permitted to be operated both as a taxicab and as a limousine. 
Limousines and limousine carriers shall be fully regulated by the state 
under the public service commission.  

Motor vehicle safety standards means standards promulgated by 
the public safety agency for approval by the board of commissioners that 
all vehicles for hire regulated under this article must meet.  
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Operator's permit means the written authority granted by the 
public safety department Cobb County Department of Public Safety 
Director or his designee to persons who qualify to operate vehicles for 
hire. Sometimes referred to as a taxi driver's permit.  

Permittee means a person granted a permit to operate vehicles for 
hire in the unincorporated areas of the county.  

Sedan means any luxury or nonluxury sedan or town car type 
vehicle which has a seating capacity of not more than five passengers and 
the driver and which does not contain a taximeter designed to measure 
electronically or mechanically the distance traveled or time.  

Sedan carrier means any person operating a service regularly 
rendered to the public by furnishing transportation as a motor common 
carrier for hire, not over fixed routes, by means of sedans driven by 
chauffeurs on the basis of telephone contract, written contract or other 
prearrangement.  

Taxicab means a motor vehicle used as a public conveyance which 
does not meet the requirements of a limousine, is not a van, minibus or 
sedan, has a taximeter and is subject to the rules and regulations of this 
article.  

Valid complaint means a complaint against an operator or business 
to the business license office where the complainant provides his name, 
address and substance of complaint, and expresses a willingness to attend 
any hearing regarding his complaint.  

Van means any motor vehicle, other than a limousine, extended 
limousine, minibus or a sedan, with a designed seating capacity for no 
more than 15 passengers, including the driver.  

Vehicles for hire. For the purposes of this article, vehicles for hire 
shall mean taxicabs.  

Vehicle for hire or taxicab stand means any area where vehicles for 
hire park, stop, wait or stand for the purpose of accepting or soliciting any 
consideration, charge or fee in exchange for transportation.  

Vehicle permit sticker means a sticker issued to a licensee upon 
proof of insurance and verification of compliance with county vehicle 
mechanical safety standards, to be placed on each vehicle for hire 
operated under this article and renewed annually.  
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Sec. 126-129. - Drivers' duties and responsibilities. 

(a) 
Drivers of taxicabs shall notify their dispatcher of any personal 
property left in the vehicle for hire and such property shall be noted 
on the daily dispatch log sheets. Within 24 hours of discovery of 
any personal property left by a passenger, a driver shall forward 
such property to the public safety agency or to its company's 
headquarters. Licensees shall maintain an accurate log of all private 
property held by them and the names of all persons claiming and 
receiving such property for a minimum of one year.  

(b) 
A driver shall take the most direct route to a passenger's 
destination unless otherwise authorized or directed by the 
passenger. 

(c) 
It shall be unlawful for any driver of a vehicle for hire who is not 
permitted and for any person who is not licensed to solicit or 
engage passengers within the unincorporated areas of the county.  

(d) 
No driver shall refuse to accept a passenger unless the passenger 
is obviously intoxicated or dangerous. 

(e) 
No driver shall refuse to accept a passenger solely on the basis of 
race, color, national origin or religious belief. 

(f) 
No driver shall be permitted to carry nonpaying passengers in a 
taxicab while transporting a paying passenger or passengers except 
for the purpose of driver training.  

(g) 
It shall be unlawful for a driver to operate his vehicle in a manner 
which threatens a passenger or anyone else, or to threaten or 
otherwise abuse a passenger.  

(h) 
It shall be unlawful for a driver to discharge any passenger before 
reaching the passenger's destination unless the driver has a 
reasonable belief that the passenger is dangerous, or unless street 
or area conditions do not permit a safe discharge to either the 
passenger or driver.  

(i) 
No television sets may be operated on the front seat on which the 
driver sits inside of a moving vehicle. 
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(j) 
It shall be unlawful for drivers to drive, or for companies or other 
entities to allow to be driven, any vehicle for hire which does not 
have a valid inspection sticker, is not validly insured or, if a taxicab, 
has an unsealed or improperly working taxifare meter.  

(k) 
Persons or other entities operating a taxicab service shall be 
prohibited from allowing such vehicles to be operated by persons 
not holding valid operator permits.  

(l) 
Drivers shall not be required to carry more than $15.00 in change. 

(m) 
Upon request of a passenger of a taxicab, drivers shall give receipts 
showing the amount of fare paid, name of company, license 
number, number of passengers, location of trip origination and 
location of trip termination.  

 (n) Drivers shall notify the dispatcher of any fare originating from a taxi 
stand or by personal command and provide the information required per Section 
126-124. 
 

Sec. 126-151. - License requirements generally. 

(a) 
No person shall engage in the business of operating vehicles for 
hire, except limousines, in the unincorporated areas of the county 
without first having been issued a business license. Limousine 
carriers and other vehicles not regulated by this article but engaged 
in the business of vehicles for hire which are domiciled within the 
unincorporated areas of the county must be issued a business 
license and pay business license fees. All licenses shall be issued by 
the county business license office.  

 (b) 
The license must be posted in public view at the license location. 

(c) 
In order to secure a business license to operate a taxicab service, 
an applicant must provide information showing its qualifications on 
a form provided by the business license office of the county, 
information requested by the public safety agency and must submit 
to a police clearance consisting of a background investigation 
and/or fingerprinting. If the applicant is other than a sole 
proprietor, all partners, officers, managers and stockholders holding 
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a 20 percent or more interest in the company shall be subject to 
the provisions of this section. An applicant must:  
(1) 

Be at least 21 years of age. 
(2) 

Be a citizen of the United States or an alien admitted for 
permanent residence or a person who has otherwise been 
granted employment authorization by the United States 
Citizenship and  Immigration Services and Naturalization 
Service.  
 
Not have been convicted, pleaded guilty, pleaded nolo 
contendere or been on probation or parole, for a period of 
five years previous to the date of application for the violation 
of any of the following criminal offenses of the state or any 
other stated or of the United States: criminal homicide; 
rape; aggravated battery; mayhem; burglary; aggravated 
assault; kidnapping; robbery; child molestation; any sex-
related offense; driving a motor vehicle while under the 
influence of intoxicating beverages or drugs; leaving the 
scene of an accident; criminal solicitation to commit any of 
these listed offenses; any felony in the commission of which 
a motor vehicle was used; perjury or false swearing; any 
crime of violence or theft or possession, sale or distribution 
of narcotic drugs, barbituric acid derivatives or central 
nervous system stimulants; provided, however, that all 
applicants shall be entitled to the full benefits of O.C.G.A. § 
42-8-60 et seq., relating to first offender status. If at the 
time of application the applicant is charged with any of the 
offenses prescribed in this subsection, consideration of the 
application shall be suspended until entry of a plea or verdict 
or dismissal. Subsections 126-151(c)(1), 126-151(c)(2) and 
126-151(c)(3) shall also apply to the spouse of the licensee 
and all shareholders. If the applicant's spouse does not meet 
the qualifications of an applicant, particularly if it appears 
that the applicant's spouse or another person is using the 
applicant, as a guise or dummy to obtain a license, the 
vehicle for hire or taxicab application and license and all 
vehicle stickers shall be denied, suspended, and/or revoked.  

(4) 
Provide a copy of the rate schedule and the daily hours of 
operation. 

(5) 
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Provide the name, address and telephone number of a 
responsible individual who is a fulltime employee in a 
management position of the applicant residing in the county 
who will be the registered agent for the purpose of serving 
of process.  

(6) 
Provide proof of insurance pursuant to section 126-152. 

(7) 
Provide information and verification pursuant to section 126-
153. 

(8) 
Provide the address of an office staffed by company agents 
or employees, including a dispatcher, that will be open 
between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m., and during 
any additional hours that any vehicle for hire associated with 
that company is being operated, located in Cobb County 
including any municipalites within Cobb County.  

(d) 
All taxicab companies and vehicle for hire companies shall submit 
to the county business license division a list containing each make, 
model, separate vehicle number, vehicle identification number, tag 
number, and insurance for each taxicab or vehicle.  

(e) 
All licenses obtained through the business license office of the 
county for taxicab companies or other entities shall not be 
transferable. 

 
Sec. 126-153. - Vehicle permit stickers with license. 

A business duly licensed to operate a taxicab service pursuant to 
this article will be issued, at the time of licensing or at the time of 
providing proof of insurance as required by subsection 126-152(b), vehicle 
permitting stickers for each vehicle owned, leased or operated by such 
business, pursuant to the following conditions:  

(1) 
The applicant or licensee must: 
a. 

List all vehicles to be operated in the business, 
indicating their make, model, year, VIN, tag number 
and color, on a form to be provided by the business 
license office. Each company shall submit a company 
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logo and/or identification/color scheme, which shall 
not be the same or similar to any other company. The 
logo and/or identification/color scheme shall be 
approved by the business license office.  

b. 
Execute a verification statement concerning the 
mechanical safety of each vehicle listed in subsection 
(1)a of this section pursuant to section 126-120.  

c. 
Provide proof of insurance for each vehicle listed in 
subsection (1)a of this section as set forth in section 
126-152, along with vehicle registration, both of 
which must be in the applicant's name.  

(2) 
Stickers must at all times be displayed on the passenger's 
rear side window and in the front windshield. Each vehicle 
will be assigned a numbered sticker and that sticker may not 
be used on any other vehicle.  

(3) 
No vehicle to which a permit sticker is affixed may be 
leased, subleased or otherwise assigned for the purpose of 
operating a taxicab service under this article.  

(4) 
A licensee shall report any additional vehicles to be operated 
pursuant to this article and shall provide all information 
necessary and pay all fees required to obtain additional 
vehicle permit stickers.  

(5) 
A fee schedule for vehicle permit stickers will be 
recommended by the supervisor of the business license 
office and approved from time to time by the board of 
commissioners. Such schedule will be on file with the clerk 
of the county, the business license office and the 
department of public safety. It shall be the responsibility of 
the licensee to renew vehicle permit stickers annually. Any 
licensee who fails to timely renew its vehicle permit and pay 
such fee when due shall pay, in addition to such fee, a 
separate penalty equal to ten percent of the permit sticker 
fee for each period of 30 days, or portion thereof, following 
the due date. To be considered a county business for 
purposes of determining vehicle sticker permit fees, a 
business must have or operate out of one or more offices in 
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the unincorporated part of the county. A post office box will 
not constitute an office.  

(6) 
If a business license is suspended, all vehicle permit stickers 
associated with such license shall be null and void for the 
period of the suspension. If the suspension is in effect on 
the annual renewal date of the business license or on the 
annual renewal date of the vehicle permit sticker, then 
immediately upon the suspension ending, such person or 
entity shall renew its license and vehicle permit stickers.  

(7) 
Once a taxicab company or vehicle for hire company, or one 
of its vehicles, ceases to have a county-approved insurance 
policy or otherwise becomes uninsured, the licensee shall 
return the Cobb County vehicle for hire permit sticker to the 
Cobb County business license office within 24 hours. In the 
event a vehicle becomes uninsured and then reinsured, the 
sticker must be returned to the business license office within 
24 hours and reapplied for.  

 
(8) Vehicle stickers will not be issued when a company is not in 

compliance with this article.  If a request for additional 
documentation to process a vehicle application is not met 
within 10 days of the request, then the application shall be 
suspended and no additional vehicle requests shall be 
accepted until the initial application is processed or 
rescinded. 

(9) No ADD Vehicle Request of Taxi vehicles will be accepted in 
December of any year. 

 
Sec. 126-171. - Regulation of drivers of vehicles for hire. 

(a) 
No person shall operate a taxicab in unincorporated Cobb County 
without an operator's permit issued by the Cobb County public 
safety agency. No business licensed to operate a taxicab service 
shall employ any driver who has not been issued an operator's 
permit.  
 
(1) Expired Taxi Permit – a driver who has allowed his Taxi 
Permit to expire while conducting business for a licensed Cobb 
County company shall be in violation of this lesser offense.  
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(b) 
Operator's permits shall not be issued to any driver not employed 
by or representing a licensed company. Proof of employment or 
representation shall be presented upon application of a permit.  
Taxi Permits will denote the business where the driver is employed. 

(c) 
An applicant for a permit must furnish information requested on a 
form to be provided by the public safety agency and submit to a 
police clearance consisting of a background investigation and/or 
fingerprinting. Operator permit applicants must meet the following 
requirements:  
(1) 

Be at least 21 years of age; provided, however, any driver 
between the age of 18 and 21 who was operating a taxicab 
on or before the effective date of the ordinance from which 
this article is derived shall not be subject to this age 
provision.  

(2) 
Be a citizen of the United States or an alien admitted for 
permanent residence or a person who has otherwise been 
granted employment authorization by the United States 
Citizenship and Immigration Services and Naturalization 
Service.  

(3) 
Possess a current, valid Georgia state driver's license, which 
must not be limited as defined in O.C.G.A. §§ 40-5-58 and 
40-5-64. 

(4) 
Exhibit a proficiency with the English language so as to be 
able to comprehend and interpret traffic signs, issue written 
receipts to passengers and obey lawful orders of police and 
others in lawful authority.  

(5) 
Not have been convicted, pleaded guilty, pleaded nolo 
contendere or been on probation or parole, for a period of 
five years previous to the date of application, for the 
violation of any of the following criminal offenses of the 
state or any other state or of the United States: criminal 
homicide; rape; aggravated battery; mayhem; burglary; 
aggravated assault; kidnapping; robbery; child molestation; 
any sex-related offense; driving a motor vehicle while under 
the influence of intoxicating beverages or drugs; leaving the 
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scene of an accident; criminal solicitation to commit any of 
these listed offenses; attempts to commit any of these listed 
offenses; any felony in the commission of which a motor 
vehicle was used; perjury or false swearing; any crime of 
violence or theft, or possession, sale or distribution of 
narcotic drugs, barbituric acid derivatives or central nervous 
system stimulants; provided, however, that all applicants 
shall be entitled to the full benefits of O.C.G.A. § 42-8-60 et 
seq., relating to first offender status. If at the time of 
application the applicant is charged with any of the offenses 
prescribed in this subsection, consideration of the application 
shall be suspended until entry of a plea or verdict or 
dismissal.  

(d) 
All operator permits automatically expire one year from the date 
they are issued. It shall be the responsibility of the operator to 
renew his permit and pay the applicable fee.  

(e) 
Drivers are responsible for reporting any change in qualifications or 
status from information previously supplied to the public safety 
agency within ten days of such change.  

(f) 
Operator permits must be posted on the dash or sunvisor of the 
vehicle being driven so that it is visible from the passenger area. 
Drivers of sedans must have their operator's permits in their 
possession and they must be visible to passengers. Licensees under 
this article are responsible for checking to ensure that each driver 
has a current operator's permit in his possession and that such 
permit is posted on the dash or sunvisor of the vehicle being 
operated.  

(g) 
A schedule of permit fees, as adopted from time to time by the 
board of commissioners, shall be posted in the offices of the clerk 
of the county and the public safety agency. Any permittee who fails 
to timely renew his permit and fails to pay such fee when due shall 
pay, in addition to such fee, a separate penalty equal to ten 
percent of the required fee, for each period of 30 days, or portion 
thereof, following the due date. If the fees adopted from time to 
time by the board of commissioners provide for different fees for 
county drivers/operators than for noncounty drivers/operators, to 
be considered a county driver/operator and pay fees associated 
therewith, a driver must have or operate out of one or more offices 
in the unincorporated part of the county; a post office box will not 

  



PAGE 70 OF 149 

constitute an office. Proof of a current lease, if applicable, for the 
company premises, an affidavit as to ownership or occupancy or 
proof of association with a county licensee must be submitted to 
the public safety department upon request.  

 
 

  



PAGE 71 OF 149 

Sec. 134-1.  Definitions. 
The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the meanings ascribed to them in this section, except where the context clearly 
indicates a different meaning:…………………….. 
 
 
Basement (for the purposes of this chapter) means a portion of a building partly 
underground which has more than one-half of its height, measured from finished 
floor to finished ceiling, above the average grade of the adjoining ground. A 
basement shall not be deemed a story unless the ceiling is six feet or more 
above the grade, or unless it is part of any permitted self-service storage facility. 
 
Basement (for the purposes of determining residential building height) means a 
portion of a building with its exterior walls at least 50% underground (below 
finished grade),  
 
Building height (height of structure or building) means the vertical distance from 
the curb level, or its equivalent, to the highest point of the underside of the 
ceiling beams, in the case of a flat roof; to the deck line of a mansard roof; and 
to the mean level of the underside of the rafters between the eaves and the 
ridge of a gable, hip or gambrel roof. For the purposes of determining residential 
building height, the height of the building is measured from the mean elevation 
of the finished lot grade at the front entrance of the building. For properties 
within platted subdivisions that have publicly maintained, internal roadways, the 
front entrance of the building must be oriented to the required setback adjacent 
to a public roadway……… 
 
Community fair means a festival or fair such as the North Georgia State Fair 
conducted wholly within public areas owned by a local government, provided 
that any activity is conducted at least 200 feet from any property line. Any event 
shall not exceed 21 days. 
 
Community retail uses means commonly found low scale and low intensity retail 
uses that offer basic services and frequently purchased goods to the immediate 
surrounding residential areas, such as the following: auto parts store, antique 
shop, appliance store (home use), bakery, barber shop or beauty shop, beverage 
shop, bookstore (but not including adult bookstores), bridal shop, camera shop, 
china and pottery store, clothing store, dance studio, martial arts, pilates, yoga 
and the like studio, delicatessen, dog grooming shop, draperies and interior 
decorating supplies, drug store, dry goods store, florist, furniture store, gifts and 
stationery store, hardware store, jewelry store, manicurist shop, meat market or 
butcher shop, millinery store, mimeograph and letter shop, music store, novelty 
shop, paint store, pedicurist shop, shoe repair shop, shoe store, sporting goods 
store, supermarket or grocery, tailor shop, toy store, variety shop or video store. 
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Component means any assembly, subassembly or combination of parts for use 
as a part of a building, which may include structural, electrical, plumbing, 
mechanical and fire protection systems and other systems affecting health and 
safety…………. 
 
Funeral home means a building or facility utilized for preparations and 
ceremonies for deceased persons prior to burial or cremation. A funeral home 
may have an accessory crematory within the main building in compliance with 
manufacturer’s instructions and any state or federal laws…… 
 
 
Neighborhood activity center. The purpose of the neighborhood activity center 
(NAC) category is to provide for areas that serve neighborhood residents and 
businesses. Typical land uses for these areas include small offices, limited retail 
uses and grocery stores. 
 
Neighborhood retail uses means commonly found low scale and low intensity 
retail uses (with square footages in accordance with the use limitations 
established within the individual zoning districts of this chapter) that offer basic 
services and frequently purchased goods to the immediate surrounding 
residential areas, such as, but not limited to, an auto parts store, antique shop, 
appliance store (home use), bakery, barbershop or beauty shop, beverage shop, 
bookstore (but not including adult bookstore), bridal shop, camera shop, china 
and pottery store, clothing store, dance studio, martial arts, pilates, yoga and the 
like studio,  delicatessen, dog grooming shop, draperies and interior decorating 
supplies, drugstore, hardware store, dry goods store, florist, furniture store, gifts 
and stationery store, jewelry store, manicurist shop, meat market or butcher 
shop, millinery store, mimeograph and letter shop, music store, novelty shop, 
paint store, pedicurist shop, shoe repair shop, shoe store, sporting goods store, 
supermarket or grocery, tailor shop, toy store, variety shop or video store. 
 
Nightclub means an establishment which operates with its primary income 
generation from the sales of alcoholic beverages, and which may offer live 
entertainment………………….. 
 
 
Recycling center means a center or location designed for sorting or collection of 
recyclables from designated recycling collection locations and other private entity 
sources. 
 
Redevelopment:  For the purposes of this chapter, a property shall be deemed as 
a redevelopment when one of the following thresholds is exceeded: 
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1. When an existing building is totally demolished, and a new building or 
structure is proposed. 

 
2. When a proposed building addition adds 15% more building square 

footage to an existing building.  Building additions shall be 
cumulatively calculated over time, and shall be based on gross building 
square footage. 

 
3. When a Land Disturbance Permit is obtained disturbing more than 

25% of the property. 
 
Routine maintenance shall not be considered redevelopment.  Routine 
maintenance shall include re-roofing, painting, repairing damaged structural 
components, sealing and striping a parking lot, window/door changes, façade 
renovation, signage change, and the like. 
 
Residence hall means a house, apartment, boardinghouse or roominghouse, or 
other multifamily housing for human dwelling. 
 
Residential Building height (height of structure or building) means the vertical 
distance from the lowest first floor elevation (above grade) to the mean level of 
the highest roof structure. When measuring residential building height, 
measurement will be taken from the front of the structure provided that exposed 
crawl space walls do not exceed 5 feet (at any location) or exposed basement 
walls do not exceed 10 feet (at any location).  Any amount of crawl space or wall 
height exceeding these maximums will be subtracted from maximum allowable 
building height. For properties within platted subdivisions that have publicly 
maintained, internal roadways, the front entrance of the building must be 
oriented to the required setback adjacent to a public roadway. 
 
Rest home means a health facility where persons are housed and furnished with 
meals and continuing nursing care for compensation. 
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Sec. 134-4.  Sale, refinancing or leasing of portion of property. 
The sale, refinancing or leasing of any portion of a commercial, ……………… 
 
Sec. 134-5  Lots requiring lot size variances prior to rezoning 
 
Any lot which is deficient pertaining to minimum lot size, in which a rezoning is 
contemplated or needed, shall file an application for variance to the Board of 
Zoning Appeals. The application for variance must be approved by the Board of 
Zoning Appeals and ratified by the Board of Commissioners at least 21 days prior 
to the Board of Commissioners’ zoning hearing. However, if the Zoning Division 
Manager or designee is provided with documentation which demonstrates the lot 
size deficiency was caused by purchase or condemnation by an entity which has 
the power of eminent domain, or the condition existed prior to December 26, 
1972, then this code section shall not be applied and the application for rezoning 
will be processed and decided in the usual manner despite the lot size deficiency. 
 
Secs. 134- 6  -134-30.  Reserved. 
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Sec. 134-31.  Nonconforming uses. 
(a) Purpose and intent. The purpose of a zoning ordinance is to have orderly 
use of property. Nonconforming uses that existed legally prior to the adoption or 
change of a zoning ordinance create land uses that do not conform to the zoning 
ordinance. It is the purpose of this nonconforming use provision to allow legally 
existing nonconforming uses to be retained with certain limitations to protect 
adjacent property owners and the public from the inconsistencies created by 
nonconforming uses. It is the intent that over time all nonconforming uses will be 
eliminated. 
(b) Continuance of nonconforming uses. A nonconforming use of a building, 
structure or land that was legal prior to the enactment of an amendment or 
adoption of the zoning ordinance shall be allowed to legally continue even 
though such use does not conform with the provisions of this chapter, subject to 
the following: 
(1) The nonconforming use cannot be expanded to occupy a greater area of 
land or building area. 
(2) The nonconforming use may continue only in the original building 
structure or land area that was originally occupied by the nonconforming use. 
(3) The nonconforming use of the building, structure or land cannot be 
intensified or escalated, for example, by increasing the number of deliveries, 
employees or customers coming to the nonconforming use, or noise, dust, fumes 
or other pollutants emanating from the nonconforming use. 
(4) A nonconforming use cannot be reinstated after it has been abandoned. It 
shall be prima facia evidence of abandonment for the owner and/or operator of 
the nonconforming use to discontinue the nonconforming use for six months, to 
fail to obtain a new or renew an existing business license as required under the 
Code of Cobb County, Georgia for the operation of such nonconforming use, to 
fail to declare and remit the sales tax required by state law for the 
nonconforming use. 
(5) Failure to follow any other state, federal or local administrative procedure 
or regulation that is required for the nonconforming use shall be prima facia 
evidence of abandonment. 
(6) A nonconforming use cannot be changed to another nonconforming use. 
(7) A nonconforming use must maintain any screening or buffering that 
existed prior to the use becoming a nonconforming use or that was later 
voluntarily added. 
(8) A use that constitutes a nuisance as defined by state law is not and 
cannot become a nonconforming use. 
(c) Continuance of nonconforming structure or building. A building or 
structure that is nonconforming or that contains a nonconforming use at the time 
of enactment of the ordinance from which this chapter is derived or at the time 
of enactment of an amendment to this chapter may be retained, except that it 
shall not be: 
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(1) Enlarged, altered or rebuilt, except for repairs necessary to maintain the 
structure or building in a safe and sanitary condition. 
(2) Rebuilt, altered or repaired after damage or deterioration exceeding 75 
percent of its replacement cost at the time of destruction, except in conformity 
with this chapter. 
(3) Section 134-31 does not apply to signs. See section 134-311 et seq. 
(d) Continuance of nonconforming lot size. Any lot which is deficient 
pertaining to minimum lot size may be granted a permit for a principal structure, 
accessory structure or building addition, consistent with the other underlying 
zoning district requirements, if the Zoning Division Manager is provided with 
documentation that demonstrates the lot size deficiency was caused by purchase 
or condemnation by an entity which has the power of eminent domain, or the 
condition existed prior to December 26, 1972,  
(d)  (e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to allow a use that is 
dangerous to the general public to continue to exist. This section shall also not 
be construed to not require changes to buildings or structures to comply with 
any fire code, life safety code or other safety ordinance or regulation. 
(e) To protect the public from inconsistent zoning requirements and to make 
nonconforming uses as consistent with conforming uses as possible, 
nonconforming uses must comply with zoning requirements such as parking, 
landscaping, setback, outside storage, screening or buffering requirements for 
the zoning district or use which does not substantially impact the nonconforming 
use or nonconforming structure. 
(Ord. of 12-26-72; Ord. of 12-11-90, § 3-28-12.0; Ord. of 10-27-92; Ord. of 6-
24-97 (eff. 7-1-97); Ord. of 2-9-99) 
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DIVISION 4.  REZONING OR LAND USE PERMIT APPLICATIONS 
Sec. 134-121.  Generally. 
(a) Prerequisites for processing…………. 
(3) Applications which have been publicly heard by either the planning 
commission or the board of commissioners and which have been withdrawn 
without right and without permission of a majority of the applicable board as set 
forth in subparagraph 134-121(d)(1) above shall be deemed a rejected 
application with prejudice. 
(e) Resubmission of rejected/deleted applications. 
(1) If an application for rezoning, land use permit or special land use permit is 
rejected or deleted to another zoning classification, then any portion of the same 
property may not again be considered for rezoning, land use permit or special 
land use permit for a period of 12 months from the date of the original board of 
commissioners' hearing. An applicant may reapply for rezoning to a more 
restrictive classification than the application previously denied, or denied without 
prejudice, following the expiration of six months in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 
36-66-5, as amended from time to time. 
 
(2) The board may only consider property for rezoning within the six-month 
time period in connection with settlement of litigation or pursuant to an order by 
a court of competent jurisdiction. The board shall advertise, post the property, 
and conduct another public hearing prior to taking such action. 
(Ord. of 12-26-72; Ord. of 12-11-90, § 3-28-8.1; Ord. of 8-13-91; Ord. of 1-11-
94; Ord. of 6-24-97 (eff. 7-1-97); Ord. of 12-9-97 (eff. 1-1-98); Ord. of 2-8-00; 
Ord. of 1-25-05) 
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Sec. 134-126.  Site plan/stipulation amendments. 
On any rezoning which is conditioned upon a site plan, proposed minor 
modifications which do not alter or conflict with the basic intent of the plan may 
be approved by the zoning division manager after presentation and approval by 
the board of commissioners at any regularly scheduled meeting or hearing. Also, 
on any rezoning which is conditioned upon a stipulation or stipulations, proposed 
minor amendments to the specific and limited to stipulations (identified prior to a 
regularly scheduled meeting or hearing) which do not alter or conflict with the 
basic intent of the rezoning on which they apply may be approved by the zoning 
division manager after, first, determination by the board of commissioners that 
the amendments are minor and, second, approval of the amendments by the 
board of commissioners at any regularly scheduled meeting or hearing. All other 
modifications must be advertised and rezoned in accordance with the provisions 
set forth in this division. 
(Ord. of 12-26-72; Ord. of 12-11-90, § 3-28-8.8; Ord. of 1-11-94; Ord. of 9-26-
95) 
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Sec. 134-217.  PVC planned village community district. 
Commencing January 1, 1998, no new applications for a Special Land Use Permit 
for Self-service Storage Facilities (SSSF) are to be accepted by the board of 
commissioners. The regulations for the PVC planned village community district 
are as follows: 
(1) Purpose and intent. The PVC district is established to provide locations 
and encourage flexible site plans and building arrangements under a unified plan 
of development rather than lot-by-lot regulation for retail commercial and service 
uses which are designed and oriented to be self-sufficient neighborhoods making 
up a community. The developer benefits from better land utilization and 
economy in the provision of roads and utilities and overall site design. Projects 
developed within a PVC district should be designed to compact unified retail 
centers within the center of the community. Projects developed within a PVC 
district should occupy a quadrant of an intersection and only have ingress and 
egress from a major or collector street or state highway which is delineated 
within any land use category other than industrial or industrial compatible as 
defined and shown on the Cobb County Comprehensive Plan: A Policy Guide, 
adopted November 27, 1990. Additionally, the desired quadrant location will 
provide for planned developments and one-destination shopping and service 
locations to serve the community, and will minimize traffic congestion. 
(2) Definitions. The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this 
section, shall have the meanings ascribed to them in this subsection, except 
where the context clearly indicates a different meaning: 
a. Clinic. A medical or dental clinic is an organization of specializing 
physicians or dentists, or both, who have their offices in a common building. A 
clinic shall include laboratory facilities in conjunction with normal clinic services. 
b. Community fair means a festival or fair such as the North Georgia State 
Fair conducted wholly within public areas owned by a local government, provided 
that any activity is conducted at least 200 feet from any property line. Any event 
shall not exceed 21 days. 
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Sec. 134-228.  RRC regional retail commercial district. 
Commencing January 1, 1998, no new applications for a Special Land Use Permit 
for Self-Service Storage Facilities (SSSF) are to be accepted by the board of 
commissioners. The regulations for the RRC regional retail commercial district 
are as follows: 
(1) Purpose and intent. The RRC district is established to provide locations for 
intense retail commercial, office or mixed uses which exceed 500,000 net square 
feet and which are designed and oriented to serve a regional market making up 
a community. Projects developed within the RRC district should be done so as 
compact unified centers. Ideally, projects developed within the RRC district 
should occupy an area adjacent to or having good access to interstate highways, 
which is delineated within a regional activity center as defined and shown on the 
Cobb County Comprehensive Plan: A Policy Guide, adopted November 27, 1990. 
Additionally, the board of commissioners require an applicant seeking an RRC 
zoning district to participate in the Atlanta Regional Commission's Major 
Development Area review, as amended from time to time. 
(2) Definitions. The following words, terms and phrases, when used in this 
section, shall have the meanings ascribed to them in this subsection, except 
where the context clearly indicates a different meaning:…………… 
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Sec. 134-272.  Traffic and parking. 
Each use shall meet the following requirements: 
(1) Street access generally……. 
c. Surfacing. The parking of any vehicle on any lot in any district other than 
a surface treated and hardened with concrete, asphalt, tar and gravel mix, or the 
like, to accommodate such vehicle, is prohibited except as provided in this 
section. (All tires of vehicle must be on hardened surface.) The required number 
of surface treated and hardened parking spaces for any use or number of 
separate uses may be reduced via an administrative variance per 134-35, if: a) 
the reduced number of spaces is provided on pervious surface; or: b) 
documentation is submitted and approved by community development staff that 
indicates a reduced number of spaces is sufficient for the use or combination of 
uses provided that the area remains in a natural state or is landscaped. This 
reduction shall not allow for any increase in square footage of any use or number 
of separate uses. In addition, parking of vehicles within the front yard setback or 
in front of the principal building line in an R district shall be prohibited except on 
a hardened surface with concrete, asphalt, tar and gravel mix, or the like, 
driveway or in a carport or garage. (For the purpose of this section only, the use 
of concrete blocks, pavers, runners or the like, used as a treated and hardened 
surface, must be installed permanent and not loosely on top of the ground.) 
installed flush with the ground and capable of supporting all vehicle/equipment 
tires without driving onto or over an unapproved parking surface. 
 
d. Required spaces. The number of parking spaces or area required for a 
particular use shall be as follows:……………. 
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134-286 MABLETON FORM BASED REDEVELOPMENT 
GENERAL PROCEDURES 

134.286.1.1 INTENT  
134.286.1.1.1 The intent and purpose of this Section is to enable and 

encourage the implementation of the following policies: 
134.286.1.1.2 THE COUNTY 

a. That the county should retain its natural infrastructure and 
visual character.  

b. That growth strategies should encourage infill development 
in parity with the development of new communities. 

c. That development within or contiguous to urbanized areas 
should support Traditional Neighborhood Development 
(TND) or Regional Corridor Development (RCD) patterns.  

d. That development non-contiguous to urbanized areas should 
be organized in the pattern of Consolidated Argiculture 
Settlement (CAS), Clustered Land Development (CLD) , 
TND, or RCD. 

e. That affordable housing should be distributed throughout the 
region to balance jobs and to avoid concentrations of 
poverty. 

f. That transportation corridors should be planned and 
reserved in coordination with land use. 

g. That green corridors should be used to define and connect 
the urbanized areas. 

h. That the county should include a framework of transit, 
pedestrian, and bicycle systems that provide alternatives to 
the automobile. 

134.286.1.1.3 THE COMMUNITY 
a. That compact, pedestrian-oriented and mixed use 

development should be enabled as a pattern of 
development. 

b. That ordinary activities of daily living should occur within 
walking distance of most dwellings, allowing independence 
to those who do not drive.   

c. That interconnected networks of thoroughfares should be 
designed to disperse traffic and reduce the length of vehicle 
trips. 

d. That a range of housing types, sizes and price levels should 
be provided to accommodate diverse ages and incomes. 
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e. That appropriate building densities and land uses should be 
provided within walking distance of transit stops. 

f. That civic, institutional, and commercial activity should be in 
downtowns, not isolated in remote single-use complexes. 

g. That schools should be sized and located to enable most 
children to walk or bicycle to them. 

h. That a range of open space, specifically parks, squares, and 
playgrounds should be distributed within neighborhoods and 
downtowns. 

134.286.1.1.4 THE BLOCK AND THE BUILDING 
a. That buildings and landscaping should be disciplined to 

contribute to the spatial definition of thoroughfares. 
b. That block structure should adequately accommodate 

automobiles while respecting the pedestrian and the spatial 
form of public areas.  

c. That the design of streets and buildings should reinforce safe 
environments, but not at the expense of accessibility. 

d. That architecture and landscape design should grow from 
local climate, topography, history, and building practice. 

e. That the architectural design of buildings should respond to 
climate through energy efficient methods.  

f. That civic buildings and public gathering places should be 
distributed to locations that reinforce community identity 
and support local governance. 

g. That civic buildings should be distinctive and appropriate to a 
role more important than the other buildings that constitute 
the fabric of the city. 

h. That the preservation and re-use of historic buildings should 
be facilitated. 

i. That the harmonious and orderly evolution of urban areas 
should be secured through regulating the form of buildings. 

134.286.1.1.5 THE TRANSECT 
a. That communities should provide meaningful choices in 

living arrangements as enabled by distinct physical 
environments.  

b. That the transect zone descriptions on Table 1 shall 
constitute the intent of this Code with regard to the general 
character of each of these environments. 

134.286.1.2 APPLICABILITY 
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134.286.1.2.1 Provisions of this Section are activated by “shall” or “are” when 
required, “should” when recommended, and “may” when 
optional.  

134.286.1.2.2 Provisions of this Section, when in conflict, shall take 
precedence over those of other codes, ordinances, regulations 
and standards except Chapter 54 (Fire Prevention and 
Protection) of the Cobb County Code; the Cobb County 
Commission approved International Building Code; International Fire 
Code; International Mechanical Code; International Plumbing Code; 
International Residential Code; National Electical Code; International 
Fuel Gas Code; International Energy Conservation Code; and 
International Property Management Code. 

134.286.1.2.3 The existing provisions of the Cobb County Code and Cobb County 

Development Standards shall continue to be applicable to issues 
not covered by this Section except where the existing local 
codes would be in conflict. 

134.286.1.2.4 Italicized terms used throughout this Section are be defined in 
Article 7 (Definitions & Synonyms). Article 7 contains regulatory 
language that is integral to this Section. Those terms not 
defined in Article 7 shall be accorded their commonly accepted 
meanings.  In the event of conflicts between these definitions 
and those of the existing local codes, those of this Section shall 
take precedence. 

134.286.1.2.5 The provisions of this Section or the numerical metrics of its 
tables, when in conflict with diagrams and illustrations, shall 
take precedence. 

134.286.1.3 APPROVALS PROCESS  
134.286.1.3.1 A Review Committee (RC)  shall process administratively 

applications and plans for proposed projects. 
134.286.1.3.2 An owner may request a variance or appeal a decision of the 

RC to the Board of Zoning Appeals. 

134.286.1.4  WARRANTS AND VARIANCES 
134.286.1.4.1 There are two types of deviations from the requirements of this 

Section: warrants and variances.  
134.286.1.4.2 A warrant shall permit a practice that is not consistent with a 

specific provision of this Section but is justified by the intent of 
134.286.1.1. The Warrant Committee (WC) shall have the 
authority to approve or disapprove administratively a request 
for a warrant pursuant to the procedures established by the RC. 
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134.286.1.4.3 A variance is any ruling on a deviation other than a warrant. 
Variances shall be granted only by the Board of Zoning Appeals. 

134.286.1.5  INCENTIVES 
134.286.1.5.1 To encourage the use of this Section, an incentives plan shall 

be established, referred to here as the Mableton Redevelopment 

Incentives Plan, which will need to be approved by the Cobb 
County Board of Commissioners and the Business Incentives 
Review Committee. Ideas to include in the incentives plan are 
set forth below: 
a. Applications under this Section shall be processed administratively 

by the RC rather than through public hearing. 
b. Cobb County shall reduce review fees by 40%.  
c. Cobb County may increase density by the subsidized transfer of 

development rights (TDR) if a TDR program is approved by the 
Board of Commissioners. 

d.  Cobb County shall  maintain those internal thoroughfares that 
through-connect to adjacent sites. 

e. Cobb County shall consider the provision of tax relief to first-time 
buyers of dwellings and newly created businesses within Zones 
T4, T5 and T6. 

134.286.1.5.2 To encourage the provision of affordable housing under this 
Section, an affordable housing element shall be included in the 
Mableton Redevelopment Incentives Plan, to incentivize 
development as set forth below: 
a. The minimum threshold of affordable housing eligible for 

affordable housing incentives is 30% of housing units 
developed per application.  

b. Applications containing affordable housing shall be processed 
with priority over others, including those with earlier filing 
dates, providing that other applications are not pushed past 
their deadlines. 

c. Cobb County shall waive review fees. 
d. Maximum density shall be adjusted upwards by a factor of 

1.3. 
134.286.1.5.3 To encourage walkability and shared parking required parking 

for areas within the Mableton Form-based Redevelopment shall 
be adjusted downward by a factor of 0.8. 

134.286.1.6 AMENDMENTS 
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134.286.1.6.1 There are two types of amendments available for this Section, 
amendments to the regulating plan and amendments to the 
metrics of this Section. Amendments may be permitted, 
provided they are consistent with the intent of this Section and 
adhere to the regulations of Section 134.286.1.6. All 
Amendments to the regulating plan and metrics of this section 
shall be approved by Board of Commissioners. 

134.286.1.6.2 Amendments to this Section shall be considered once per year 
on a date specified by the Community Development Agency. 
Modifications to the regulating plan and metrics, including 
changes in transect zone assignments may not be considered 
outside of this period.  

134.286.1.6.3 The Community Development Agency may have prepared on 
its behalf amendments to the regulating plan, subject to the 
approval of the legislative body. Amendments shall adhere to 
the following: 
a. Transect zone boundaries may be modified provided they 

adhere to the following allocation allowances for the 
community unit. 
i. TND 

T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

max. 20% max. 50% 30-80% 10-30% N/A N/A 

ii. RCD  

T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

N/A N/A max. 50% 10-50% 30-80% N/A 

b. Transect zone boundary modifications shall be limited to a 
single increase in zone: T3 to T4, T4 to T5, and T5 to T6. 

c.  The thoroughfare network plan may be modified provided 
the following: 
i.  The thoroughfare network shall define blocks not exceeding the 

following perimeter lengths, measured as the sum of lot frontage 
lines.   

T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

N/A N/A 3000 ft 2400 ft 1800 ft 2000 ft 
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ii. All thoroughfares shall terminate at other thoroughfares in 
intersections, forming a network. 

iii. Modifications to the thoroughfare network may not reduce the 
overall network grid density, calculated in terms of links and nodes. 

iv. The link to node ratio should remain above 1.4.  
d. Civic zone boundaries and allocation may be modified by 

expansion to up to 20% of a community unit or reduction to 
no less than 5% of a community unit. 

e.  Special Requirement assignments may be modified. 
Mandatory retail, gallery, and arcade frontages are only 
available for T5 and T6. 

f.  A transit overlay district should be assigned to land in 
proximity to rail transit and bus rapid transit (BRT) stations. 

134.286.1.6.4 The Community Development Agency, through a process of 
public consultation, may modify the metrics of this Section in 
the following ways: 
a. Maximum allocation allowances may be modified for 

increases in T4 and T5 allocations. Minimum allocations for 
T4 and T5 may not be reduced. 

b.  Maximum density ratios may be increased for T4, T5, and 
T6. Increases may not exceed 5 units per gross acre for any 
transect zone, per adjustment. 

c.  Maximum density ratios may be reduced through a process 
of public hearing available every 20 years. Decreases may 
not exceed 5 units per gross acre for any transect zone, per 
adjustment. 

d.  Parking requirements, in Tables 5D and 5F and 6D and 6F, 
may be adjusted downwards. 

e. Building setback requirements may be modified except for 
minimum front setbacks in T5 and T6. Building setback 
modifications shall apply to the entire transect zone. 

f. Building height maximum may be increased for T4, T5, and 
T6 zones. Building height modifications may be available 
every 5 years. Building height modifications shall apply to 
the entire transect zone and be limited to a maximum 
increase of 2 stories per adjustment. 
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g.  Specific functions and uses, Table 5E and 6E, may be 
modified by specifying new uses, and allowing or restricting 
listed uses. Multi-family residential, inns, office buildings, 
live-work units, restaurants, and retail buildings may not be 
restricted in T4, T5, and T6. 

134.286.1.6.5 An amendment process and application shall be established by 
the Community Development Agency. 

134.286.1.6.6 Individual properties may be granted the following exceptions 
provided they provide benefits to the County as listed below. 
a. Increase in maximum density ratio, no greater than than 10 

units per gross acre above the existing maximum in T4, T5, 
and T6. 

b.  Increase in maximum building height, no greater than 2 
stories above the existing maximum in T4, T5, and T6. 

c.  Increase in transect zone, no greater than 1 transect zone 
above the existing. Modifications shall adhere to Section 
134.286.1.6.3.a.  

d. Those properties granted the above exceptions shall provide 
one or more of the following benefits: 
i.  15% of total dwelling units maintained as affordable housing 
ii.  All buildings constructed rated LEED gold or platinum 
iii.  Public space, dedicated in an easement or deeded to the county, in 

the form of a park, green, square, plaza, or playground. 
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134.286.2 TRADITIONAL NEIGHBORHOOD DEVELOPMENT (TND) STANDARDS 

134.286.2.1 INTENT 
134.286.1.1.1 In accordance with the intent of this Section, 134-286.5 

regulates the development and modification of buildings and 
other elements of the built environment within the private lot, 
based on the following premises: 
a. That building regulations should equitably balance the rights 

of the individual and the interests of the community as a 
whole. 

b. That building form individually and collectively defines and 
supports the public realm. 

c. That building configuration should support walkability, safe 
streets, and safe public spaces, creating pedestrian friendly 
neighborhoods. 

d. That building scale should define streets and public spaces 
as rooms, and should vary by context and intensity in 
coordination with neighboring properties. 

134.286.2.2 INSTRUCTIONS 
134.286.1.2.1 This Article sets forth the standards applicable to the 

development and modification of buildings and other elements 
of the built environment within private lots, by transect zone, in 
the community units to which it applies. 

134.286.1.2.2 Plans required by this Section are subject to administrative 
approval by the RC. 

134.286.1.2.3 Building and site plans submitted for approval shall 
demonstrate compliance with: 
a. Density calculations (Section 134.286.5.3) 

b. Transit overlay district (Section 134.286.5.4) 

c. Lot standards (Section 134.286.5.5) 
d. Building disposition (Section 134.286.5.6) 
e. Building configuration (Section 134.286.5.7) 

f. Frontage standards (Section 134.286.5.8) 
g. Building function (Sections 134.286.5.9) 
h. Parking standards (Section 134.286.5.10) 
i. Landscape standards (Section 134.286.5.11) 
j. Signage standards (Section 134.286.5.12) 
k. Nonconformities, if any (Section 134.286.5.13) 
l. Special requirements, if any (Section 134.286.5.14) 
m. Building materials and configuration (Section 134.286.5.15) 
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n. Supplementary standards (Section 134.286.5.16) 

134.286.2.3 DENSITY CALCULATIONS  
134.286.1.3.1 The base density of each lot shall be calculated in terms of 

housing units per acre of gross lot area, including the net lot 
area and the area of adjacent thoroughfares, alleys and 
passages between lot lines and centerlines. 
a. Base density shall be limited to the following maximum 

density ratios:    

T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

N/A 

8 units / 
gross acre 

(1 unit / 
5445 sf lot 

area) 

24 units per 
1 acre gross 

56 units per 
1 acre gross 

N/A N/A 

 
b. The minimum allowable maximum density of each lot shall 

be 1 unit. Fractional remainders greater than one half shall 
be rounded upwards. 

c. Housing in outbuildings shall not count towards base density. 
d. Maximum density may be modified by transit overlay district 

(TOD) according to Section 134.286.5.4. 
134.286.1.3.2 Building functions other than housing (other functions) shall 

count towards base density as follows: 
a. Other functions shall be counted as housing units at the 

following ratios: 
i. For lodging: 1 housing unit per 3 lodging bedrooms 
ii. For office: 1 housing unit per 1500 square feet of office 
iii. For retail: 1 housing unit per 2000 square feet of retail 

b. The number of housing units per lot assigned to other 
functions shall be limited to the following percentages of the 
allowable maximum density. 

T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

N/A 20% 30% 70% 80% N/A 

134.286.2.4 TRANSIT OVERLAY DISTRICT 
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134.286.1.4.1 Any part of an infill community unit located within a half-mile of 
an existing or projected rail transit or bus rapid transit (BRT) 
station shall be mapped as a transit overlay district (TOD) and 
the provisions of this Section modified as follows. 

134.286.1.4.2 The maximum density of transect zones within the transit 
overlay district shall be increased in the following amounts: 
a. 80% for land within 660 feet of the station 
b. 60% for land within 1,320 feet of the station 
c. 40% for land within 2,640 feet of the station 

134.286.1.4.3 Required parking within the transit overlay district shall be 
modified as follows: 
a. Land within 660 feet of the station may be exempted from 

required parking. 
b. The effective parking provided for land within 1,320 feet of 

the station may be adjusted upward by a multiplier of 1.5. 
C. The effective parking provided for land within 2,640 feet of 

the station may be adjusted upward by a multiplier of 1.2. 

134.286.2.5 LOT STANDARDS 
134.286.1.5.1 For the purposes of this Section, each lot shall be composed of 

three layers according to Table 5B. 
134.286.1.5.2 The portion of a lot enfronting a thoroughfare or a passage 

shall be designated its principal frontage. Corner lots shall have 
designated a principal frontage along the thoroughfare or 
passage of higher pedestrian importance and a secondary 
frontage along the remaining frontage. Lots, other than corner 
lots, enfronting more than one thoroughfare or passage shall 
have their frontages determined by warrant and may be 
subject to more than one principal frontage. 

134.286.1.5.3 Any portion of a lot mapped with a mandatory or 
recommended infill thoroughfare shall consider the new right-
of-way as an access easement. Right-of-ways of mandatory or 
recommended infill thoroughfares may qualify as frontages. 
The planning office may determine a discretionary 
thoroughfare designation as an easement and frontage. 

134.286.1.5.4 Newly platted lots, subdivisions of existing lots and newly 
assembled lots shall not exceed the following lot widths as 
measured along their principal frontage: 
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T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

by warrant 
54 ft. min 
260 ft max 

18 ft min 
120 ft max 

14 ft min 
180 ft max 

N/A N/A 

134.286.1.5.5 Lots assembled into one ownership within one transect zone 
may be developed as a single lot. 

134.286.1.5.6 Lots assembled into one ownership that encompass more than 
one transect zone shall be developed according to the 
corresponding transect zone regulations for each lot. In such 
cases there shall be no transfer of density or use between 
transect zones. 

134.286.1.5.7 Where lots are assembled into one ownership, the side or rear 
setbacks between assembled lots may be eliminated. 

134.286.1.5.8 An existing lot, as of the effective date of this Section, that 
exceeds the maximum lot size as set forth in 134.286.5.5.4 
may be developed as one lot. 

134.286.1.5.9 An existing lot, as of the effective date of this Section, that has 
been assigned more than one transect zone, may be developed 
as one lot according to the highest transect zone regulation 
assigned. Such lots may be subdivided per Section 
134.286.5.5.4 according to the corresponding transect zone 
regulations as assigned within the lot. 

134.286.1.5.10 Lot coverage by buildings shall not exceed the 
maximum percentages by transect zone in Table 5B. 

134.286.2.6 BUILDING DISPOSITION 

134.286.1.6.1 Building disposition in T2 shall be determined by warrant. 
134.286.1.6.2 Buildings shall be disposed on a lot as follows: 

a. Buildings should be generally disposed by transect zone 
according to Table 5A. 

b. Two buildings may be built on each lot, one principal 
building at the principal frontage, and one outbuilding. 

c. The facade of the principal building shall be built parallel to a 
rectilinear principal frontage line or to the tangent of a 
curved principal frontage line. 

d. The facade of the principal building shall occupy a minimum 
percentage of the principal frontage width within the front 
setback, as specified in Table 5B as frontage buildout. 
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e. The principal entrance in T5 and T6 shall be on a frontage 
line.  Forecourts and recessed stoops that recess the 
principal entrance from the frontage line are permitted. 

134.286.1.6.3 Buildings shall be setback from the boundaries of their lots by 
transect zone according to Table 5B. 
a. The rear setback for outbuildings shall be a minimum of 15 

feet measured from the centerline of the alley. In the 
absence of an alley, the rear setback shall be as shown in 
Table 5B. 

b. Front setback requirements may be modified by warrant to 
accommodate slopes over ten percent. 

134.286.2.7 BUILDING CONFIGURATION   
134.286.1.7.1 Building height shall be measured in stories for each level 

above-ground. Stories may not exceed 14 feet in height. 
134.286.1.7.2 Ground floor commercial functions shall have a minimum story 

height of 11 feet and a maximum of 25 feet. A single floor level 
exceeding 18 feet at ground level shall be counted as two (2) 
stories. 

134.286.1.7.3 Ground floor residential or lodging functions should be raised a 
minimum of 2 feet from average sidewalk grade at the principal 
frontage. 
a. Access to accessory units in raised basements and upper 

floor residential uses in mixed-use buildings may be at 
sidewalk grade. 

134.286.1.7.4 Height limits do not apply to attics or raised basements, masts, 
belfries, clock towers, chimney flues, water tanks, or elevator 
bulkheads. 

134.286.1.7.5 For free standing parking structures, building height shall be 
measured in feet according to Table 5B. 

134.286.1.7.6 For parking structures attached to a building or buildings for at 
least 50% of their perimeter, stories may exceed the limit for 
parking structure height provided they not exceed the eave 
height of the attached building or buildings. 

134.286.1.7.7 The habitable area of an accessory unit within a principal building 
or an outbuilding shall not exceed 600 square feet.  

134.286.2.8 FRONTAGE STANDARDS 
134.286.2.8.1 PRIVATE FRONTAGES GENERAL 

a. The first lot layer shall contain the private frontage, 
configured by transect zone according to Table 5C. 
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b. Lots enfronting two or more thoroughfares or passages shall 
have private frontages along each thoroughfare. 
Prescriptions for the second and third layers pertain only to 
the principal frontage. Prescriptions for the first layer pertain 
to all frontages. 

c. Balconies and bay windows may encroach into the first lot 
layer up to 25% of its depth in T3, 50% in T4 and 100% in 
T5. 

d. Loading docks and service areas may be permitted in T5 on 
frontages by warrant. 

e. In the absence of a building facade along any part of a 
frontage line in T5, a streetscreen shall be built coplanar 
with the facade. Streetscreens shall be between 4 and 8 feet 
in height and have openings no larger than necessary to 
allow automobile and pedestrian access. 

f. Ground floor commercial functions shall provide a shopfront 
frontage at minimum. 

134.286.2.8.2 COMMON YARD AND PORCH AND FENCE FRONTAGES 
a. Fences and hedges may be located along frontage lines at 

porch and fence frontages. Fences and hedges at frontages 
shall be limited to a maximum height of 4 feet. 

b. Porches may encroach into the first lot layer up to 50% of its 
depth in T3 and 100% of its depth in T4. 

c. Porches shall be no less than 8 feet deep in T3 and 4 feet 
deep in T4. 

134.286.2.8.3 TERRACE AND LIGHTWELL FRONTAGES 
a. Terrace and lightwell frontages may encroach into the first 

lot layer up to 100% of its depth. 
b. Terraces should be raised a minimum of 18 inches from the 

average sidewalk grade at the frontage. 
134.286.2.8.4 FORECOURT FRONTAGES 

a. Forecourts shall be combined with terrace, lightwell, stoop, 
shopfront, gallery, or arcade frontages. 

b. Forecourts may recess from the frontage line a maximum of 
15 feet for pedestrian forecourts or a maximum of 30 feet for 
vehicular forecourts. 

c. Vehicular forecourts may not be paved in asphalt and should 
be designed in coordination with the public frontage. 
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d. Driveways within forecourts shall be limited to 20 feet in 
width. Portions of the driveway in the public frontage shall 
be limited to 12 feet and may be paved in stone, brick, 
cobble, or to match the adjacent public frontage. 

134.286.2.8.5 STOOP FRONTAGES 
a. Stoops may encroach into the first lot layer up to 100% of 

its depth. 
b. Stoops my be recessed into the building facade where the 

front setback is less than 4 feet. 
134.286.2.8.6 SHOPFRONT FRONTAGES 

a. Shopfronts may be freestanding or combined with gallery or 
arcade frontages. 

b. Shopfronts shall be glazed with clear glass for no less than 
70% of the ground floor at principal and secondary 
frontages. 

c. Awnings may encroach into the first lot layer up to 100% of 
its depth and may encroach into the public frontage to 
within two feet of the curb. 

d. Awnings that encroach into the public frontage shall provide 
a minimum 6 foot wide clear path and project horizontally 
from the facade a minimum of 8 feet. 

e. Awnings may be fixed or movable and shall span a minimum 
of 80% of the frontage width without gaps. 

134.286.2.8.7 GALLERY FRONTAGES 
a. Gallery frontages shall provide a minimum 6 foot wide 

walkway and should encroach into the public frontage to 
within two feet of the curb. 

b. Galleries shall provide a minimum vertical clearance of 9 feet 
and project horizontally from the facade  a minimum of 10 

feet. 
c. Public planting and public lighting may be omitted where 

galleries encroach into the public frontage. 
d. A gallery frontage may be combined with a shopfront. 

134.286.2.9 BUILDING FUNCTION 
a. Buildable density and intensity of use shall be determined by 

transect zone on a per lot basis by the effective parking 
provided and the maximum density allowable in the 
community unit.  
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b. Building use shall be limited to the allowable building 
functions and specific functions by transect zone according 
to Tables 5D and 5E. 

c. Permitted commercial functions other than office and lodging 
shall be limited to the ground floor. Units accessed by a 
lightwell frontage in T5 may be permitted a commercial 
function in the basement level in addition to the area 
located on the ground floor. 

d. Manufacturing functions permitted in Table 5E may be 
located in outbuildings by right and in principal buildings by 
warrant. 

134.286.2.10 PARKING STANDARDS  
134.286.2.10.1 PARKING REQUIREMENTS 

a. Parking requirements shall be determined by use and 
transect zone according to Tables 5D and 5F. 
i.    Accessory units shall be exempt from parking requirements. 
ii. Liner buildings less than 30 feet deep and no more than two stories 

shall be exempt from parking requirements. 
b. Parking provided shall include the actual parking spaces 

provided within the lot and along the parking lane 
corresponding to lot frontages. 

c. The required parking may be adjusted downward according 
to the shared parking table in Table 6F.  Shared parking may 
be applied as follows: 
i.   The shared parking table is available for two or more functions 

within a single lot or within one block provided a shared parking 
facility as designated in 134.286.5.10.1.d. 

ii. The adjusted required parking resulting from the shared parking 
table shall be calculated as the highest shared parking requirement 
resulting from the completed shared parking table. 

d. In T4 , and T5, 100% of the required parking may be 
provided off-site by purchase or lease from a civic parking 
reserve or private parking lot or structure within 800 feet of 
the lot. 

134.286.2.10.2 PARKING ACCESS 
a. Parking shall be accessed by alleys or rear lanes where 

available. 
b. Garages may be accessed by driveways from the principal 

frontage or secondary frontage by right in T3 and by 
warrant in T4. 
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c. Driveways shall be limited to 10 feet in width in the first lot 
layer. Portions of driveways in the first lot layer may not be 
used for parking. 

d. Vehicular entrances to parking lots and parking structures 
shall be no wider than 24 feet at the frontage. 

e. Pedestrian access to parking lots and parking structures shall 
be directly to a frontage line, not directly into a building, 
except for underground parking levels. 

 
 

134.286.2.10.3 Parking Location 
a. Garages shall be located at the third lot layer. 
b. Parking lots and parking structures shall be located in the 

third lot layer. 
c. Parking lots and parking structures shall be prohibited in T3. 
d. Unpaved parking areas may be located within the first lot 

layer by warrant. 
134.286.2.10.4 Physical Requirements 

a. Parking lots shall be masked from the frontage by a building 
or streetscreen. 

b. Parking structures shall be masked by liner buildings at the 
first two stories. 

c. A minimum of one bicycle rack place shall be provided within 
the public or private frontage for every ten vehicular parking 
spaces. 

d. Curbing should not be installed in parking lots.  
e. For lots on B-Grids, open parking areas may be unmasked on the 

frontage and within the first lot layer and second lot layer by 

warrant, except for corner lots at intersections with the A-Grid. 

134.286.2.11  LANDSCAPE STANDARDS     
134.286.1.11.1 All planting in the private frontage and private lots shall consist of 

noninvasive species. 
134.286.1.11.2 One walkway no wider than 5 feet providing access the principal 

entrance shall be permitted at all frontages. 
a. Walkways should consist of pervious materials. 

134.286.1.11.3 Common yard and porch & fence frontages shall be landscaped as 
follows: 
a. A minimum of two trees shall be planted for each 30 feet of 

frontage line. 
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b. Native plant perennial landscapes should be used in place of turf 
grass. 

c. One driveway as specified in Section 5.8.1 shall be permitted. 
134.286.1.11.4 Stoop and forecourt frontages shall be landscaped as follows: 

a. Trees and shrubs shall not be required in the private frontage.  

Trees planted in the private frontage should match the species of 

trees in the public frontage. 
b. Landscaping, where installed, shall consist of durable species 

tolerant of soil compaction. 
c. Paving, where installed, shall match the public frontage except 

where paved with pervious materials. 
d. Driveways may be permitted by warrant at stoop frontages in 

T4. 

134.286.1.11.5 Shopfront, gallery, and arcade frontages shall be landscaped as 
follows: 
a. Trees and shrubs shall not be required in the private frontage. 
b. Landscaping, where installed, shall consist of durable species 

tolerant of soil compaction. 
c. The private frontage shall be paved to match the public 

frontage. 
134.286.1.11.6 Parking lots shall be landscaped as follows: 

a. One tree shall be planted for every 15 spaces. 
b. Paving should consist of pervious materials where possible. 
c. Landscaped areas should be placed lower than paving, not 

mounded up. 
d. Parking lots consisting of less than 50 spaces shall be exempt from 

landscaping requirements. 
 

134.286.2.12 SIGNAGE STANDARDS  
134.286.2.12.1 RESIDENTIAL FUNCTIONS 

One address number, no more than 6 INCHES measured vertically, 
may be attached to the building in proximity to the principal 
entrance or at a mailbox. Signage may be externally illuminated. 

134.286.2.12.2 COMMERCIAL FUNCTIONS 
a. Signage shall be externally illuminated, except that signage 

within the shopfront glazing may be neon lit. 
b. One blade sign for each ground floor business, no more than 

6 square feet each, may be permanently installed 
perpendicular to the facade. Blade signs shall clear 8 feet 
above the Sidewalk. Businesses on corner lots may install 
one blade sign per frontage. 
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c. One external permanent sign band may be applied to the 
facade of each building, not exceed 3 feet in height. 

d. Awnings may include signage in the form of text along the 
flap, no taller than 6 inches and text or graphics on the top, 
printed or applied to the fabric. 

E. One window sign for each business, no more than 9 square 
feet, may be installed within the store interior in neon tubing 
or applied directly to the glazing. Businesses on corner lots 
may install one window sign per frontage. Opaque 
signboards are prohibited. 

134.286.2.13 NONCONFORMITIES 
134.286.1.13.1 Existing buildings and appurtenances that do not 

conform with the provisions of this Section may continue in 
such use until a substantial modification is requested, at which 
time the RC shall determine the provisions of this section that 
shall apply. Substantial modifications and nonconformities 
exclude the following: 
a. Alterations made within a three year period of the adoption 

of this Section. 
b. Interior alterations to a single family residence retaining its 

existing use. 
134.286.1.13.2 The temporary or illegal use of property shall not be 

sufficient to establish the existence of a nonconformity or to 
create rights in the continuation of a nonconformity. 

134.286.1.13.3 The existence of a nonconformity shall not be used as 
a reason to add new uses, structures, or site improvements 
that are not allowed by the regulations of the transect zone in 
which it is located. 

134.286.1.13.4 Where buildings exist on adjacent lots, the RC may 
require that a proposed building match the setbacks and 
heights of adjacent buildings rather than the the provisions of 
this Section. 

134.286.1.13.5 Any addition to or modification of a property located on 
the Local Register of Historic Places shall be subject to approval 
by the Historic Preservation Commission prior to review by the RC. 

134.286.1.13.6 The modification of an existing building shall not 
require the provision of (a) parking in addition to that existing 
nor (b) on-site storm water detention or retention in addition to 
that existing.  
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134.286.2.14 SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS 
134.286.1.14.1 To the extent that a regulating plan designates any of 

the following special requirements, standards shall be applied 
as follows:  
a. Buildings along the B-Grid may be more readily considered 

for warrants allowing automobile-oriented standards.  
b. A mandatory or recommended retail frontage designation 

requires or advises that a building provide a shopfront at 
sidewalk level along the entire length of its private frontage.  
The shopfront may be combined with an awning, gallery, or 
arcade frontage. 

c. A mandatory or recommended gallery frontage designation 
requires or advises that a building provide a gallery frontage 
along the entire length of its private frontage. 

d. A mandatory or recommended arcade frontage designation 
requires or advises that a building provide a arcade frontage 
along the entire length of its private frontage. 

e. A mandatory or recommended porchfront designation 
requires or advises that a building provide a porch in the 
private frontage.      

f. A build-to line requires the placement of the building facade 
along the line. Forecourts may recess a building entrance 
from the build-to line. 

g. A coordinated frontage designation requires that the private 
frontage be coordinated with the public frontage as a single, 
coherent landscape and paving design. 

h. A mandatory or recommended terminated vista designation 
requires or advises that the building be provided with 
architectural articulation of a type and character that 
responds visually to its axial location, as approved by the RC.  

i. A cross block passage designation requires that a minimum 
8-foot-wide pedestrian access be reserved between buildings. 

J. A building of value designation requires that the building or 
structure may be altered or demolished only in accordance 
with Municipal Preservation Standards and Protocols. 

134.286.2.15 BUILDING MATERIALS AND CONFIGURATION 
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134.286.1.15.1 Where multiple exterior materials are used on a single 
building, they shall only be combined on each facade 
horizontally, with the heavier material below the lighter. 

134.286.1.15.2 Fences, walls, or other suitable visual screens a 
minimum of 6 feet in height shall be provided along side lot 
lines, except where both adjoining lot areas are used for 
surface parking, outdoor commercial uses or community 
gardens. Streetscreens shall be constructed of a material 
matching the adjacent building facade. 

134.286.1.15.3 Building mechanical equipment and refuse storage shall 
not be located along frontages. 

134.286.1.15.4 Clotheslines shall not be located along frontages. 
134.286.1.15.5 All openings, including porches, galleries, doors and 

windows, with the exception of shopfronts, shall be square or 
vertical in proportion. 
a. Doors and windows that operate as sliders are prohibited 

along frontages. Doors and windows that operate as sliders 
at shopfronts may be approved by warrant. 

b. Glazed openings above the first story shall not exceed 50% 
of the total building wall area, with each facade being 
calculated independently.  

c. Exterior shutters, if installed, shall be operable and sized to 
cover the entire window when closed. 

134.286.1.15.6 Finished floor elevation at the principal frontage of 
residential uses shall be twenty (20) inches minimum from the 
average sidewalk grade. 
a. Entrances to upper floor residential uses in mixed-use 

buildings may be at sidewalk grade. 
134.286.1.15.7 Porch floors shall be of wood plank, concrete slab, or 

stone. Synthetic materials are prohibited. 
134.286.1.15.8 Galleries may be supported by wrought iron or metal 

posts. 
134.286.1.15.9 Exterior finish may be wood or cementitious clapboard 

in T4 and T3. Stucco can only be used as an accent material in 
T5 and T6. Brick may be used in all t-zones.  
a. All exposed exterior wood shall be painted.  

134.286.1.15.10 Roofs shall be symmetrically pitched with a minimum 
angle 6 in 12. Low-slope (flat) roofs shall be permitted in T4 
and T5. 
a. Roofing material shall be high albedo. 
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b. Rooftop equipment shall be screened in a manner consistent 
with the architectural design of the building along frontages. 

134.286.1.15.11 Photo voltaic (PV) systems along frontages shall be 
flexible panel type or building integrated photo voltaic (BIPV), 
attached directly to the roofing material, PV roofing shingles, or 
other conducting system that applies directly to roofing 
material or sheathing with less than one half inch average 
vertical dimension or integrated into building shading devices. 

134.286.2.16 SUPPLEMENTARY STANDARDS 
a. Building and site plans shall be subject to additional 

regulations as indicated in the Mableton Lifelong Communities 

Overlay.  
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134.286.3  FORM-BASED BUILDING SCALE STANDARDS FOR MABLETON RCD 

134.286.3.1 INTENT 
134.286.1.1.1 In accordance with the intent of this Section, this Article 

regulates the development and modification of buildings and 
other elements of the built environment within the private lot, 
based on the following premises: 
a. That building regulations should equitably balance the rights 

of the individual and the interests of the community as a 
whole. 

b. That building form individually and collectively defines and 
supports the public realm. 

c. That building configuration should support walkability, safe 
streets, and safe public spaces, creating pedestrian friendly 
neighborhoods. 

d. That building scale should define streets and public spaces 
as rooms, and should vary by context and intensity in 
coordination with neighboring properties. 

134.286.3.2 INSTRUCTIONS 
134.286.1.2.1 This Article sets forth the standards applicable to the 

development and modification of buildings and other elements 
of the built environment within private lots, by transect zone, in 
the community units to which it applies. 

134.286.1.2.2 Plans required by this Section are subject to administrative 
approval by the RC. 

134.286.1.2.3 Building and site plans submitted for approval shall 
demonstrate compliance with: 
a. Density calculations (Section 134.286.6.3) 
b. Transit overlay district (Section 134.286.6.4) 
c. Lot standards (Section 134.286.6.5) 
d. Building disposition (Section 134.286.6.6) 
e. Building configuration (Section 134.286.6.7) 

f. Frontage standards (Section 134.286.6.8) 
g. Building function (Sections 134.286.6.9) 
h. Parking standards (Section 134.286.6.10) 
i. Landscape standards (Section 134.286.6.11) 
j. Signage standards (Section 134.286.6.12) 
k. Nonconformities, if any (Section 134.286.6.13) 
l. Special requirements, if any (Section 134.286.6.14) 

m. Building materials and configuration (Section 134.286.6.15) 
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n. Supplementary standards (Section 134.286.6.16) 

134.286.3.3 DENSITY CALCULATIONS  
134.286.1.3.1 The base density of each lot shall be calculated in terms of 

housing units per acre of gross lot area, including the net lot 
area and the area of adjacent thoroughfares, alleys and 
passages between lot lines and centerlines. 
a. Base density shall be limited to the following maximum 

density ratios: 

T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

N/A 
 

N/A 
 

N/A 
 

24 units / 
gross acre 
(1 unit / 
1815 sf lot 
area) 

56 units / 
gross acre 
(1 unit / 
778 sf lot 
area) 

80 units 
per 1 acre 
gross 
(1 unit / 
544 sf lot 
area) 

 
b. The minimum allowable maximum density of each lot shall 

be 1 unit. Fractional remainders greater than one half shall 
be rounded upwards. 

c. Housing in outbuildings shall not count towards base density. 
d. Maximum density may be modified by transit overlay district 

(TOD) according to Section 134.286.5.4. 
134.286.1.3.2 Building functions other than housing (other functions) shall 

count towards base density as follows: 
a. Other functions shall be counted as housing units at the 

following ratios: 
i. For lodging: 1 housing unit per 3 lodging bedrooms 
ii. For office: 1 housing unit per 1500 square feet of office 
iii. For retail: 1 housing unit per 2000 square feet of retail 

b. The number of housing units per lot assigned to other 
functions shall be limited to the following percentages of the 
allowable maximum density. 

T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

N/A N/A 30% 70% 80% N/A 

134.286.3.4 TRANSIT OVERLAY DISTRICT 
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134.286.1.4.1 Any part of an infill community unit located within a half-mile of 
an existing or programmed rail transit or bus rapid transit 
(BRT) station shall be mapped as a transit overlay district 
(TOD) and the provisions of this Section modified as follows. 

134.286.1.4.2 The maximum density of transect zones within the transit 
overlay district shall be increased in the following amounts: 
a. 80% for land within 660 feet of the station 
b. 60% for land within 1,320 feet of the station 
c. 40% for land within 2,640 feet of the station 

134.286.1.4.3 Required parking within the transit overlay district shall be 
modified as follows: 
a. Land within 660 feet of the station may be exempted from 

required parking. 
b. The effective parking provided for land within 1,320 feet of 

the station may be adjusted upward by a multiplier of 1.5. 
c. The effective parking provided for land within 2,640 feet of 

the station may be adjusted upward by a multiplier of 1.2. 

134.286.3.5  LOT STANDARDS 
134.286.1.5.1 For the purposes of this Section, each lot shall be composed of 

three layers according to Table 5B. 
134.286.1.5.2 The portion of a lot enfronting a thoroughfare or a passage 

shall be designated its principal frontage. Corner lots shall have 
designated a principal frontage along the thoroughfare or 
passage of higher pedestrian importance and a secondary 
frontage along the remaining frontage. Lots, other than corner 
lots, enfronting more than one thoroughfare or passage shall 
have their frontages determined by warrant and may be 
subject to more than one principal frontage. 

134.286.1.5.3 Any portion of a lot mapped with a mandatory or 
recommended infill thoroughfare shall consider the new right-
of-way as an access easement. Right-of-ways of mandatory or 
recommended infill thoroughfares may qualify as frontages. 
The planning office may determine a discretionary 
thoroughfare designation as an easement and frontage. 

134.286.1.5.4 Newly platted lots, subdivisions of existing lots and newly 
assembled lots shall not exceed the following lot widths as 
measured along their principal frontage: 
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T2 T3 T4 T5 T6 T1 

by warrant N/A 
14 ft min 
120 ft max 

14 ft min 
120 ft max 

14 ft min 
500 ft max 

N/A 

134.286.1.5.5 Lots assembled into one ownership within one transect zone 
may be developed as a single lot. 

134.286.1.5.6 Lots assembled into one ownership that encompass more than 
one transect zone shall be developed according to the 
corresponding transect zone regulations for each lot. In such 
cases there shall be no transfer of density or use between 
transect zones. 

134.286.1.5.7 Where lots are assembled into one ownership, the side or rear 
setbacks between assembled lots may be eliminated. 

134.286.1.5.8 An existing lot, as of the effective date of this Section, that 
exceeds the maximum lot size as set forth in Section 
134.286.6.3.4 may be developed as one lot. 

134.286.1.5.9 An existing lot, as of the effective date of this Section, that has 
been assigned more than one transect zone, may be developed 
as one lot according to the highest transect zone regulation 
assigned. Such lots may be subdivided per Section 
134.286.6.3.4 according to the corresponding transect zone 
regulations as assigned within the lot. 

134.286.1.5.10 Lot coverage by buildings shall not exceed the 
maximum percentages by transect zone in Table 6B. 

134.286.3.6 BUILDING DISPOSITION 
134.286.1.6.1 Buildings shall be disposed on a lot as follows: 

a. Buildings should be generally disposed by transect zone 
according to Table 6A. 

b. Two buildings may be built on each lot, one principal 
building at the principal frontage, and one outbuilding 
except in T6 which is limited to a principal building. 

c. The facade of the principal building shall be built parallel to a 
rectilinear principal frontage line or to the tangent of a 
curved principal frontage line. 

d. The facade of the principal building shall occupy a minimum 
percentage of the principal frontage width within the front 
setback, as specified in Table 6B as frontage buildout. 
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e. The principal entrance in T5 and T6 shall be on a frontage 
line.  Forecourts and recessed stoops that recess the 
principal entrance from the frontage line are permitted. 

134.286.1.6.2 Buildings shall be setback from the boundaries of their lots by 
transect zone according to Table 6B. 
a. The rear setback for outbuildings shall be a minimum of 15 

feet measured from the centerline of the alley. In the 
absence of an alley, the rear setback shall be as shown in 
Table 6B. 

b. Front setback requirements may be modified by warrant to 
accommodate slopes over ten percent. 

134.286.3.7 BUILDING CONFIGURATION   
134.286.1.7.1 Building height shall be measured in stories for each level 

above-ground. Stories may not exceed 14 feet in height. 
134.286.1.7.2 Ground floor commercial functions shall have a minimum story 

height of 11 feet and a maximum of 25 feet. A single floor level 
exceeding 18 feet at ground level shall be counted as two (2) 
stories. 

134.286.1.7.3 Ground floor residential or lodging functions should be raised a 
minimum of 2 feet from average sidewalk grade at the principal 
frontage.  
a. Access to accessory units in raised basements and upper 

floor residential uses in mixed-use buildings may be at 
sidewalk grade. 

134.286.1.7.4 Height limits do not apply to attics or raised basements, masts, 
belfries, clock towers, chimney flues, water tanks, or elevator 
bulkheads. 

134.286.1.7.5 For free standing parking structures, building height shall be 
measured in feet according to Table 6B. 

134.286.1.7.6 For parking structures attached to a building or buildings for at 
least 50% of their perimeter, stories may exceed the limit for 
parking structure height provided they not exceed the eave 
height of the attached building or buildings. 

134.286.1.7.7 The habitable area of an accessory unit within a principal building 
or an outbuilding shall not exceed 600 square feet. 

134.286.3.8 FRONTAGE STANDARDS 
134.286.3.8.1 PRIVATE FRONTAGES GENERAL 

a. The first lot layer shall contain the private frontage, 
configured by transect zone according to Table 6C. 
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b. Lots enfronting two or more thoroughfares or passages shall 
have private frontages along each thoroughfare. 
Prescriptions for the second and third layers pertain only to 
the principal frontage. Prescriptions for the first layer pertain 
to all frontages. 

c. Balconies and bay windows may encroach into the first lot 
layer up to 60% in T4 and 100% in T5 and T6. 

d. Loading docks and service areas may be permitted in T5 and 
T6 on frontages by warrant. 

e. In the absence of a building facade along any part of a 
frontage line in T5 or T6, a streetscreen shall be built 
coplanar with the facade. Streetscreens shall be between 6 
and 8 feet in height and have openings no larger than 
necessary to allow automobile and pedestrian access. 

f. Ground floor commercial functions shall provide a shopfront 
frontage at minimum. 

134.286.3.8.2 PORCH AND FENCE FRONTAGES 
a. Hedges and masonry walls may be located along frontage 

lines and shall be limited to a maximum height of 8 feet. 
b. Porches may encroach into the first lot layer up to 100% of 

its depth. 
c. Porches shall be no less than 4 feet deep. 

134.286.3.8.3 TERRACE AND LIGHTWELL FRONTAGES 
a. Terrace and lightwell frontages may encroach into the first 

lot layer up to 100% of its depth. 
b. Terraces should be raised a minimum of 18 inches from the 

average sidewalk grade at the frontage. 
134.286.3.8.4 FORECOURT FRONTAGES 

a. Forecourts shall be combined with terrace, lightwell, stoop, 
shopfront, gallery, or arcade frontages. 

b. Forecourts may recess from the frontage line a maximum of 
15 feet for pedestrian forecourts or a maximum of 30 feet for 
vehicular forecourts. 

c. Vehicular forecourts may not be paved in asphalt and should 
be designed in coordination with the public frontage. 

d. Driveways within forecourts shall be limited to 20 feet in 
width. Portions of the driveway in the public frontage shall 
be limited to 12 feet and may be paved in stone, brick, 
cobble, or to match the adjacent public frontage. 

134.286.3.8.5 STOOP FRONTAGES 
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a. Stoops may encroach into the first lot layer up to 100% of 
its depth. 

b. Stoops my be recessed into the building facade where the 
front setback is less than 4 feet. 

134.286.3.8.6 SHOPFRONT FRONTAGES 
a. Shopfronts may be freestanding or combined with gallery or 

arcade frontages. 
b. Shopfronts shall be glazed with clear glass for no less than 

70% of the ground floor at principal and secondary 
frontages. 

c. Awnings may encroach into the first lot layer up to 100% of 
its depth and may encroach into the public frontage to 
within two feet of the curb. 

d. Awnings that encroach into the public frontage shall provide 
a minimum 8 foot wide clear path and project horizontally 
from the facade a minimum of 10 feet. 

e. Awnings may be fixed or movable and shall span a minimum 
of 80% of the frontage width without gaps. 

134.286.3.8.7 GALLERY AND ARCADE FRONTAGES 
a. Gallery and arcade frontages shall provide a minimum 10 foot 

wide walkway and should encroach into the public frontage 
to within two feet of the curb. 

b. Galleries and arcades shall provide a minimum vertical 
clearance of 9 feet and project horizontally from the facade  
a minimum of 10 feet. 

c. Public planting and public lighting may be omitted where 
galleries or arcades encroach into the public frontage. 

d. A gallery or arcade frontage may be combined with a 
shopfront. 

134.286.3.9 BUILDING FUNCTION 
a. Buildable density and intensity of use shall be determined by 

transect zone on a per lot basis by the effective parking 
provided and the maximum density allowable in the 
community unit.  

b. Building use shall be limited to the allowable building 
functions and specific functions by transect zone according 
to Tables 5D and 5E. 
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c. Permitted commercial functions other than office and lodging 
shall be limited to the ground floor. Units accessed by a 
lightwell frontage in T5 and T6 may be permitted a 
commercial function in the basement level in addition to the 
area located on the ground floor. 

d. Manufacturing functions permitted in Table 6E may be 
located in outbuildings by right and in principal buildings by 
warrant. 

134.286.3.10 PARKING STANDARDS  
134.286.3.10.1 PARKING REQUIREMENTS 

a. Parking requirements shall be determined by use and 
transect zone according to Tables 5D and 5F. 
i. Accessory units shall be exempt from parking requirements. 
ii. Liner buildings less than 30 feet deep and no more than two stories 

shall be exempt from parking requirements. 
b. Parking provided shall include the actual parking spaces 

provided within the lot and along the parking lane 
corresponding to lot frontages. 

c. The required parking may be adjusted downward according 
to the shared parking table in Table 6F.  Shared parking may 
be applied as follows: 
i. The shared parking table is available for two or more functions within 

a single lot or within one block provided a shared parking facility as 
designated in 134.286.6.10.1.d. 

ii. The adjusted required parking resulting from the shared parking 
table shall be calculated as the highest shared parking requirement 
resulting from the completed shared parking table. 

d. In T4 , T5, and T6, 100% of the required parking may be 
provided by purchase or lease from a civic parking reserve 
or private parking lot or structure within 800 feet of the lot. 

134.286.3.10.2 PARKING ACCESS 
a. Parking shall be accessed by alleys where available. 
b. Vehicular entrances to parking lots and parking structures 

shall be no wider than 24 feet at the frontage. 
c. Pedestrian access to parking lots and parking structures shall 

be directly to a frontage line, not directly into a building, 
except for underground parking levels. 

134.286.3.10.3 PARKING LOCATION 
a. Garages shall be located at the third lot layer. 
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b. Parking lots and parking structures shall be located in the 
third lot layer. 

134.286.3.10.4 PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS 
a. Parking lots shall be masked from the frontage by a building 

or streetscreen. 
b. Parking structures shall be masked by liner buildings at the 

first two stories. 
c. A minimum of one bicycle rack place shall be provided within 

the public or private frontage for every ten vehicular parking 
spaces. 

d. Curbing should not be installed in parking lots.  
e. For lots on B-Grids, open parking areas may be unmasked on the 

frontage and within the first lot layer and second lot layer by 

warrant, except for corner lots at intersections with the A-Grid. 

134.286.3.11  LANDSCAPE STANDARDS     
134.286.1.11.1 All planting in the private frontage and private lots shall consist of 

noninvasive species. 
134.286.1.11.2 One walkway no wider than 5 feet providing access the principal 

entrance shall be permitted at all frontages. 
a. Walkways should consist of pervious materials. 

134.286.1.11.3 Porch & fence frontages shall be landscaped as follows: 
a. A minimum of two trees shall be planted for each 30 feet of 

frontage line. 
b. Native plant perennial landscapes should be used in place of turf 

grass. 
134.286.1.11.4 Stoop and forecourt frontages shall be landscaped as follows: 

a. Trees and shrubs shall not be required in the private frontage.  

Trees planted in the private frontage should match the species of 

trees in the public frontage. 
b. Landscaping, where installed, shall consist of durable species 

tolerant of soil compaction. 
c. Paving, where installed, shall match the public frontage except 

where paved with pervious materials. 
134.286.1.11.5 Shopfront, gallery, and arcade frontages shall be landscaped as 

follows: 
a. Trees and shrubs shall not be required in the private frontage. 
b. Landscaping, where installed, shall consist of durable species 

tolerant of soil compaction. 
c. The private frontage shall be paved to match the public 

frontage. 
134.286.1.11.6 Parking lots shall be landscaped as follows: 
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a. One tree shall be planted for every 25 spaces. 
b. Paving should consist of pervious materials where possible. 
c. Landscaped areas should be placed lower than paving, not 

mounded up. 
d. Parking lots consisting of less than 50 spaces shall be exempt from 

landscaping requirements. 

134.286.3.12 SIGNAGE STANDARDS  
134.286.1.12.1 RESIDENTIAL FUNCTIONS 

One address number, no more than 6 inches measured 
vertically, may be attached to the building in proximity to the 
principal entrance or at a mailbox. Signage may be externally 
illuminated. 

134.286.3.12.2 COMMERCIAL FUNCTIONS 
a. Signage shall be externally illuminated, except that signage 

within the shopfront glazing may be neon lit. 
b. One blade sign for each ground floor business, no more than 

6 square feet each, may be permanently installed 
perpendicular to the facade. Blade signs shall clear 8 feet 
above the Sidewalk. Businesses on corner lots may install 
one blade sign per frontage. 

c. One external permanent sign band may be applied to the 
facade of each building, not exceed 3 feet in height. 

d. Awnings may include signage in the form of text along the 
flap, no taller than 6 inches and text or graphics on the top, 
printed or applied to the fabric. 

E. One window sign for each business, no more than 9 square 
feet, may be installed within the store interior in neon tubing 
or applied directly to the glazing. Businesses on corner lots 
may install one window sign per frontage. Opaque 
signboards are prohibited. 

134.286.3.13 NONCONFORMITIES 
134.286.1.13.1 Existing buildings and appurtenances that do not 

conform with the provisions of this Section may continue in 
such use until a substantial modification is requested, at which 
time the RC shall determine the provisions of this section that 
shall apply. Substantial modifications and nonconformities 
exclude the following: 
a. Alterations made within a three year period of the adoption 

of this Section. 
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b. Interior alterations to a single family residence retaining its 
existing use. 

134.286.1.13.2 The temporary or illegal use of property shall not be 
sufficient to establish the existence of a nonconformity or to 
create rights in the continuation of a nonconformity. 

134.286.1.13.3 The existence of a nonconformity shall not be used as 
a reason to add new uses, structures, or site improvements 
that are not allowed by the regulations of the transect zone in 
which it is located. 

134.286.1.13.4 Where buildings exist on adjacent lots, the RC may 
require that a proposed building match the setbacks and 
heights of adjacent buildings rather than the the provisions of 
this Section. 

134.286.1.13.5 Any addition to or modification of a property located on 
the Local Register of Historic Places shall be subject to approval 
by the Historic Preservation Commission prior to review by the RC. 

134.286.1.13.6 The modification of an existing building shall not 
require the provision of (a) parking in addition to that existing 
nor (b) on-site storm water detention or retention in addition to 
that existing.  

134.286.3.14 SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS 
134.286.1.14.1 To the extent that a regulating plan designates any of 

the following special requirements, standards shall be applied 
as follows:  
a. Buildings along the B-Grid may be more readily considered 

for warrants allowing automobile-oriented standards.  
b. A mandatory or recommended retail frontage designation 

requires or advises that a building provide a shopfront at 
sidewalk level along the entire length of its private frontage.  
The shopfront may be combined with an awning, gallery, or 
arcade frontage. 

c. A mandatory or recommended gallery frontage designation 
requires or advises that a building provide a gallery frontage 
along the entire length of its private frontage. 

d. A mandatory or recommended arcade frontage designation 
requires or advises that a building provide a arcade frontage 
along the entire length of its private frontage. 

e. A mandatory or recommended porchfront designation 
requires or advises that a building provide a porch in the 
private frontage.      
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f. A build-to line requires the placement of the building facade 
along the line. Forecourts may recess a building entrance 
from the build-to line. 

g. A coordinated frontage designation requires that the private 
frontage be coordinated with the public frontage as a single, 
coherent landscape and paving design. 

h. A mandatory or recommended terminated vista designation 
requires or advises that the building be provided with 
architectural articulation of a type and character that 
responds visually to its axial location, as approved by the RC.  

i. A cross block passage designation requires that a minimum 
8-foot-wide pedestrian access be reserved between buildings. 

J. A building of value designation requires that the building or 
structure may be altered or demolished only in accordance 
with Municipal Preservation Standards and Protocols. 

134.286.3.15 BUILDING MATERIALS AND CONFIGURATION 
134.286.1.15.1 Where multiple exterior materials are used on a single 

building, they shall only be combined on each facade 
horizontally, with the heavier material below the lighter. 

134.286.1.15.2 Fences, walls, or other suitable visual screens a 
minimum of 6 feet in height shall be provided along side lot 
lines, except where both adjoining lot areas are used for 
surface parking, outdoor commercial uses or community 
gardens. Streetscreens shall be constructed of a material 
matching the adjacent building facade. 

134.286.1.15.3 Building mechanical equipment and refuse storage shall 
not be located along frontages. 

134.286.1.15.4 Clotheslines shall not be located along frontages. 
134.286.1.15.5 All openings, including porches, galleries, doors and 

windows, with the exception of shopfronts, shall be square or 
vertical in proportion. 
a. Doors and windows that operate as sliders are prohibited 

along frontages. Doors and windows that operate as sliders 
at shopfronts may be approved by warrant. 

b. Glazed openings above the first story shall not exceed 50% 
of the total building wall area, with each facade being 
calculated independently.  

c. Exterior shutters, if installed, shall be operable and sized to 
cover the entire window when closed. 
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134.286.1.15.6 Porch floors shall be of wood plank, concrete slab, or 
stone. Synthetic materials are prohibited. 

134.286.1.15.7 Galleries may be supported by wrought iron or metal 
posts. 

134.286.1.15.8 Exterior finish may be wood or cementitious clapboard 
in T4 and T3. Stucco may only be used as an accent material in 
T5 and T6. Brick may be used in all t-zones. 
a. All exposed exterior wood shall be painted.  
b. Roofs shall be symmetrically pitched with a minimum angle 6 

in 12. Low-slope (flat) roofs shall be permitted. 
c. Roofing material shall be high albedo. 
d. Rooftop equipment shall be screened in a manner consistent 

with the architectural design of the building along frontages. 
134.286.1.15.9 Photo voltaic (PV) systems along frontages shall be 

flexible panel type or building integrated photo voltaic (BIPV), 
attached directly to the roofing material, PV roofing shingles, or 
other conducting system that applies directly to roofing 
material or sheathing with less than one half inch average 
vertical dimension or integrated into building shading devices. 

134.286.3.16 SUPPLEMENTARY STANDARDS 
134.286.1.16.1 Building and site plans shall be subject to additional 

regulations as indicated in the Mableton Lifelong Communities 

Overlay. 
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134.286.4  DEFINITIONS  
This Section provides definitions for terms in this Section that are technical in 
nature or that otherwise may not reflect a common usage of the term. If a term 
is not defined in this Section, then the CRC shall determine the correct definition. 
Items in italics refer to other terms defined in this section. 

 
 A-Grid: cumulatively, those thoroughfares that by virtue of their pre-existing 

pedestrian-supportive qualities, or their future importance to pedestrian 
connectivity, are held to the highest standards prescribed by this Code. See B-
Grid. (Syn: primary grid.) 

 Accessible Pathway Network: The accessible pathway network is a 
continuous accessible path that runs throughout the entire private and 
public realm of the community unit, including both residential and 
commercial spaces. The extent and requirements of the accessible 
pathway network are determined by the use and urban context of the 
various spaces it connects.  

 Accessory Building: an outbuilding with an accessory unit.  

 Accessory Unit: an apartment not greater than 600 square feet sharing 
ownership and utility connections with a principal building; it may or may 
not be within an outbuilding. (Syn: ancillary unit) 

 Affordable Housing: dwellings consisting of rental or for-sale units that 
have a rent (including utilities) or mortgage payment typically no more 
than 30% of the income of families earning no more than 80% of median 
incomes by family size for the county. 

 Alley: a thoroughfare designated to be a secondary means of vehicular access 
to the rear or side of properties; an Alley may connect to a vehicular driveway 
located to the rear of lots providing access to outbuildings, service areas and 
parking, and containing utility easements. 

 Apartment: a residential unit sharing a building and a lot with other units 
and/or uses; may be for rent, or for sale as a condominium. (Syn: 
condominium) 

 Arcade: a private frontage principally for retail use wherein the facade is a 
colonnade supporting habitable space that overlaps the sidewalk, while the 
facade at sidewalk level remains at the frontage line. 

 Attic: the interior part of a building contained within a pitched roof 
structure. 
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  Awning: a fixed or movable shading structure, cantilevered or otherwise 
entirely supported from a building, used to protect outdoor spaces from sun, rain, 
and other natural conditions. Awnings are typically used to cover outdoor seating 
for restaurants and cafes. 

 B-Grid: cumulatively, those thoroughfares that by virtue of their use, 
location, or absence of pre-existing pedestrian-supportive qualities, may 
meet a standard lower than that of the A-Grid. See A-Grid. (Syn: 
secondary grid.) 

 BRT:  See bus rapid transit. 

 Backbuilding: a single-story structure extending to the rear of a principal 
building and often connected to an outbuilding.  

 Base Density: the number of housing units per acre of gross lot area built 
upon a single lot including adjustments for other functions. See density and 

maximum density. 

 Bed and Breakfast: an owner-occupied lodging type offering 1 to 5 

bedrooms, permitted to serve breakfast in the mornings to guests.   

 Blade Sign: a sign made from rigid material mounted perpendicular to a 
building wall with one side attached or supported by a device extending 
from a building wall. See Table 7A.  

 Block: the aggregate of private lots, civic zones, passages, rear alleys and 
rear lanes, circumscribed by thoroughfares.  

 Block Face: the aggregate of all the building facades on one side of a 
block. 

 Building Height: the vertical extent of a building measured in stories. 

 Building of Value: a building marked on a regulating plan that has certain 

additional standards associated with it, as determined by the Municipal Preservation 
Commission.  

 Build-to Line: a line established within a given lot indicating where the outer 

edge of a building must be located relative to frontages. 

 Bus Rapid Transit: a rubber tire vehicular transportation system with its own 
right-of-way or dedicated lane along its route, providing service that is 
faster than a regular bus. 

  By Right: characterizing a proposal or component of a proposal that 
complies with this Code and is permitted and processed administratively, 
without public hearing. See warrant and variance.  
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 Civic: the term defining not-for-profit organizations dedicated to arts, 
culture, education, recreation, government, municipal government, and 
transit. 

 Civic Building: a building operated by one or more civic organizations.  

 Civic Parking Reserve: a parking structure or parking lot operated by a 
civic organization.  

 Civic Space: an outdoor area permanently dedicated for public use, 
operated by a civic organization.  

 Civic Zone: a designation for sites dedicated for civic buildings and civic 
space.  

 Commercial: the term collectively defining workplace, office, retail, and 
lodging  functions. 

 Common Yard: a planted private frontage, visually continuous with 
adjacent yards, wherein the facade is set back from the frontage line.  

 Community Unit: a regulatory boundary mapped on a regulating plan. 

 Configuration: the form of a building, based on its massing, private 
frontage, and height.   

 Consolidated Review Committee (CRC): usually part of the planning 
office, a CRC is comprised of a representative from each of the various 
regulatory agencies that have jurisdiction over the permitting of a project, 
as well as a representative of the development and design center.  

 Coordinated Frontage: a coherent landscape and paving design of the public 
frontage and private frontage. 

 Corner Lot: a lot or parcel of land abutting two (2) or more thoroughfares at 

their intersection, or two (2) parts of the same thoroughfare forming an interior 
angle of less than one hundred thirty-five (135) degrees. 

 Cross-block Passage: a publicly accessible way providing access through a 
block that is restricted to pedestrian use and limited vehicular access. 

 DDC: See development and design center. 

 Density: the number of housing units within a standard measure of land 
area. 

 Development and Design Center (DDC): a component of the planning office 
assigned to advise on the use of this Code and to aid in the design of the 
communities and buildings based on it. 

 Disposition: the placement of a building on its lot.  
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 Dooryard: a private frontage type with a shallow setback and front garden 
or patio, usually with a low wall or hedge at the frontage line. (Var: 
lightwell, light court.)   

 Driveway: a vehicular lane within a lot, often leading to a garage. 

 Edgeyard: a type of disposition where a building occupies the center of its 
lot with setbacks on all sides. 

 Effective Parking: the amount of parking provided on a lot adjusted by the shared 
parking factor and parking spaces purchased or leased off-site. 

 Elevation: an exterior wall of a building not along a frontage line. See 
facade. 

 Encroach: to break the plane of a vertical or horizontal regulatory limit with 
a structural element, so that it extends into a setback, into the public 
frontage, or above a height limit. 

 Encroachment: any structural element that encroaches. 

   Enfront: to place an element along a frontage. 

 Extension Line: a line prescribed at a certain level of a building for the 
major part of the width of a facade, regulating the maximum height for an 
encroachment by an arcade frontage.    

 Facade: the exterior wall of a building that is set along a frontage line. 

 Fence: a permeable metal or wooden wall, independent of a building, 
located along a frontage line. 

 First Layer: the area of a lot comprised of the distance between the frontage 
line and the required setback including the private frontage. 

 Forecourt: a private frontage wherein a portion of the facade is close to the 
frontage line and the central portion is set back. 

 Front Setback: the distance from the frontage line to the point where a 
building may be constructed. This area must be maintained clear of 
permanent structures with the exception of encroachments. 

 Frontage: the area between a building facade and the vehicular lanes, 
inclusive of its built and planted components.  Frontage is divided into 
private frontage  and public frontage. 

 Frontage Buildout: the percentage of the lot width that is occupied by the 
building facade within the first lot layer. 

 Frontage Line: a lot line bordering a public frontage.  
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 Function: the use or uses accommodated by a building and its lot, 
categorized as Restricted, Limited, or Open, according to the intensity of 
the use.  

 Gallery: a private frontage wherein the facade is aligned close to the 
frontage line with an attached cantilevered shed or lightweight colonnade 
overlapping the sidewalk. 

 Gross Lot Area: the area of a lot including the net lot area and portions of 
street rights-of-way and other required dedications and easements up to their 
centerline. 

 Height: See building height. 

  Home Occupation: non-retail commercial enterprises permitted under the 
Restricted office category.   

 Industrial: the function associated with a business or activity involving 

manufacturing, fabrication, assembly, distribution, disposal, warehousing or bulk 
storage, trucking and equipment facilities, and other business serving primarily 
industrial needs. 

 Infill Community Unit: a regulatory boundary mapped on a regulating plan. 

 Infill Thoroughfare: A designation mapped on a regulating plan indicating the 
modification of an existing thoroughfare or the alignment and allocation of right-

of-way for a new thoroughfare. 

 Inn:  a type of lodging building function that is owner-occupied, offering 6 to 

12 bedrooms, permitted to serve breakfast in the mornings to guests.   

 Intensity: the magnitude of development permitted in the Restricted, Limited 
and Open categories of a transect zone. 

 Layer: See lot layer. 

 Lightwell:  A private frontage type that is a below-grade entrance or recess 
designed to allow light into basements.  (Syn: light court.) 

 Liner Building: a building specifically designed to mask a parking lot or a 
parking structure from a frontage.  

 Link to node ratio: is a measure of street network connectivity calculated by 
dividing the number of road segments between intersections, or links, by the 
number of intersections, or nodes. 

 Lodging: a building function available for daily and weekly renting of 
bedrooms.  
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 Lot: a parcel of land accommodating a building or buildings under single 
ownership. 

 Lot Coverage: the percentage of a lot that is covered by buildings and 
other roofed structures. 

 Lot Layer: a range of depth of a lot within which certain elements are 
permitted. 

 Lot Line: the boundary that legally and geometrically demarcates a lot. 

 Lot Occupation: category for the area of a lot that may contain buildings, 
regulated in terms of width and coverage metrics. 

 Lot Width: the length of the principal frontage line of a lot. 

 Manufacturing: premises available for the creation, assemblage and/or 
repair of artifacts, using table-mounted electrical machinery or artisanal 
equipment, and including their retail sale. 

 Maximum Density: the maximum number of housing units permitted per 
acre of gross lot area on a single lot including adjustments for other 
functions. See density and base density. 

 Mixed Use: multiple functions within the same building through 
superimposition or adjacency, or in multiple buildings by adjacency, or at a 
proximity determined by warrant. 

 Net Lot Area: the area of a lot within the frontage lines, excluding any 
portions of street rights-of-way or other required dedications. 

 Nonconformity: an existing function, structure, lot or site improvement that is in 
compliance with the zoning regulations that were applicable to it when it was 
established, and for which all required permits were issued, but which does not 
conform in whole or in part to the regulations of this Section. Such nonconformity 
is legal and may continue except as regulated by this Section.  

  Office: premises available for the transaction of general business but 
excluding retail, artisanal and manufacturing uses.   

 Outbuilding: an accessory building, usually located toward the rear of the 
same lot as a principal building, and sometimes connected to the principal 
building by a backbuilding.  

 Other Function:  any function other than residential. 

 Parking Structure: a building containing one or more stories of vehicular 
parking above or below grade. 
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 Porch: An open air room appended to a building, with floor and roof but no walls 
on the sides facing frontages. 

 Principal Building: the main building on a lot, usually located toward the 
frontage.  

 Principal Entrance: the main point of access for pedestrians into a building. 

 Principal Frontage: the private frontage designated to bear the address 
and principal entrance to the building, and the measure of minimum lot 
width. See frontage. 

 Private Frontage: the privately held layer between the frontage line and 
the principal building facade.  

 Public Frontage: the area between the curb of the vehicular lanes and the 
frontage line.  

 Rear Setback: the distance from the rear lot line to the point where a 
building may be constructed. This area must be maintained clear of 
permanent structures with the exception of encroachments. 

 Regulating Plan: a zoning map or set of maps that show the transect 
zones, civic zones, special districts, special requirements, and thoroughfare 
assignments of areas subject to, or potentially subject to, regulation by 
this Section. 

 Required Parking: the number of parking spaces needed to accommodate 
a building or buildings on a single lot according to the intensity of its 
function. 

 Residential: characterizing premises available for long-term human 
dwelling.  

 Retail: characterizing premises available for the sale of merchandise and 
food service. 

 Retail Frontage: a frontage designated on a regulating plan that requires 
or recommends the provision of a shopfront, encouraging the ground level 
to be available for retail use. See special requirements. 

 Secondary Frontage: on corner lots, the private frontage that is not the 
principal frontage. As it affects the public realm, its first layer is regulated. 

 Second Layer: that portion of the lot behind the first layer which includes 
that portion of the building which enfronts the thoroughfare.  
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 Setback: the area of a lot measured from the lot line to a building facade 
or elevation  that is maintained clear of permanent structures, with the 
exception of encroachments. (Var: build-to-line.) 

 Shared Parking Table: a table in which the peak parking requirements for 
mixed-uses are calculated at specified times of day and days of the week, 
resulting in a net lower required parking by accounting for parking space 
availability across multiple uses and access times.  

 Shared Parking Requirement: the total required parking resulting from a 
single column of the shared parking table. 

 Shopfront:  a private frontage conventional for retail use with substantial 
glazing wherein the facade is aligned close to the frontage line with the 
building entrance at sidewalk grade. 

 Sidewalk: the paved section of the public frontage dedicated exclusively to 
pedestrian activity. (Syn. walkway) 

 Sign: any identification, description, illustration, or device, illuminated or non-
illuminated, that is visible from a public right-of-way or is located on private 
property and visible to the public and which directs attention to a product, place, 
activity, person, institution, business, message or solicitation, including any 
permanently installed or situated merchandise, with the exception of window 
displays, and any letter, numeral, character, figure, emblem, painting, banner, 
pennant, placard, or temporary sign designed to advertise, identify or convey 
information.   

 Sign Band: a wall area of a non-residential building built along the entire 
width of a principal or secondary frontage allocated for the placement of a 
sign above a shopfront or at the cornice. Table 7A. 

  Specialized Building: a building that is not subject to residential, 
commercial, or lodging classification.  

 Special District (SD): an area that, by its intrinsic function, disposition, or 
configuration, cannot or should not conform to one or more of the 
normative community unit types or transect zones specified by this 
Section. 

 Special Requirements:  provisions of this Section that modify or extend 
requirements as designated on a regulating plan or other map for those 
provisions. 
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 Stoop: a private frontage wherein the facade is aligned close to the 
frontage line with the first story elevated from the sidewalk for privacy, 
with an exterior stair and landing at the entrance.  

 Story: a habitable level within a building by which height is measured, 
excluding an attic or raised basement. 

 Streetscreen:  a freestanding wall built along the frontage line, or coplanar 
with a facade. (Syn: streetwall)  

 Substantial Modification: alteration to a building that is valued at more than 
50% of the replacement cost of the entire building, if new. 

  T-zone: See transect zone. 

 Terrace: A frontage wherein the facade is set back from the frontage line 
by an elevated terrace or a sunken lightwell. This type buffers residential 
use from urban sidewalks and removes the private yard from public 
encroachment. (Syn: lighwell) 

 Terminated Vista: a location at the axial conclusion of a thoroughfare. 

 Third Layer: that portion of the lot that is not within the first and second 
layer and is least visible from the thoroughfare. 

 Thoroughfare: a way for use by vehicular and pedestrian traffic and to 
provide access to lots and open spaces, consisting of vehicular lanes and 
the public frontage.  

 TOD: See transit overlay district. 

 Transect: a cross-section of the environment showing a range of different 
habitats. The rural-urban transect of the human environment used in this 
Section is divided into six transect zones. These zones describe the 
physical form and character of a place, according to the density and 
intensity of its land use.  

 Transect Zone: One of several areas on a zoning map regulated by this 
Section. Transect zones are administratively similar to the land use zones 
in conventional codes, except that in addition to the usual building use, 
density, height, and setback requirements, other elements of the intended 
habitat are integrated, including those of the private lot and building and 
public frontage. 

 Transit Overlay District: TOD is created by an overlay on all or part of one 
or more community units, modifying regulations of this Section to support 
rail or bus rapid transit (BRT).  

  



PAGE 142 OF 149 

 Urbanism: collective term for the condition of a compact, mixed-use 
settlement, including the physical form of its development and its 
environmental, functional, economic, and sociocultural aspects. 

 Variance: a ruling that would permit a practice that is not consistent with 
either a specific provision or the Intent of this Section. 

 Warrant:  a ruling that would permit a practice that is not consistent with a 
specific provision of this Section but is justified by its Intent.  

 Window Sign: a logo inscribed on the storefront glass. See Table 7A. 

 Zoning Map:  the official map or maps that are part of the zoning 
ordinance and delineate the boundaries of individual zones and districts. 
See regulating plan.  
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134.286.5   LIFELONG COMMUNITIES 

134.286.5.1 APPLICABILITY 
134.286.1.1.1 This overlay is activated through the mapping of an overlay 

district on community units in the SmartCode for Mableton, Georgia. 
134.286.1.1.2 Italicized terms used throughout this Overlay are defined in 

Section A.6, Definitions. Section A.6 contains regulatory language that 
is integral to this Code. Italicized terms not defined in Section A.6 
shall be accorded their definition in Article 7 of the SmartCode for 
Mableton, Georgia. Those terms not defined in Section A.6 shall be 
accorded their commonly accepted meanings. In the event of conflicts 
between these definitions and those of the existing local codes, those 
of this Code shall take precedence. 

134.286.5.2 INTENT 
134.286.1.2.1 In accordance with the intent of the Mableton SmartCode, this 

Overlay further regulates development at the infill community plan 
and building and site plan scales, based on the following premises: 
a. That the older adult population is increasing and facilities should be 

provided to server their needs equally with all people in the 
community. 

b. That access to daily needs within walking distance extends the 
independence of older adults. 

c. That existing federal regulations consider the building and urban 
environment as disconnected entities and require supplementary 
regulation to ensure equal access. 

134.286.5.3 PATHWAY NETWORK 
134.286.5.3.1 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

a. An accessible and continuous pathway network shall be provided 
between and through all buildings, parking area, private frontages 
and public frontages. 

b. The pathway network should be allocated along frontages and 
provide access to all buildings. 

c. Pathway surfaces shall be smooth and clear of obstacles. 
d. Doors, gates, and other operable elements along the pathway 

network shall comply with ADA standards. 
e. Resting areas should be provided out of the circulation path when 

grade or other conditions require heightened levels of exertion and 
be clear of excess noise, odor, or splashing. 
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f. Stairs and rams shall be marked with a change in texture at the top 
and bottom. Long stairways shall incorporate resting areas on 
intermediate landings out of the walking path. 

g. Ramps should run in the direction of travel. 
h. Railing should be mounted on non-abrasive wall surfaces. 
i. Drainage at pedestrian crossings of thoroughfares shall eliminate 

water and ice from collecting at the base of curb ramps. 
134.286.5.3.2 SPECIFIC TO T1 

a. T1 zones shall be exempt from pathway network requirements. 
134.286.5.3.3 SPECIFIC TO T2 

a. Pathway networks may rely on vehicular connections where 
pedestrian connections are not feasible. 

134.286.5.3.4 SPECIFIC TO T4, T5, T6 
a. Pathway networks shall directly connect indoor and outdoor 

spaces. 
b. Stairs and ramps should be eliminated along the pathway network. 
c. A minimum 5 foot wide clear walkway shall be maintained. 
d. Illumination of the pathway network should increase at 

intersections. 
e. Entrances to ground floor retail, office and lodging uses shall be 

illuminated. 
f. Signage for public information, retail, office and lodging uses shall: 

i. be installed on glare-free surfaces, 
ii. provide alternatives to text, 
iii. use a legible font and lettering sized for view from the pathway network. 

134.286.5.3.5 SPECIFIC TO T5 AND T6 
a. Signalized intersections shall be outfitted with countdown displays 

for walk/don't walk signs. 
b. Signal timing should be calculated by a movement rate of a typical 

slow moving pedestrian, 3.5 feet per second. 
c. Boundaries of safe crossing zones shall have color and tactile 

marking detectable by white cane users. 
d. Sensory cues shall be utilized to create detectable edges where 

pedestrian zones abut vehicular zones. 
134.286.5.3.6 SPECIFIC TO T6 

a. All floors of residential buildings shall be accessible or be designed 
for accessibility retrofit. 

134.286.5.4 VISITABILITY 
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134.286.1.4.1 Residential buildings shall incorporate one no-step entrance 
accessing the main floor. Doors and hallways on the main floor shall 
maintain a minimum clearance of 32 inches. 

134.286.1.4.2 Residential buildings shall provide a minimum of one sleeping 
area on the main floor. Sleeping areas may be provided in rooms not 
permanently configured as bedrooms. 

134.286.1.4.3 Residential buildings shall provide one wheelchair accessible 
bathroom on the main floor providing wheeled mobility maneuvering 
room and sub-wall anchoring for grab bars. 

134.286.5.5 DAILY NEEDS 
134.286.1.5.1 Access to daily needs should be provided in proximity to 

residential uses within 0.10 miles in T6, 0.25 miles in T5 and T4, and 
0.50 miles in T3. 

134.286.1.5.2 Occupation of retail spaces should be prioritized within the 
pedestrian shed for the following types of retail: 
a. grocery 
b. dry cleaner 
c. bank 
d. drugstore 
e. salon / barber shop 
f. post office 
g. food service 
h. hardware sales 
i. health services 
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Sec. 134-318.1.  Reduction in number of off-premises outdoor advertising signs 
(a) Purpose: The board of commissioners finds that all off-premises outdoor 
advertising signs in unincorporated Cobb County are legal nonconforming uses, 
and consistent with the provisions of section 134-346, nonconforming signs, it is 
the desire of Cobb County that such nonconforming uses be permitted to 
continue, but that they be reduced over time. Despite this intent, the number of 
legal nonconforming off-premises outdoor advertising signs has not been 
materially reduced in a significant fashion. The board of commissioners further 
finds that the development of electronic signs provides a valuable opportunity to 
enhance the utilization of existing signage within Cobb County, although such 
electronic signs must be properly regulated to insure they do not constitute a 
traffic hazard or otherwise negatively impact the aesthetics of Cobb County. As 
such, the board of commissioners finds that the modification of a limited number 
of existing legal nonconforming static signs to electronic signs, in exchange for a 
reduction in the overall number of nonconforming off-premises outdoor 
advertising signs constitutes a benefit to Cobb County in regard to traffic safety 
and aesthetics. 
(b) Exchange ratio and permitting: Notwithstanding any other provision of this 
ordinance, any existing legal nonconforming off-premises outdoor advertising 
sign face(s) or panel(s) existing on the date of adoption of this ordinance 
amendment and not located within 500 feet of a residence may be modified to 
an electronic sign face(s) or panel(s), provided that the applicant remove from 
within Cobb County (including both incorporated and unincorporated areas) not 
less than three legal nonconforming off-premises outdoor advertising sign face(s) 
or panel(s) of equal or greater square footage to that sign being converted to an 
electronic sign. 
(c) Determination criteria.............................. 
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Sec. 134-373.  Application; issuance or denial. 
(a) Who may apply. Permits shall be issued only to:……….. 
 
(d) Processing of application. Upon receipt of a properly completed application 
for a sign as permitted under the provisions of this article, the county, through 
its enforcement personnel, shall examine and process the application., and either 
grant or deny the application within five business days or else the application 
shall be deemed granted on the sixth business day. An action by the county to 
approve or deny a sign permit shall be taken within 30 days of receipt of a 
complete sign permit application. Any sign permit application for which no action 
has been taken after 30 days or more shall be deemed to be approved. A permit 
may be denied if the applicant landowner or lessee is presently maintaining any 
sign in violation of this article. 
(e) Procedure upon denial. Upon denial of the application of a permit, the 
applicant shall be given written notice stating the reason for the denial within 15 
30 days of the decision to deny the permit. Upon denial of the application for a 
permit, the applicant may appeal to the board of zoning appeals as provided by 
section 134-95 within 30 days of the receipt of notice of the final decision of the 
administrative officer. The hearing before the board of zoning appeals shall take 
place within 45 days of the filing of the appeal with the clerk of the BZA. The 
BZA shall render a decision on the appeal no longer than ten days after the 
hearing date. Except for the time limits for an appeal and decision on appeal as 
prescribed in this subsection, all appeals to the BZA shall be governed by the 
board of zoning appeals hearing procedures. 
(f) Expiration. Any permit which is required to be renewed or transferred and 
is not renewed or transferred within 12 months will be deemed expired and 
cannot be renewed or reinstated. If the permit expires the sign may be removed 
as specified under subsection 134-132(c). 
(Ord. of 1-9-90, § 8; Ord. of 2-25-92, § 8(E); Ord. of 2-14-95, § 11.A--E, G; Ord. 
of 6-24-97 (eff. 7-1-97); Ord. of 4-25-02; Ord. of 9-10-02) 
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